We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but pricey buffet breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Ranked #13 of 362 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here for just overnight. Room is ok except for the shower cover covers only about a half of its side so water was on the bathroom floor everytime after shower and the water smells rusty. Free wi fi is only on the first and second floor. Their 990 rubles per person buffet breakfast is quite pricey considering its very limited choices of food and also food quality. But the hotel location is great, right across a mall with a supermarket inside the mall.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyrone64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Tyrone64,

Thank you for taking time to write your feedback. I am pleased you found the the location of our hotel commendable. Please accept my sincerest apology if the breakfast served during your travel was not at par with your expectations.

While we understand your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again should your travels bring you back to Russia.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 937 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

At first glance, the hotel looks just like a hole-in-the-wall in a busy street. When you enter, the lobby is smallish, with the bar, reception, and 2 elevators all crammed in. Never mind. The rooms are great, cozy interiors, fashionable lazy chair, comfortable bed, excellent bath, nice wardrobe. They even provide a sleep aid kit for your convenience. Also, complimentary bottles of water (still and sparkling), unheard of in European hotels. The best thing is the location. Across the street is the Galeria mall. The metro is just one block away and perpendicular to the hotel is the busy Nevsky Prospect shopping street. Within a half kilometer radius are at least 10 coffee shops, 3 fastfood restaurants and several 24-hour convenience stores. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drjohnled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

-Nice location, right next to the big mall 'Galeria'
-Cozy rooms - had an adjoining with my parents
-Small lobby area, right next to the bar.
-I could smell the smoke from the bar whenever I was using the wi-fi at the lobby
-Great breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms and it was a great room. The bathroom was huge and luxurious. The room was very large. It was quiet as we asked for quiet room. I would give this place 5/5 if it weren't for the one issue being heating. We were shown to our room and told how to use the wall heater as heater on central controls was only for air con. The heater however did not work, when we called to ask for help we were told to wait longer and we wouldn't feel it. It still did not work, we then went to ask for someone to come fix it, we waited half an hour and nobody came, we then went and asked again, they said someone had been to our room, I said they had not as we were waiting there. Someone came and asked what we wanted we showed the heater did not work she ensured the air con was off and said it was fixed, we said we wanted the heater on, she made a call, then told us not working. We then went to reception again and they sent someone else up who said it doesn't get turned on when a certain temperature outside, they said they will bring external heater to room but they never brought one, but the time we got home that evening the heater was on. However this only lasted for 2 out of 6 nights, there was no heating the other nights. Normally I wouldn't find this to be such a big issue but the issue is that it appears management made a decision to not have heating as an option during certain times of the year, which is not good when it is cold at night and when paying this much for a room. Additionally there is no point in showing how to use the heater if there is no option to turn it on. Aside from this the room and bathroom is excellent. No breakfast is included. The only other recommendation would be to include wifi - there is wifi in the lobby but not in the room, which is standard in many other hotels and should be included considering the price. The location is excellent and there are numerous buses and trams that go to the hotel which is often more convenient than the metro. The concierge was very helpful in organising taxis etc. The place is also opposite a number of malls which all have good restaurant / dining options. The hotel is also across the road from the train station with trains that go to Moscow which is handy as well as Veliky Novrogod where we went, which was handy. The hotel was quite expensive for a deluxe room, relative to some other hotels, but well worthwhile.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifeisbeaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one week for business and found it very nice. The room was well appointed with much attention paid to design, comfort (read:sleep) and cleanliness. The bed, pillows and linens were all comfortable; the aromatherapy kit a nice touch; and the blackout shades a must. The room was also amazingly quiet for a hotel located right in front of a very busy shopping mall. Furthermore, the staff were friendly and helpful - when my bag was lost en route to Saint Petersburg, they helped me follow up with the claims department at the airport each day until my bag arrived, and then they brought the bag up to my room. The location is central, with multiple metro stops and a very nice shopping mall within a short walk (literally across the street). There are also quite a few restaurants within the few blocks around the hotel. The only knock I can give them is the high price of internet service, but charging for internet is unfortunately becoming the norm around the world so I can't knock them too much. Overall I was very pleased with my stay and will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Spb.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treasuringlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Entering this hotel on a cold, gray and rainy November day makes you immediately feel comfortable. Just as all the interior. It is a modern luxury hotel that offers all you can think of. It is located right next to the train station making it a good place to stay if you intend to take the high speed train to or from Moscow.
But In my opinion the staff made the difference. They really gave the impression of being passionate to work here and to make you feel well.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the upper floors with view over the roofs of St. Petersburg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tobias R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here as part of a tour group for 4 days and had a splendid experience. The hotel is of a high quality with staff dedicated to making your stay memorable. The room was of a reasonable size with a good recently refurbished bathroom. The cleaning staff were faultless and the complimentary breakfasts, although unchanging were of sufficient variety to cater for most needs. The hotel itself is located opposite a huge shopping centre the also had many good quality restaurants. Nevsky Prospect, the main street of st. P is only about 100 meters away and it will lead you to most of the tourist sites. The city is Remarkably safe and the people I found generally OK with most speaking English to some degree. The city although constantly cleaned has a dusty appearance and although the palaces and museums are amazing the city overall doesn't have a clean appearance. It is clear that over the next 10 years it will look fantastic as they continue their refurbishment. It was our first trip to St. Petersburg and we would be happy to go back

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Garry1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 362 in St. Petersburg
817 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 362 in St. Petersburg
1,676 reviews
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#19 of 362 in St. Petersburg
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#22 of 362 in St. Petersburg
853 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#27 of 362 in St. Petersburg
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky

Address: Ligovsky Prospect, 61, St. Petersburg 191040, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vladimir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#27 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $85 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky is located in the spectacular environment of business area of St. Petersburg just a stone's throw from the main street Nevsky Prospect and Moskovsky railway station. The hotel is rather close to Anichkov Palace, State Russian Museum, Hermitage, Kazan Cathedral and Mariinsky Theater. The nearby points of interest also include Church of the Savior on the Blood, Summer Garden and St. Isaac's Cathedral. And the popular shopping mall is located across the street, where you may buy needed goods, have dinner or go to beauty salon. Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg-Ligovsky will set your mood for this great city. After a long business trip, it's the best way to relax in our Lobby Bar with fresh drinks and starters from Chef, taste delicate Mediterranean Cuisine in the restaurant Olivetto and enjoy the walk along famous Nevsky Prospect, contemporary experiencing the world famous White Nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg-Ligovsky Hotel St. Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing