We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Russian cuisine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gogol

Gogol
Ranked #33 of 10,192 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $33
Cuisines: European, Russian, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Admiralteisky
Description: Homely Russian meals. The historic house with several dining rooms to choose from. Attentive English-speaking staff. Live piano music.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Russian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Wonderful attentive service and delicious food! There were some excellent options and live music too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jensutton611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    309
    61
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
251 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Short walk from St Isaacs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Charming restaurant, good food items and delicious vodkas to try. Small rooms intimate, typical of what we saw as Russian dining. The local crushed red berry drink served here, as is rabbit and tongue and a few Russian salads and other typical items. Not expensive & very friendly speaking English. Might be very busy depending on timing. Would go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CS1Portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
349 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Seemed like good traditional Russian food to us, in a lovely warm atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a "traditional Russian food" restaurant as part of our third and final night in the beautiful, but very icy, St Petersburg.
Gogol looked the part on Trip Advisor, and it delivered, big time.
Although we planned three courses, after ordering four starters, we were replete, happy, sated. The "lard in three different ways" sounded a bit bland, but was superb; the platter of three different cold meats, including calf tongue, was equally good, the horseradish a perfect foil; the "Aspic laboriously made of pig knuckles with veal and poultry" improved as it reached room temperature and was a real find; but the Russian version of dim sun - pelmeni - was a bit bland. Bread accompanying all this was great. Wines are very expensive so we stuck with beer.
The waitress was beautiful, efficient, and spoke enough English to help us avoid complete overload of cholesterol .
We loved our little bell to call for service, the dining room that felt like someone's front parlour, and the value and quality.
Superb - if we ever go again to St Pete, we will try a main course there.....

Helpful?
Thank AndyLFC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
196 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Fine dining without the high price tag”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Red and good wallpaper lined the room we were sat in, with velvet drapes, and a sofa in one corner. The overall feeling is of cosy luxury. I had borsch while my boyfriend had the fillet steak. We also shared dumplings to start. With drinks, our bill came to around £40, which felt like good value for money for the food and environment. We were the only non-Russians in there, which added to the authentic feeling of not being in a tourist spot. The staff understood and spoke enough English.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank snowybennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional Russian Food with Pre Communist Ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This cozy little traditional Russian restaurant located on a sidestreet near Saint Isaac's Cathedral is a perfect choice for a January Dinner. The three small rooms are decorated like an Inn from Tsarist days: Red curtains, book shelves, chandeliers, leather seats, etc. Windows near tables look out upon snow covered streets. The music is performed live by an excellent pianist whose repetoire includes America's standards from stage and screen.

The following are highlights of my three meals: For cold appetizers, herring with potato and onions as wellas marinated raw white fish are excellent. For main entrees, the carp is an unusual treat evn for fish haters, the pork loin wrapped in bacon was tender and juicy, and to my suprise the filet minion was on par with NYC's best. I also highly recommend the home made horseradish flavored vodka.

My only complaint was that the waiter appeared inexperienced. He forgot to give us silverware, left dirty dishes on the table etc. However, despite his efforts , he could not ruin the experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gogol also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Gogol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing