We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel, central but quiet location”
Review of Grand Mark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Mark Hotel
Ranked #94 of 344 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Budget hotel, central but quiet location”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Grand Mark is an 11 room, not easy to find, compact hotel, with no facilities other than the room, and two tables in reception where breakfast can be served (your room is the other).
Conversely, the room was clean, the shower superb, and you are close to all main historical sites, the river, and the new Admiralteiskaya Metro station.
We paid £61 per night here, in this expensive city, we thought it was great value for our needs. Enough restaurants, cares and bars within 5 minutes walk, but in a quiet street with no noise at all.
Just double check the hotel name and address - this was the one on Galernaya st. 12 , very near to St Isaacs Cathedral and the Peter the Great statue in Novemberist Square .... As we both thought we had read details of a larger hotel with very similar name elsewhere in St Pete.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AndyLFC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    71
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
89
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Pros: nice and clean hotel, close to the Neva river, the Hermitage and to a bus stop. Helpful staff. You can choose what do you want for breakfast and have it in your room. They offer free wifi connection. Cons: There's no metro station nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kleiton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

On a positive note this hotel was always very welcoming, friendly and willing to help plan and sort out my time in St Petersburg (without their assistance, I never would have found the public bus to Catherine Palace). A big plus is that they even did my washing for free! For this I can't thank them enough, as this sort of thing can be very costly in Europe. The hotel was also very well priced, I really didn't pay a lot of money to stay here, so it's a good option if you're on a budget. The location is also very good, whilst it's off the main street, St Isaac's Cathedral is literally at your front door. There are two things I guess I probably didn't like, but it's really my own fault for not doing my homework. Firstly, this is a mini-hotel (a collection of old apartments turned into a hotel) so you do not have all the facilities of a normal hotel and no common areas to sit down in etc. Secondly, whilst the tariff was very fair I felt the rooms could be spruced up a little, the double bed was basically two single beds pushed together and the bed spreads had clearly seen better days (old and a little worn). Overall I think this is a good choice if you're on a budget or are planning a short stay of just a few days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllanCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Spacious, clean, comfortable. Polite staff. Situated almost in the city centre - walking distance from major sights. Breakfast could serve a bit more food, but you can get in your room! Nice! Good value for money!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Branka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just spend four nights here, brilliant location, quiet street and very walkable to many of the sights. Room was clean and comfortable, staff could not have been more helpful and superb English. They were really helpful with providing the paperwork pre-travel to enable us to get our visas and they also arranged an airport transfer to the hotel on the evening we arrived. Only has 11 rooms and our twin room was good size, with a shower room and sitting area. Highly recommended and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaview33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The staff from the Grand mark were a great help organizing and during my trip to Russia.
As i took care of the Visa myself, they kindly provided me all the documents i needed, not just once, but three times (when i had to change my traveling dates, and when i had a issue with my visa request), and all the times they did it free of charge.
They also bought for me the train ticket to Moscow, as i couldn't pay for it with my credit card.
They were always very quick trying to help.
For the hotel itself, it's also very nice.
The location is great! Walking distance to some Top spots in St. Petersburg (like the Hermitage).
I had a Junior Suite, and the bedroom was great. Very spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carla m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The location of the hotel is ideal for seeing the city and its attractions by foot. Hotel staff is extremely polite and helpful. Rooms are generally clean and ok for two persons. Furniture (e.g. couch) are in need cleaning and/or replacement. We had booked a triple room which was supposed to be a junior suite. Barely large enough for three people and in our opinion sub-standard for a junior suite - even for a three star hotel. Major drawback the fact that there is practically no breakfast area. Breakfast is basic, served in the room which in our case would be ok if we were only two people. We stayed in two different rooms -- as we left St. Petersburg and came back -- and the above comments are valid for both stays/rooms; although the second room was slightly larger than the first one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NkLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Nevsky Breeze Hotel
Nevsky Breeze Hotel
#116 of 344 in St. Petersburg
195 reviews
Admiralteisky
Deluxe Hotel
Deluxe Hotel
#126 of 344 in St. Petersburg
118 reviews
Admiralteisky
Happy Pushkin Boutique Hotel
Happy Pushkin Boutique Hotel
#109 of 344 in St. Petersburg
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#12 of 344 in St. Petersburg
526 reviews
Admiralteisky
Station Hotel A1
Station Hotel A1
#66 of 344 in St. Petersburg
87 reviews
Nevskiy
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
#79 of 344 in St. Petersburg
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mark Hotel

Property: Grand Mark Hotel
Address: Galernaya St., 12, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 344 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Mark Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Grand Mark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing