We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“hotel stuff made good,comfortable service. you can good view helmitage museum , Neva river.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tradition Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tradition Hotel
Ranked #44 of 313 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Shizuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“hotel stuff made good,comfortable service. you can good view helmitage museum , Neva river.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

hotel stuff made good,comfortable service. you can good view helmitage museum , Neva river.
breakfast is well.
location is not bad , not good.
if you often want to go to nevsky on foot , maybe you need to stay in near nevsky
i like to walk , so i like this hotel
my room is very near street , so a little noisy from cars

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kanekokimiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear kanekokimiya,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your high ratings of our breakfast and your stay in general. We hope that you have now good memories about your trip to St. Petersburg.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    90
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
124
26
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Tradition Hotel and had a wonderful time. The room was very nice and, most importantly, very quiet. Staff were extremely friendly and spoke English very well. Breakfast was very good and there was a quite a variety of offerings from which to choose. It was about a 15 minute walk to get to the Hermitage as others have noted, however, the views from the hotel's location and during the period of time one spends walking over the bridges are pretty spectacular. In short, I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone considering a trip to St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irawine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear irawine,

Thank you for choosing Tradition Hotel as your home in St. Petersburg. Based on your story about the spectacular views while crossing the bridges we are happy to announce that the Palace bridge (Dvortsovy) will be 100% ready for transort and pedestrians starting from October 19th after a long reconstruction period.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
99 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have just spent one week in the Tradition hotel and we had a lovely stay. The room was pretty big with a small fridge, ac and Tv. People at the front desk were very helpful and after finding out it was our wedding anniversary offered us a bottle of champagne.
Breakfast was excellent.
The hotel is on the Petrograd island across from the Ermitage museum (beautiful view at night). We never had a problem with the bridges because we don't stay up that late but I guess it could be a problem for people who like to stay up very late.
You can walk to Ermitage and Saint Isaac after crossing the 2 bridges but you can also take the bus (191 passes the Ermitage and goes no Nevski) or take streetcar 6 to go on the other side of the garden. In the other direction you can take streetcar 6 to go to Vasilyevsky Island and visit the pedestrian street and near the St Andre Church, a very traditionnal market.
On the same Island don't miss Temple of Assomption, one of the most beautiful churches of St Petersburg .

Room Tip: superior rooms are on the street, but although I am very sensitive to noise, it was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dada58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear dada58,

Thank you for being our guest. We appreciate for your very usefull information about the transportation. And a short notice about the bridges: there is now a night train between Admiralteyskaya and Sportivnaya stations, what means that the hotel has nightly connection with Nevsky pr.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our stayng in Saint Petersburg (3-8 sept 2013) has been wonderful due to the location of the Hotel, that gave us the possibiliy to reach the most significant sites.
The staff (2 different persons) has been extremely kind; they speack an excellent English giving us all the information to move in a city where, unfortunately, the writing and the Language don't help the visitors. They have suggested the right restaurants where we tasted very good russian dishes
The room was very comfortable, quite, and the bathroom very clean and provided with towels, bath-robe, shoes, shampoos, head-dryer, ecc. The breackfast was very reach, but the room too little!!!...
Highly recommended for a wonderful sojourn in Saint Petersburg

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lboccardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear lboccardi,

Thank you for your positive review. It's great to know that you have enjoyed your stay in different aspects. I'd like to add that we recommend many different restaurants, but only where we had great meals personally and never where any kind of commission is offered to the hotels.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

A friend and I stayed for three nights at the Tradition Hotel, and dealt with three different members of staff - all of whom were extremely helpful. The location was fairly good, and the only complaint we had was the bridges going up on us and not being able to get home easily at midnight!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littleswallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear littleswallow,

Thank you for staying with us. It's great to read that you found our staff so helpfull. And I'd like to tell a bit about the bridges: they draw from the end of April till November, drawing period is from 1am untill 4 am (may differ a bit depending on the bridge). Now we have a night train that connects Nevsky pr. with our district. And in general, a drawing bridge is a very beautiful picture.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I was very excited about my stay at the Tradition hotel but I must be honest and say I was disapointed.

Hotel arranged for us to be collected at the station (fee applies) and driver was on time and friendly. Hotel is very small but beautiful decorated. Checkin was efficient and friendly. We had a room at the back of the hotel. It was small- traditional and modern at the same time. Wi-Fi struggled to connect as we must have been too far from main wifi signal, this was the first disappointment, otherwise room was nice with tea and coffee, good tv and safe. Room had no view but this isn't important to me. Slippers and bathrobe provided.

Location is good. Right beside Peter and Paul Fortress (the attraction itself isn't great but that's not the hotels fault!). It's about 15 minute walk to main tourist sites like the Hermitage and just a bit further till you hit restaurants etc. Metro is about a 10 minute walk away through a nice park.

I booked 3 nights but checked out after the first one. Hotel seemed genuinely disapointed I was checking out but were accommodating. I just had an awful nights sleep ! The air con in the room had a real running water sound to it every 15 mins or so... Very annoying... The beds weren't exactly the comfiest in the world and the main problem was the outside noise. All the way till at least mid night I was annoyed by what sounded like a underground train going beneath me. Really don't know what it was but it was very noticeable and made my mind up to leave.

Breakfast was beautifully presented with a lovely selection.

Overall I can see why people want to stay here. If I had a better room maybe this review would be very different. The one staff member we encountered was pleasant too, but for over £150 for an awful nights sleep 3 stars is generous.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank aniceglassofred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear aniceglassofred,

Thank you for your review wit lot of warm words about our property. We have checked the aircondition in your room and found out that the filter really should be changed as that caused this sounds (not any other room has this problem). As for the strange noices... well we wanted to find them, but unseccessfull. We suppose that the works on the roof could have some specific sound at that moment, but, again, not now. We are sorry for any inconvinience you had during your stay and we thank you for all good words you found for Tradition Hotel.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed here with my friend from 27th to 31st Aug 2013. We were absolutely delighted with the comfort and service we enjoyed. In particular the reception staff who all spoke English were at all times very friendly and helpful. From visa support and pick up at the airport to arranging a private tour and organising room service, all our needs were met. The room and bathroom were a decent size, the beds were very comfortable, the shower was terrific, there were complimentary toiletries, tea/coffee making facilities, BBC World News on the tv and every morning a terrific breakfast . Previous reviewers have mentioned the traffic noise but in fact it was fairly subdued. However if you are a light sleeper you should request a room at the back.
I should also mention, because I was thrilled by it, that this hotel is so tastefully furnished that I felt I was staying in a very exclusive boutique hotel.
Location is about 10 or 15 minutes walk from the centre, a very pleasant walk over two bridges, and just across the road from the Peter and Paul fortress. If I were ever to return to St Petersburg I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear kimscotland,

Thank you for your great review. You've marked many important moments about our hospitality policy: we really have soundproofed windows, and we try to accommodate light sleepers with innerview room (just sometimes it doesn't work if we have high occupancy and there are many requests). And, yes - we are proud about our style: it was a serious work of our owners to realize their own design ideas.

Kind regads,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Demetra Art Hotel
#25 of 313 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilie...
#35 of 313 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#12 of 313 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevskiy
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevskiy
#23 of 313 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 886 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#29 of 313 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Vladimir
Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
#11 of 313 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradition Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradition Hotel

Property: Tradition Hotel
Address: Dobrolubova Ave 2, St. Petersburg 197198, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Petrogradsky
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 313 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tradition Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition Hotel, located in the very heart of the city, offers you a great experience of accommodation with a unique location, traditional interiors and modern equipment. It is surrounded by some of the world's greatest tourist attractions, including the Peter and Paul Fortress, Palace Bridge, the State Hermitage. All our 16 rooms are delicately decorated and non-smoking, equipped with electronic key system, individual climate control, LCD TV, safe and free tea station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tradition Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing