We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“W St. Petersburg”
Review of W St. Petersburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W St. Petersburg
Ranked #18 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I was surprised to see a very lovely hotel in St. Petersburg , interiors plus their rooms and the feel of the hotel is something I look forward to and this hotel did not disappoint me . The staff where all friendly and accommodating , plus they can speak English which is a plus factor for us who cannot speak Russian . The location is perfect since it's close to most of the tourist attraction sites , especially the Hermitage which is a must see! So if ever I get a chance to go back I will definitely stay there again!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Wencerom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

After staying 4 nights at the quite outdated Hotel National in Moscow, arriving at the W St Petersburg was extremely refreshing. The amenities, the fun décor and the super friendly staff were a welcome sight. My request for a higher floor with a nice view was granted which was awesome as I got a slight view of St Isaac's Cathedral, and the Four Seasons across the road which is in a lovely historical building. However, the "Talent Entrance" for the nightclub was right across from my room so I was glad to not be staying over the weekend. The nightclub looks like an awesome place to be in the summer time with the outdoor cabanas and amazing city views.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and a nice view and they are accommodating if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelJunky_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I had a horrible morning leading up to my stay. The minute I walked into the door, I felt at peace. The front desk staff was so friendly and helpful. I was upgraded to an amazing suite with a bottle of wine and a welcome card. The room was modern, spacious and had all the amenities I would expect from a W property. My only regret is that I didn't get to try the Mix restaurant which I heard is one of the best in the city. The front desk staff kindly recommended a back up restaurant in town that was so good, we ended up eating there twice in a day. I have stayed at many Starwood properties but in terms of overall service, amenities and design, this one is certainly in my top five favorite properties.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

PROS

> good location
> the hotel is new - everything is nice and clean

CONS

> not a big fun of W's aggressive design (bright white walls & furniture)
> internal courtyard view is rather depressing
> the hotel was a bit deserted

Room Tip: not facing internal courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jevgenijs Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_St_Petersburg, Public Relations Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Jevgenijs Z,
Thank you for your comment on your recent stay at W St. Petersburg. I am sorry to hear you didn't like our modern design by Antonio Citterio, but I am happy you have enjoyed the hotel facilities & our perfect location.
We hope to host you again in summer, so you can feel the vibe of lively high season.

Best regards,
Gaiane Khachikian
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed there in June 2012. Loved the location and the proximity to the river/ center. Tiny rooms, but super stylish - as per W.. Amazing rooftop with a trendy lounge to enjoy the white nights. Would come back again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycgirl2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_St_Petersburg, Public Relations Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Yuli2013,
Thank you for your positive review and you loyalty to W Hotels Worldwide.
Let us know in advance about your upcoming visit, so our W Insider will prepare some interesting tips for you to explore beautiful St. Petersburg.

Best regards,
Gaiane Khachikian
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Surprised my partner with a trip to St Petersburg as a 50th birthday present. We initially booked into the "Rossi boutique hotel" as we wanted something with some local character however changed hotel after the first night as there was nothing boutique about the hotel.

We booked into the W we had stayed in the W in Barcelona and Paris. The hotel looks great and is in a perfect location (as are all W's) so we can't really fault the hotel (though my only comment is that they tend to place things on every single surface in the room, leaving little place to put down your personal belongs). The roof terrace is great. The only serious problem is the city itself. As beautiful as it architecture might be, it the only place I have even been to where it feels very depressing and completely soulless on the streets. I have been to other ex communist countries and always enjoyed those places and their character, yet in this city all that is completely lacking. You feel wonderful whilst in the hotel but that warm feeling disappears within minutes of leaving it. Lovely architecture but the locals are mostly unpleasant, unfriendly and unhelpful. I know this is a big statement but we have travelled a lot all over the world and this is the first time were we have ever felt as if the place was lacking a soul. The whole city was so disappointing that we actaully paid £ 500.- to come home earlier and stayed 3 nights instead of 5. It was all the more disappointing as this was a surprise trip.

Would I ever go back to this hotel or city? absolutely not, there are so many other cities with just as much interesting museums and architected that are much nicer, interesting and welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_St_Petersburg, Guest Relations Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear TrevorRoy,
Thank you for you comment on your recent stay at W St. Petersburg and your loyalty to W Hotels Worldwide.
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the city and didn't feel the soul of St. Petersburg. On the positive note I am glad that you have enjoyed W St. Petersburg, especially miXup Terrace on the rooftop and our central location.
If you decide to give St. Petersburg another chance, let us know in advance, so our Concierge will prepare a customized plan for you to explore a friendly side of the city.

Best regards,
Gaiane Khachikian
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Worth the price. Welcoming receptionists, best service providers, nice location, good quality breakfast and overall - "w quality at its best". Best recommendaions.
The only minus I found is the keys that were sometimes not working properly in the elevator. However, this should be fixed easily.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ekaterina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_St_Petersburg, Guest Relations Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Ekaterina L,
Thank you for your positive review of W St. Petersburg. I am happy to hear you appreciated exclusive tips from our W Insiders and the warm approach from our staff in general.
We hope to host you again soon.

Best regards,
Gaiane Khachikian
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 361 in St. Petersburg
867 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#17 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,174 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,663 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 361 in St. Petersburg
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W St. Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W St. Petersburg

Address: Voznesenskiy Ave., 6, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#9 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $154 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W St. Petersburg 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern wonder romanced by Saint Petersburg's elegant traditions, where nostalgia meets cutting edge cool in Russia's historical capital of glamour, fashion, and music. Conceptualized by award-winning designers Antonio Citterio Patricia Viel and Partners, W St. Petersburg is located in the heart of the city next to St. Isaac's Cathedral, a stones throw from the lavish Winter Palace with the famed Hermitage Museum and a short stroll from the spectacular Neva River. Indulge in our Living Room, tune into the DJ beats on our panoramic terrace, check out our panoramic meeting space WOUNGE and unwind at bliss spa and WET swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your W St. Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w St. Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing