We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming old style restaurant”
Review of Gogol

Gogol
Reserve a table
OR
Reserve a table
LeClick
Ranked #61 of 11,243 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Admiralteisky
Description: Homely Russian meals. The historic house with several dining rooms to choose from. Attentive English-speaking staff. Live piano music.
Reviewed July 12, 2016

We didn't book but they managed to find us a table, and it was the best meal we had in St P. The service was very warm, and the food was amazing, elegantly presented, beautifully combined and prepared. They serve some unusual vodkas, including horseradish vodka which the waitress was a little cautious about recommending, but which was delicious. We tried to return on our last night, but sadly they were full.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LLSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 304 of 1,635 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

We came back again and again. Superb dishes finely presented. Lovely service. Great wine and spirits and a genial atmosphere

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Wander291138
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2016

Great venue, good atmosphere, friendly staff and good food. Couldn't be better. Would recommend? Need to book as very popular.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jpsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2016

We got the last table which we were told was by the kitchen entrance so giving us the option of perhaps being disappointed. It wasn't really an issue for us except the waitress was worried someone might knock over our wine cooler. Staff were very friendly, didn't rush us through. Young woman played a variety of easy listening music on piano. Lovely food nicely presented

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank World15trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

First of all: reserve or you won't be able to find a table! You know why? Because Gogol is a really good restaurant that serves local food, the stuff is so gentle and kind, the place is nice and there is a piano played live! What else? The prices are good, the vodka are great and you can ring a bell whenever you want to call the waiter!
We simply loved this place!

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank FrankE1675
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gogol also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Gogol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.