We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of the class!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of W St. Petersburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
W St. Petersburg
Ranked #22 of 334 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
588 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Top of the class!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is one of those modern trendy hotels that will inspire mixed feelings: either love it or hate it. From my side, it was one of my best experiences east of the “Iron Curtain”.
The location is perfect, right by the Palace Square and the Hermitage. The view from the terrace is simply fantastic.
The decoration is very trendy and minimalist, with rather dark tones. In the lifts and common areas, there is dance/chillout music playing non-stop. Again, one can love it or hate it…
The bedrooms are classy, cozy, with heavenly bed and top of the class linens. The best shower I have ever experienced and quality amenities.
Breakfast was very good, with large choice of pastries, cheeses, fruits, cereals, eggs, juices. All top quality.
I had dinner in their restaurant: an excellent risotto, and in the terrace: fresh salmon variations. Food was just great and the wine list in both places clearly deserves to be highlighted.
The staff was all very friendly and ready to run the extra mile for their clients.
It was a wonderful experience and the W became my choice when staying in St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazinheira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear hazinheira,
Thank you so much for your positive review. I’m glad you’ve got great experience at W St. Petersburg. Thank you for highlighting so many details that made a good impression on you like our shower and Bliss amenities, famous Egyptian cotton linens.. I’m glad that you liked dining in miX in St. Petersburg, the only restaurant in Russia managed by the team of world renowned chef Alain Ducasse. The restaurant also has a separate account on Tripadvisor and I’m sure they will be happy to hear back from you. The terrace on the top level will be also reopened in early May – you are welcome to try out the new menu for the terrace.
Looking forward to see you soon,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    254
    81
    29
    16
See reviews for
147
356
70
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
201 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

I think this hotel might be like marmite; love it or hate it! I have done modern/trendy hotels before but for some reasons something didnt lie quite right with this one. You can not fault the helpfulness of the staff who sorted out every minor problem and request and even moved our room when we were put on too lower a floor. The decor is all very dark and black and offers no linkage with being in St Petersburg; i would have thought a modern designer could have done a play on some of the local themes. As other reviewers have said it tries to be too cool with dance music playing in the lift and at breakfast. The clientelle are very mixed from your average older wealthy tourist to Businessman in chic suits and others with a certain sterotyped mystique as to why they are there! The restaurant food quality was excellent but with very few diners and served at break neck speed rather distracted the experience.
I felt sorry for the lone DJ mixing to an empty bar and a few fogies (including us) milling in and out. It was also very distracting when trying to deal with reception.
I suspect its all about individual taste and it may feel different in the summer when the terrace is open.
I did like the funky room and its amenities and the location is brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear jonworld,
Thank you for your positive feedback to W St. Petersburg! Regarding the decor of the hotel – W St. Petersburg is a very modern hotel both in equipment and design and it really stands out from other hotels in the city that offer their guests more imperial design. Though W St. Petersburg is inspired by the beautiful city architecture and Faberge egg style. You may find the elements of images of Isaac Cathedral and the Admiralty in our lifts and on the wall panels of the rooms and bathrooms, there is a famous ruby-cut on the room doors – all of these makes a hint to St. Petersburg and it’s architecture traditions. Our room and bar views to the historical center of the city is also an important part of the hotel design perception and you are absolutely right when you say it might look different during the summer time. It really does - the white nights make it different. And of course we will reopen miXup terrace for the season in early May. Thank you for your feedback about the cuisine in miX in St. Petersburg restaurant, your room and the hotel location.
Looking forward to see you soon
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

W St. Petersburg did not disappoint. Fantastic location and wonderful, helpful staff. I always feel welcome at W hotels and staff are always helpful in every which way. The rooms are absolutely comfortable in every way, great bathrooms with a separate bath and shower with a massive rain shower head (always a plus), wonderful beds with different pillows from which to choose. The Bliss spa downstairs was serene and absolutely what one needs after a full day of sightseeing. Honestly, I could've stayed there the whole day!


W hotels are definitely the place to stay at every destination, Truly a class act and as always did not disappoint.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Ozzard,
Thank you so much for your positive review of W St. Petersburg and your loyalty to Starwood Hotels. I’m glad the hotel met your expectations and high standards of W Hotels. It is pleasant to hear that our talents were helpful and that you really enjoyed our comfortable rooms and a central city location and Bliss spa. By the way Bliss spa has started their own page on Tripadvisor and they would be happy to get your feedback on their services.
Looking forward to see you soon,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The W Hotel aesthetic is not really to my taste but I enjoyed my stay at this hotel and I found it to be more elegant and sophisticated than the typical W.

Before arrival: The visa assistance process was efficient and straightforward. It is also possible to book an airport pickup through the hotel, which I did, and the driver was at the airport and easily identified when I arrived.

Arrival: The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful on arrival and at check-in. All of the staff I encountered, including bell persons and the housekeeping staff, spoke English fluently.

The room: I booked a Wonderful Room. It was very comfortable and large, particularly given that it is the lowest price room. There is so many lightening options in the room, one can choose from very bright to very dim and everywhere in between. The room had two sets for floor to ceiling doors that open with a clear waist high barrier to prevent guests from falling out.

I don't particularly care for the "open bathroom" trend in hotel room design but this W did it as well as I have experienced. The Wonderful Room has a shower stall only, and no tub. The stall is very large with two recessed shelves for shampoo, soap, etc with a rain shower and a more conventional shower head that are operated independently. The water pressure was fine and the door was well sealed so one doesn't end up with a soaked floor and bathmat as I have experienced in many hotel rooms.

Three large high quality bath sheets are provided as well as a set of smaller towels. The robes are very thick and warm. A real, full size hair dryer is provided and there are outlets in the bathroom. A bottomless supply of travel size Bliss toiletries are provided - one can get a new full set every day.

The mini bar isn't cheap but there are 24 hour convenience stores very close by so if one doesn't like the prices, there are readily available alternatives.

The location: The location could not be better. All major sites are within easy walking distance. The new Four Seasons opening this year is immediately across the street to give a sense of the quality of the neighborhood.

The restaurant: The food and service are good and the pricing is very reasonable. The selection of wines by the glass was small, but the ones offered are interesting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear likemagic,
Thank you so much for your detailed feedback to W St. Petersburg. I’m very delighted to see that we exceeded your expectations about W Hotels. I’m sure that many travelers would be able to find lots of tips in your review like ones about the good location and service. Thank you for highlighting also small but important and pleasant details like bath robes and Bliss toiletries. This is also great that you visited our gem – Alain Ducasse restaurant miX in St. Petersburg. This is the only restaurant managed by the team of the world renowned chef in Russia and we are happy to provide the best culinary experience to our hotel guests.
Looking forward to see you soon,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is magical and a true international destination as the ideal home base.

The fit and finish of the rooms are Spectacular and unsurpassed by others.

The staff is very helpful. They offered to take a painting I bought to get a "certificate" allowing me to take it back to the USA. The government requires this. FYI.

The location of the hotel could not be better. This hotel is a class acts and worth the premium.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opm4are
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear opm4are,
Thank you for your review of W St. Petersburg! I’m very glad our room design, location of the hotel and service impressed you. And thank you for your kind recommendation and a notice about the painting – this might be a valuable tip for future travelers.
Looking forward to see you soon,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is really new, if not brand new. Very hip just like you would expect from the W Hotel chain. The service was great, very attentive.

The concierge was even able to get me sold out tickets to the season opener of Romeo & Juliet at the Mariinsky Theater which were impossible to get! I went through Exeter International which claims they have the keys to Russia but couldn't do it, Travel All Russia, my secretary, concierge where we were staying in Moscow at the time, and a travel agent. W concierge seems to be tapped into the local scene.

Rooms were nice and large. I looked all over St Pete and the W had large rooms and location. Staying in a hotel that has history is nice for a day but the thin walls and chipping 200yr old caulk get old after a while. Rates were better than the leading hotels in St Pete! Cheaper than Grand Hotel Europe.

Breakfast buffet is great downstairs but you're 2 blocks off Nevisky Prospekt if you want to grab coffee and a croissant at a local coffee house. No doubt it would be much cheaper.

Room service was very fast.

Toiletries were a nice brand and they provided a separate face wash in addition to the usual shampoo & conditioner. Face wash was so good that I now use it exclusively, bought it from Sephora.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room 514 but I bet any room ending in "14" will have this problem: i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denneyorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Denneyorama,
Thank you for your positive review! I’m glad that you found our concierge service called Whatever/Wherever helpful. Whatever/Wherever is not only a name but also our philosophy – just ask and our W/W agents will get what you need. I hope you enjoyed Mariinsky Theatre. Thank you for highlighting even small details that you liked in the hotel, for example Bliss toiletries that we put in every room. Moreover we have Bliss signature spa inside the hotel so you are more than welcome to enjoy it next time. . Looking forward to see you soon,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Have just had five nights in this well positioned hotel in st. Petersburg. The staff were friendly enough and the service in the restaurant for breakfast was good. Thought that the Bar/ coffee shop in foyer, rather odd and not very comfortable and hip hop music in the bar and in the lift. Odd furnishings in public areas and although the furnishings in the rooms were modern they were also odd, miss matched bedside lights, one small and dim and the other large and overbright, a gold petal chandelier ? Again odd. Did not try the Alain Ducasse restaurant, ( why go to Russia to eat French food) but then never saw anyone else in there either.
Would not rush back, it was fine as a bed for the night but it seemed to be trying a bit too hard to be funky.

Room Tip: Do not use the top floor , it is the night club, not a problem but again n leaving the elevator, ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Sue G,
Thank you for your review of W St. Petersburg. I’m sorry that the hotel didn’t meet your expectations. You are right we are very modern in our approach to the design and the ambiance of the hotel. W St. Petersburg stands out from other hotels in the city. Everything you could see and hear in the hotel is based on our W passion points – music, fashion and design. That’s why we play new upcoming DJs in our Living Room, lifts and miXup bar. The bold design of the hotel is done by Italian architect Antonio Citterio and it looks modern and progressive but also it is elegant and matching the connection with the city architecture traditions. Anyway I’m glad that you liked the location of the hotel and I hope to see you again,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 334 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#6 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#15 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 334 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W St. Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W St. Petersburg

Property: W St. Petersburg
Address: Voznesenskiy Ave., 6, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#9 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#20 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W St. Petersburg 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern wonder romanced by Saint Petersburg's elegant traditions, where nostalgia meets cutting edge cool in Russia's historical capital of glamour, fashion, and music. Conceptualized by award-winning designers Antonio Citterio Patricia Viel and Partners, W St. Petersburg is located in the heart of the city next to St. Isaac's Cathedral, a stones throw from the lavish Winter Palace with the famed Hermitage Museum and a short stroll from the spectacular Neva River. Indulge in our Living Room, tune into the DJ beats on our panoramic terrace, check out our panoramic meeting space WOUNGE and unwind at bliss spa and WET swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your W St. Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w St. Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing