We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For t”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Church Courtyard
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“For t”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Tucked away in a typical St Petersburg courtyard, it is a small challenge to find it. But asking the very Russian, no-english speaking neighbours can actually be your first contact with the friendly inhabitants of St Petersburg. The location is great, literally a block away from the grand, but overpriced Nevsky Prospekt. Once you're in, you get the key and every night you'll feel like returning to your own apartment and end the day with your own pot of free hot tea or coffee. For the easygoing traveller, who's allergic to generic middle of the road hotels. One suggestion for improvement: variety in the breakfast! Surely it can't be too difficult to add an occasional egg or ham instead of cheese and fresh croissants for the continental breakfast. But then again the coffee is really good. Other than this minor thing I highly recommend this lodge!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yanyan222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    7
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
20
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

This place is totally unprofessional. We made a booking online and received a confirmation email from the owner. We arrived to find no sign to indicate that we were at the right location and not even a doorbell to ring. Eventually we were let in by one of the building's other tenants and went upstairs and knocked on the door. We were greeted by a guy who proved to be completely unhelpful. He had no record of our reservation. We were able to show him our booking confirmation but he seemed only interested in blaming us for there being no record of our booking. Apparently we hadn't told them our time of arrival which we have had we been asked. How were we to know that we were arriving at a dingy apartment building with no doorbell? In the end we had to lug our bags around St Petersburg on a Saturday night in peak tourist season looking for a hotel with a vacancy. The Old Church Courtyard is also a misnomer. The Grotty Car Park or The Smelly Stairwell would be more appropriate. My advice is to stay a proper hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhnmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontanka121, Owner at The Old Church Courtyard, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear jhnmcc,

I have already written to you to apologize for the one-off failure in our booking system (and, it has to be said, communications) that led to us being unable to accommodate you on this night in June. I am sorry that I was not there to deal with this situation in person; I think that in that case you would have gone away with rather different impressions. And I hope that you will accept my offer of compensation for any material loss you may have suffered.

With regard to some of your other criticisms, though, I think I have to clear up some misunderstandings.

Firstly, we are not a hotel, but a guesthouse. We are situated in an end-of-the19th-century apartment block – a house which is inhabited by a colourful cross-section of contemporary St Petersburg society. So we are not an artificial enclave of tourists, but part of the city itself. This means that we don’t have a hotel sign (but we do give very precise directions as to how to find the guesthouse on our website) and sometimes the house staircase may not be as clean as might be desirable (incidentally, we shall be renovating it next year). On the other hand, staying in such a place gives you an opportunity to live the city from the inside rather than simply observing it from the outside. And our rooms themselves are some of the most spacious and, I believe, most elegant in the whole city.

In general, we try to give our guests not just a bed and a beautiful/characterful room for the night, but also all the support they may need in order to make the most of this sometimes not very easy city. My assistants and I are at hand to point people in the right direction(s), help with any problems that may arise, and generally ease you gently into the culture of St Petersburg.

Best wishes,

John Nicolson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

We really fall in love with this place. If you want to feel yourself at friend's home and to feel the real atmosphere of this unusual city - it's the great choice! There are only 4 spacious rooms with en suite bathrooms, nicely decorated and very cosy. Don't expect smth great from breakfast, just usual yoghurt, muesli, toasts and jam. But as location is really great you'll find very close great number of cafes and shops, all main sights are in 10-15 minutes walk. The stuff is absolutely great and give you lots of useful information. It was our best stay in St. Petersburg ever and in many respects owing to "Old Church Courtyard"

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa_Kolybina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

First of all good luck finding the place. There are no signs posted and when you do figure it out it's behind a heavy steel door up a crumbling stoop then 3 stories of stairs in a dark, smokey corridor. Don't look at the electrical connections above the entrance way or as you go up the stairs. I'm sure they are not up to any code. The rooms are large but sparse. The kitchen looked like something from a youth hostel. The neighborhood is full of drunks & the way to the subway and can be very unsafe. People urinating where they please. The owner is very nice and the caretaker was helpful after we had been pickpockted on a subway. The room was only 45 Euro but I can't say it was worth more. Seems that the Europeans we met don't mind it a bit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sinis55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

Exquisite and, simultaneously, warm, in both meanings, place. Excellent to start knowing and experiencing St. Petersburg - and loving the city, due to this very Old Church Courtyard!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lord_byron68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

As I travel to St Petersurg often I want to stay in a place where I can feel at home. With only 4 rooms and informal service from friendly and helpful staff it doens't feel like a hotel. The spacious rooms are decorated with style and taste. (Mix of Russian and English style). It's very quiet at night which is not an exaturated luxury in the centre of Saint Petersburg.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGB054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

The location is just great, very near Nevsky and the underground, the rooms lovely and very big, very nice staff !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marionbedetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Akyan Saint Petersburg
Akyan Saint Petersburg
#12 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#9 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Aston Hotel
#23 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#25 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 334 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#6 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Church Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Church Courtyard

Property: The Old Church Courtyard
Address: ul Marata 22 - 24, St. Petersburg 191040, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vladimir
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 1,536 Specialty Lodging in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guesthouse in the centre of St Petersburg is a former priest's apartment which we have restored and gently adapted to give a carefully balanced mix of private and public space. All rooms have their own distinctive character and large bathrooms (some with windows). Breakfast is free, as are coffee and tea at any time and a very fast Wi-Fi connection. We try to provide our guests with any help they may need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Old Church Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing