We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, shame about the noise inside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baby Lemonade Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Tampere, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great location, shame about the noise inside”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at the White Room for 10 nights in July 2013. The hostel is located close to lots of attractions and restaurants, one of which is next door (Jack & Chan, very original cross kitchen Berlin style). The facilities are clean and airy with high ceilings and large windows. The only problem we had was that the White Room was separated from the kitchen and lounge by a zero sound proof wall and door and obviously people had loud discussions, good laughs, fun & games until 2 am in the area, which sounded like they were in the same room - it was impossible to get any sleep before they retired to bed in the wee hours. We tried asking people be considerate but it often didn't help as a new party posse would arrive from the bars. In the summer St. Petersburg can get quite hot so you'll need to keep the window open and this means mosquitoes, so be sure to bring repellent and/or mosquito itch relief (available from pharmacists, we use a brand called Etono).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lepekomu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadya__Zhogina, Guest Relations Manager at Baby Lemonade Hostel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for all the remarks. Sorry for the trouble with the noise from the kitchen. We are going to make the walls soundproof as quickly as possible. As for the mosquitoes we are always ready to provide you with a container of the repellent liquid to put into the socket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    35
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
61
84
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The place is really nice. We really had a great time there and we also found nice people there, not only the workers but the other people sleeping. Just take into account that is a hostel and you will sleep in a room with more people but had no problems with that even one night we had to stay in the 10-beds room. It´s a great place if you want to be social with other guest.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tere_woo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadya__Zhogina, Guest Relations Manager at Baby Lemonade Hostel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you very much for the review! We are trying to keep this amiable atmosphere in our hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The best place where I've been ever! it has very good location. Museums, bars, shops are close to this hostel. You can just walk for few minutes to find something interesting. And thanks a lot to their friendly and gentle stuff who are always ready to help! For all my trips to St Petersburg I will be choose just Baby Lemonade!

P.S. if you like night life and crazy places you are obviously must stay here cause it's just in 5 minutes to the most famous bars in St Petersburg.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MiaLee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadya__Zhogina, Guest Relations Manager at Baby Lemonade Hostel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you very much for review about our hostel. We hope you will be able to come again to see and experience even more of the cultural (and night) city life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The staff at Baby Lemonade Hostel were friendly and welcoming, and the hostel itself was more like staying in a big apartment than a hostel. Free fast WiFi, making borsch with everyone, good breakfasts and easy access to a big kitchen. Definitely the hostel to stay in. Also, they had just replaced the matresses in all the beds the day we left. Mega comfort!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hyperspacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadya__Zhogina, Guest Relations Manager at Baby Lemonade Hostel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you very much! We really appreciate your opinion about our hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hostel is one of the best I have stay in. Very clean and the staff are very helpful and very friendly. The free breakfast is great.....what do you want? They have just replace the mattress so it's a comfortable sleep. This is a first class hostel at a good rate and close to all attractions. Thank you Girls for making our trip to St Petersburg a very memorable one. Keep smiling!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barrie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadya__Zhogina, Guest Relations Manager at Baby Lemonade Hostel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks a lot for your review of Baby Lemonade (and for interesting conversations as well). We hope to see you once more again. Still smiling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

As hostels go this one appears to be the best one yet I have stayed in. When we arrived which was very early in the am the staff welcomed us and allowed us to leave our bags in the hostel whilst we went to hunbt for food (jokes).

The premises are very clean and well kept including the toilets and bathing areas. The rooms are big, clean and presentable but hot due to the lack of air con with very hard beds. Breakfast is served from 8am - 11am consisting of cereal, toast, tea or coffee; the milk is discusting so buy your own. Tea and kitchen facilities are available all day with tea and coffee being free. Also the washing machine and detergent is free.

NB

The hostel is small and poorly sign posted, we passed it 3 times before we found it so be advised.

Room Tip: There is a single room with a double bed for couples so you may want to enquire. Buy your own milk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadya__Zhogina, Guest Relations Manager at Baby Lemonade Hostel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you very much for providing the review about us which is quite detailed. Concerning the drawbacks you've mentioned we should say that we are really sorry for the inconvenience of yours connected with the high temperature in the room, poorly signed way to the hostel and unappetizing milk for the breakfast.

Since there's no air conditioning in the hostel we've got fans in every room to reduce the heat. We also have a sign of the hostel on the door outside, probably it's not so distinctive among the rest of them on the door as it should be, but we will try to solve this problem by adding some stencils on the pavement near the hostel. What's for the milk, we already think about changing the supplying company. We hope next time you will visit us our breakfast will be up to your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Good location, easy to find. This friendly hostel has all the amenities you would expect plus amazing service. The 2 receptionist Anna and Katya went an extra mile helping us sorting out train tickets. Yep, I don't speak any Russian and also suggested an awesome tour on the roofs. the hostel in general was very pleasant, clean and had this great atmosphere. If you're looking for a hostel in St Petersburg this is a great choice!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadya__Zhogina, Guest Relations Manager at Baby Lemonade Hostel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you very much for the review you have left. We always try to help our guests especially concerning the places where people don't speak English. We hope when you will havea possibility to come back to Saint Petersburg we'll see you at Baby Lemonade!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Galakt Hotel
#155 of 355 in St. Petersburg
81 reviews
Austrian Yard -Hotel
#163 of 355 in St. Petersburg
98 reviews
Nevskiy
Graffiti L Hostel
Graffiti L Hostel
#28 of 1,669 in St. Petersburg
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soul Kitchen Junior Hostel
#1 of 1,669 in St. Petersburg
374 reviews
Nevskiy
Cuba Hostel
Cuba Hostel
#5 of 1,669 in St. Petersburg
145 reviews
Nevskiy
Hostel Life
Hostel Life
#184 of 1,669 in St. Petersburg
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baby Lemonade Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baby Lemonade Hostel

Property: Baby Lemonade Hostel
Address: Inzhenernaya St., 7, St. Petersburg 191011, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,669 Specialty Lodging in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baby Lemonade Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baby Lemonade Hostel - light designer space in the style of the 1960-s located in the very heart of St. Petersburg! Our place is very cozy, warm and homely. Our hostel was inspired by the 60's as it was the time of freedom breaking trough young minds. Time of swing, flower-power generation, revolutions in music, design, art and most important in mentality. We have created in our hostel a similar friendly, inspiring and, free atmosphere. You can feel it in our shared and private rooms and while relaxing or chatting with other guests in common space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Baby Lemonade Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing