We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only way to see St.Petersburg when time is limited”
Review of Insider Tour

Insider Tour
Ranked #6 of 348 Tours in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 2003, Insider Tour offers a unique perspective on all things Russian - history, architecture, arts, and present day life. All tours are conducted by experienced career tour guides with your unique interests matched with your tour guide's area of expertise. Fully licensed. No visa required for cruise guests. We offer tours in St. Petersburg, Moscow, Novgorod, and across the Baltics.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The only way to see St.Petersburg when time is limited”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

As part of a recent Baltic Cruise my friends and i booked a two day fully escorted tour of St Petersburg with Insider Tours. From the moment the booking was made everything went as they said it would. Our guide Marina was waiting for us on our arrival and all our original requests were looked after. Marina made sure that we did not have to wait in line and her knowledge and enthusiasm for her country was outstanding. Our driver Andrew also did a great job and got us as close as possible to all attractions that we visited.
The other reviews about this company are all spot on, look no further for a tour company.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank adolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    27
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, MIchigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Insider Tours St. Petersburg with Personal Attention”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Do not worry about using Insider Tours. Once again my fellow trip advisors gave great advice. Everything went smoothly according to the directions I had received as I booked. We paid in American currency, new bills with no marks as directed to save the 5% surcharge from the company and our bank credit card charges in the US. Our tour for 4 in a nice Hyundai minivan was excellent. Katie, our guide spoke perfect English and knew volumes about St. Petersburg. Our tour for 4 ended up costing about would it would have through the cruise line by the time we added the suggested 10 % & 5 % tips but we were not packed buses and got lots of personal attention. It was a great experience and St. Petersburg was the highlight of our Baltic cruise.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Michigander5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
243 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“TWO EXCELLENT DAYS IN ST.PETERSBURG”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were recommended to Insider Tour as an excellent private tour company to ensure our visit to St.Petersburg and environs was complete and covered several issues that we proposed. From the initial contact with the firm through acquiring from them the necessary documents for entering Russia through the actual two days, Insider Tour delivered 100%. Our guide, Valentina, a veteran of private guided tours spoke perfect English, was extremely knowledgable about the history of the city, country past and present and especially the czars. She also was able to accommodate our request to see several well known but not highly publicized attractions, as well as accompanying us on a short but fruitful shopping expedition downtown. Valentina took us room by room through the two main palaces, and the extraordinary Hermitage. She knew the artists, artworks, periods, comparisons and has travelled widely herself to similar great museums like the Louvre an Prado. Her pace was easy. Her time was our time. Even the restaurant visits we requested were excellent. Inside Tour delivered St.Petersburg to us. We were grateful and felt we got our money's worth and then some.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank baird t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Insider Tour of St. Petersburg”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We visited St. Petersburg last week and arranged a private tour for 4 with Insider Tours. The whole experience was very professional, from Alexandra who I dealt with to organize it, who was very, very responsive, to the driver who was on time and knew his way around, to our tour guide, Valentina. She was a lovely woman who knew a lot about the Romanovs and made the tour interesting and informative.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PamTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab two days seeing St Petersburg”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We are a group of eight who have returned from a Baltic cruise which included two days in St Petersburg. Friends had recommended Insider Tours for our tour of St Petersburg and like them we where so pleased we had chose Insider Tours rather than the ships expensive, restrictive,and over crowed tours. From the first e-mail I sent right through to the end of our two day tour with Irena our superb guide and Andrew our safe driver, everything was managed in a professional and competent manner. We would certainly book with Insider Tours should we be so lucky to visit St Petersburg again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Insider Tour also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Insider Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing