We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“discusting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Allegro Hotel On Moskovskiy Ave
Ranked #87 of 333 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“discusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

we are a 6 membered familly, went for vacation to ruusia, we booked at allegro moskovisky hotel for 6 days but when we saw the hotel we selpt only one night, cancelled the booking and searched for another hotel to continew our vacation in.
1. first of all the entrance is terrible with a locked door that you have to ring the bell and wait the reception to open to you so you can go in.
3. no elivator, you have to carry your lugage 3 floors by stares until you arrive to the hotel.
2. only one girl at the hotel doing all the serving (room service, cleaning, serving breakfast, replying at the phone on the reception) that was weird.
3. breakfast was discusting with bad smell and dirty plates.
the onlly advantage is the location near the metro.
I DO NOT RECCOMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ph-Dima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margarita_Bratova, General Manager at Allegro Hotel On Moskovskiy Ave, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review.
We highly appreciate that you take the time to leave a feed-back about our hotel on TripAdvisor. Let me sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay. Due to the old building, our hotel doesn`t have a modern lift. It only suitable for 2 persons.
We installed the lock on the door only with the view of security of our guests. We are sorry if this caused inconvenience to you. Allegro hotel is a mini-hotel that is why our staff team is small. Each member of our hotel can execute different functions. But most of our hotel team is hidden from the view of our guests. That is why it could give you the impression that one girl doing all the work in the serving. The misunderstanding with the dirty plates is rather exception because we always try to keep a good look-out for cleaning the dishes. We will do our best to improve our service in each and every detail.
We are looking forward to welcoming you some day back to the hotel once giving us an opportunity to change your opinion and re-estimate our services.
With kind regards,
Margarita Bratova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    50
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
27
39
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
391 reviews
275 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We choose Allegro mainly for its location with a shuttle bus across the street directly to Pulkovo-2 and a metro sattion is at its doorstep. With 35 rubles the busride was for Saint Petersburg unbeleavably cheap.

The Allegro hotel appeared a pleasant surprise. Located in a large, decrepit old building with a hard to find entrance just off very busy Moskovskaya street. Behind the steel entrance door there is in the stairwell the usual Russian neglect and being in disrepair. The elevator is a true Soviet relict.

Once you enter into the hotel area, you step back into the 21st century. Rooms are spacious, clean and relatively modern. Free Wi-Fi internet and complimentory tea & coffee all day. Furniture and decor are is of a nondescript standard type. We had a room facing the tranquil inner courtyard and not the noisy Moskovskaya. Windows can be opened and the windowsill is surprisingly large. The beds were comfortable and althought walls are relatively thin and floors shook as people walked by, we slept well. The buffet style breakfast is standard and OK.

Surprisingly the emergency door at our floor was locked plus blocked by drying laundry. In case of fire and without a rope we would have been trapped 10 meters above the pavement of the inner courtyard.

With a rate of € 127 a night including breakfast, the hotel was overpriced to European standards yet price worthy for a neo-socialist dollar economy. All in all you get a nice room in a good location for a relatively decent price.

Room Tip: Ask for a guestroom facing the ugly inner courtyard: far more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margarita_Bratova, General Manager at Allegro Hotel On Moskovskiy Ave, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for choosing Allegro hotel and for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor.

We value comments of our guests as it helps us to improve our service. We took into the consideration your remark about emergency doors and we have made alterations in the hotel according to the international standards.

Thank you for your kind words about our rooms and services such as free high speed Wi-Fi, good quality of beds, spacious and clean rooms. Our team very thankful for your comments we are glad that you were enjoyed your staying in our hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in Allegro hotel!

With kind regards,
Margarita Bratova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Normally, before choosing a hotel in a new city, I spend a few hours exploring options, prices, locations, etc. I did not for this hotel and was pleasantly surprised. We selected it mainly on the fact it was a decent location and was affordable for Saint Petersburg (or so I was told - again I didn't do any hotel research on the city).

As I said in the title, the hotel is strange. It is in a large, somewhat decrepit old building on a very busy street (a few blocks off the main thoroughfare (I can't remember the name) and across from a HUGE mall) with a rather lackluster entrance. In the stairwell there is rolled up carpet, peeling paint, and a general sense of either being in-construction or being in disrepair. Furthermore, the elevator is a disaster. We tried to ride it once and ended up getting stuck between floors and then ending up right back where we started. Laughable, but annoying when you are staying on the 6th floor. So, as others have said - be prepared to carry your luggage up many flights of stairs and be prepared to hike every time you leave or return to your room (of course depending on what floor you are on).

However... that being said, once you enter into the hotel areas (each floor has a private entrance - either to the hotel or to private residences), they are clean and relatively modern (and the WIFI worked even on the 6th floor). The rooms are HUGE and the bathroom is as well and seemed fully-equipped (e.g., there was a dryer :)). The decor is bland/nondescript, but one side of the windows open wide and the rooms get a lot of light and air. We looked out onto the back courtyard which proved to be a fairly tranquil setting with a pleasant view. The beds were comfortable and we slept well, although in the morning the rooms were not terribly sound-proofed and the floors shook a little as people walked by. We never made it to the breakfast. Don't bother getting an upgrade as it seems the only thing the upgrade does is gives you a sofa in the room (which otherwise just has a bed, 2 night stands, and a small desk). However, it may also be that the upgrades are on the lower floors so it is not as much of a hike. Oh, also, not a lot of English was spoken by the individuals at the front desk.

All told, it's not really a 'boutique hotel' experience - but you get a nice room in a good location for a relatively decent price (or so I was told :)).

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ln2inSegovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margarita_Bratova, General Manager at Allegro Hotel On Moskovskiy Ave, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your review.

Our team greatly appreciate your comments about your stay in our hotel. While we are disappointed by your experience the feedback you have provided will help us in our constant efforts to improve.

In the Allegro Hotel Moskovsky Prospect there are only 4 floors. But in the Allegro Hotel Ligovsky prospect there are 7 floors. May be you stayed there.

Thank you for your king words about our rooms. We improved the interior of our Superior rooms and the Suites. Besides the sofa there are bathrobes and slippers in every Superior room and Suites. So there are more differences between categories.

Thank you again for choosing Allegro hotel. We glad to invite you in our hotel during your next trip. We hope you will be pleasantly surprised at the changes we have done in Allegro hotels.

With kind regards,
Margarita Bratova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

We were booked to stay in Allegro next to train station, but due to power cut we were offered to stay on Moskovskiy Prospect. They matched the price and even included a complimentary airport transfer for us! Located in the very heart of the city with a little market and lots of places to eat around.
Friendly and welcoming staff, exceptional cleanliness, large and bright rooms, great price. We'll definatelly stay there again:)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxa-oops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margarita_Bratova, General Manager at Allegro Hotel On Moskovskiy Ave, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your positive review.
We would like to thank you for taking time to share the experience of your stay at Allegro hotel. It is a pleasure to know that you have remained satisfied with service of our hotel and your stay with us was pleasant and comfortable. We are glad you also enjoyed the location of the Allegro hotel on Moskovsky Prospect. Thank you very much for positive feedback of our rooms and staff. We are glad to inform you that we made some renovation in the hotel, improve the breakfast and we will be glad to invite you to visit us again!
We are looking forward to welcome you back to Allegro hotel during your next trip to the city of St. Petersburg.
With kind regards,
Margarita Bratova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

The hotel is on the third floor of a very old building. The entrance is hard to find and the stairs are smelly and dark. Hotel guests need to carry the luggages up to the third floor on their own. Water in the bathroom smells bad and there is no hair dryer. The poorest breakfast I have ever seen.We have just skipped it. We have travelled around Europe for months and lived in more than ten three star hotel and this is absolutely the worst one. I regret for my choice very much.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyFamily813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margarita_Bratova, General Manager at Allegro Hotel On Moskovskiy Ave, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
We apologize that you had difficulties with finding the entrance to our hotel and with carrying the luggage. We will think about this remark and will try to solve this problem. From the recently the hotel changed the Management company and we trying to solve all complaints of our guests. We have now hair dryer in each room. The bad smell of the water is a problem of the urban sewage, and we are trying to do all our best to solve this problem. We do not have a lot of complains related to quality of water. But thank you for information. From the recently we improved the quality of breakfast. We are glad to invite you to our hotel during your next visit and we hope to change your opinion about our hotel.
Once again, thank you for your time and we hope to see you again in Allegro hotel to the city of St. Petersburg.
With kind regards,
Margarita Bratova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

It was a decent boutique hotel in the center, the staff was friendly.
Rooms were very clean & everything in the room was new.
We liked the breakfast as well. We got a last minute deal for half of the regular price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gezigizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margarita_Bratova, General Manager at Allegro Hotel On Moskovskiy Ave, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your feedback!

We glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and rooms.
We will be glad to welcome you again in our hotel during your next trip to Saint-Petersburg!

With kind regards,
Margarita Bratova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

Pros:decent rooms, internet pictures are compatible, wireless internet
Cons: dangerous and unsafe neighbourhood for tourists(we even witnessed shotguns outside our window), hotel does not have a typical entrance with reception but it is located in a very old block of flats, risky elevator, lousy room service as the rooms were never cleaned before 17.00 and we had to insist on asking it, bad value for money

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgiaGreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margarita_Bratova, General Manager at Allegro Hotel On Moskovskiy Ave, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your review.

We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced, according to your review. The hotel is situated in the historical and business center of the Saint-Petersburg. We are always advice to our guests to be careful on the streets at any time of the day and at any part of the city, even in the center.
The housekeeping department works until 6 p.m. Our guests always have an opportunity to ask for a particular time of the room cleaning.

Thank you for choosing Allegro Hotel. In any case we hope you have pleasant memories about our city!

With kind regards,
Margarita Bratova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vladimir
Allegro Hotel On Ligovskiy Ave
Allegro Hotel On Ligovskiy Ave
#37 of 333 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Gogol Hotel
#67 of 333 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Nevskiy
Hotel Grifon
Hotel Grifon
#80 of 333 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Asteria Hotel
#102 of 333 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
ReMarka Hotel on Stolyarny
#117 of 333 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Vladimir
Pyaty Ugol
Pyaty Ugol
#55 of 333 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Hotel On Moskovskiy Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Hotel On Moskovskiy Ave

Property: Allegro Hotel On Moskovskiy Ave
Address: Moskovskiy Ave., 4, St. Petersburg 190031, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 333 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Allegro Hotel On Moskovskiy Ave 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allegro Hotel has spacious rooms with large windows and a private balcony overlooking Moskovsky Prospekt. It provides an airport shuttle service. Sadovaya Metro Station is 150 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allegro Hotel On Moskovskiy Ave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing