We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful. This place makes one happy!”
Review of Tsar

Tsar
Reserve a Table
Ranked #69 of 12,252 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $56
Cuisines: Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nevskiy
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything was perfect!
The restaurant, the music, the food, the waiters: charming and quick, the atmosphere... even the toilet had it's charm.... Simply wonderful. We enjoyed every moment.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JanineYpke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 809 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2019

Had a lovely meal, Russian menu. Well presented and prepared in opulent surroundings. Helpful and friendly staff

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019

Traditional dishes are presented in a glossy print and pictured menu ALL in ENGLISH. The several dishes tried among the four of us were best described as good home cooking reminiscent of what my Baba would prepare. The only dish rising to an accolade of "very good" was the cherry filled dumplings, one of us had for dessert. The Russian wines are encouraged by your efficient server and "wine lady" (definitely not a credentialed sommelier) to be tried - be careful if you are brave enough to succumb to the gentle pressure as they are reported to be very bad and are EXPENSIVE!!!

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MCBW5875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Мария К, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Tsar, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2019

Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy cuisine of our restaurant and the work of our sommelier. All your comments were submitted to the chef and the head of the restaurant. Do not hesitate to address your concerns directly to your waiter or manager in the future as we always decide any problem if our guest is not happy. But we do not want you to go away with a bad mood. We look forward to welcome you again at our restaurants worldwide!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019

At 9PM they play some stirring music to honor an assassinated Czar. Of course we had to try the one of the caviar's (25USD for a spoonful)...not my cup of tea. Waiter and service excellent. English menu. He handled English and was helpful. What I have been doing is paying with a credit card and then leaving cash 10% tip as there is no way to add tip to credit card. Some restaurants have service included. Opening Uber on your phone leads you to Y.Taxi app download. You can still get to Uber but you have to type in the www. before uber.com. I took the easy way out and used Y.Taxi which worked fine. They have Basic, Comfort +, Comfort ++ and Business cars.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Мария К, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Tsar, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2019

Dear guest,
thank you for sharing your impressions. We are happy that you enjoy the visiting our restaurant. There is nothing more pleasant than getting such feedback from our dear guests. We are looking forward to seeing you again at our restaurants worldwide!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019 via mobile

Our group really enjoyed the experience. All food was prepared perfectly and served timely. Especially enjoyed the selections and options on the menu. At times some of the entertainment was a little loud , that help lighten the mood and works for them .

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank IrishCueTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsar also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Tsar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing