We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Church Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Church Courtyard
London
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a wonderful long weekend staying at the Old Church Courtyard. The staff were incredibly helpful throughout - from booking, helping with visas, and arrival advice through to suggestions of things to do in the city. It's a very comfortable, welcoming guesthouse in a great location. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    7
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
20
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed in Old Church Courtyard 5 days and it was a bull's-eye.
It's a very comfortable place, centrally located, clean, quiet, well-equipped with friendly stuff. In the kitchen you can make yourself a breakfast, there is always sth to eat (bread, cereals, jams, milk, joghurts etc.). I've found here some comments that it's difficult to find the place. Well... if you are a little clever, you will manage it very easily (follow the description). Our visit in St Petersburg was great and Old Church Courtyard is a place that I can recommend with no doubts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artur O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley traveler
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed in the Old Church Courtyard for a week in October and found that we liked even more and more as the week went on. The location is great - a very short walk to the nearest metro, but also still walkable to a lot of the main sites in the old town. Excellent and dependable wi-fi connection, and it was nice to have the kitchen available for nights that we didn't feel like going out. The room was large, clean, and had beautiful old touches that contributed to the feeling of really being in the midst of the unique atmosphere of this city. If I ever get the chance to return to St. Petersburg, and I hope I do, I'd stay in the Old Church Courtyard for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ESchweng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

The B&B is located close to Nevsky Prospect and Ligovski, in one of these old majestic buildings, where you wonder how it looks inside. Partly hidden behind the Arctic Museum (the old church building), carefully renovated, wooden floors, nice atmosphere, clean, large bathrooms.

There is a very nice russian girl who takes care of everything and prepares a nice breakfast. We had the room on pict. No 1, which was as beautiful as the picture shows.
Not sure if I like this one or the other B&B of the same owner (Academy Garden) more, both have their own charme. We stayed 7 days, but would have loved to stay longer.

Make sure that you memorise the photos showing the entrance, there are no signs, very difficult to find the house entrance. It is in the courtyard in the left back corner behind the church building (left seen if you stand in front of the church, facing the church).

We bought some additional stuff for breakfast (jam, ham, fresh food, etc.) in a nice russian food shop in Ligovski street).

Room Tip: The primium room is the one on photo 1 (if fits 3 people). The other rooms are doubles and a bit sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swiss-Flutterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

The Old Church Courtyard is a wonderful place to stay. Its location is very convenient - close to Nevsky prospekt, 2 metro stations and the Moscow Railway Station. It's not hard to find - just make sure you follow the directions. The staircase has been recently refurbished. Rooms are large, clean and very tastefully decorated. I travelled on my own and found the owner to be very knowledgeable and helpful. A lovely alternative to staying in a bland hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed a few nights in this place and we will certainly recommend it to everyone who is going to Petersbrg. The Courtyard is just lovely! We got a very spacious styllishly designed room. It was clean and fresh as well as our big bathroom. Everyday we were served a tasteful breakfast . The staff was very helpful and friendly. Also the location is very convenients for tourists. Definitely our accommodation place was an excellent choice that made our stay in Petersburg very special.
Hanna & Rafal

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sansepolcro, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Large, cozy, quiet rooms in a very central location. A short walk to Nevsky Prospect and major theaters, museums, etc., plus small cafes and transportation. It was great to come in from beautiful but cold walks and warm up with hot tea and coffee in a place that felt like an intimate, nicely appointed apartment instead of an impersonal hotel (and at a fraction of the price). It is full of tasteful, old-world atmosphere and details. And the kitchenette was a welcome aspect. Also,the owner and staff were quite helpful with expert local and historical information, as well as theater suggestions, and spoke several languages. Don't hesitate to ask for specific directions, as you will need them! I would recommend Old Church Courtyard to anyone who wants an independent, authentic St. Petersburg experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ulianna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vladimir
Ligotel
Ligotel
#21 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Stasov Hotel
Stasov Hotel
#14 of 850 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Hotel Nouvelle Europe
#141 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel
#28 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Hotel 365 Spb
#55 of 1,513 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Mosko...
#58 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Church Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Church Courtyard

Property: The Old Church Courtyard
Address: ul Marata 22 - 24, St. Petersburg 191040, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vladimir
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 1,513 Specialty Lodging in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guesthouse in the centre of St Petersburg is a former priest's apartment which we have restored and gently adapted to give a carefully balanced mix of private and public space. All rooms have their own distinctive character and large bathrooms (some with windows). Breakfast is free, as are coffee and tea at any time and a very fast Wi-Fi connection. We try to provide our guests with any help they may need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Old Church Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing