We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even think twice-Book It!”
Review of Tradition Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tradition Hotel
Ranked #42 of 344 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't even think twice-Book It!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

If I could give 6 stars I would. I just have nothing bad to say. Immaculately clean everywhere. Front desk staff all English speaking and eager to assist in any way. My trip to Russia was a celebration of my 25th wedding anniversary and the staff and manager (Anton) made special and much appreciated acknowledgement of that upon our arrival.
I personally liked the location although it is a bit of a trek to a Metro station (but there are very regular buses and trolleys right out the front door that are a five minute ride to a Metro station). Less than 15 minute gorgeous walk over two bridges to The Hermitage and the Peter and Paul Fortress is basically right out the front door.
I would HATE staying on bustling and loud Nievsky Prospekt when something like this was available. This is not a shopping district and I have to admit that a late night craving leaves limited options although there is a nearby 24 hour deli-type store.
We were lucky enough to have a junior suite which was gorgeous and spacious. The bath fixtures were beautiful and modern. Wi-fi was fast and consistent. The breakfast is more than adequate. Don't expect a Las Vegas-style buffet but there is a very reasonable number of choices from fresh fruit to porridge to eggs to cereal to croissants to cold sliced meats and cheeses to items more suited to European tastes (vs. my American one). And again, the dining area is impeccably clean and there is an attendant constantly ensuring fresh coffee and refilling all of the choices. I have been fortunate enough to have stayed in very luxurious hotels and resorts all over the world and I enjoyed this hotel as much as any of them. If you don't need or want big luxury hotels (which I also love and certainly have their appeals), do not hesitate to stay at the Tradition.

Room Tip: Not sure as I only saw one room. We had a junior suite (#208) which looked out on a parking lot, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobertHebron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear RobertHebron,

Thank you so much for your review full of delight and usefull information at the same time. We are always happy to see our clients enjoing their stay. All our team members did their best to provide you with the services corresponding to your 25th wedding anniversary. We wish you and your family all the best.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    93
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
73
130
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SanktPeterburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Small boutique hotel near to city center. As far as i understan its quite new(about 3 years)
Reception Service is amazing!availible to take city excursion with transfer and private guided assistance from hotel!
We were 3 with our child staying in during our July vacation

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmitri_Ivan0v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The location is very close to Peter and Paul Cathedral with a park with excellent views of the Hermitage museum thru the water. Within walking distance of the hermitage but it involves crossing two bridges which open at night (be careful how late you stay out). Free wifi and breakfast which was good. Very friendly staff. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smartflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

this boutique type of place is a little hard to find--the hotel sign is small on a side street near the peter and paul fortress. the location is excellent. the staff were very friendly and helpful. the breakfast was adequate but nothing special. rooms were small but clean. 15 minutes on a nice bridge to the hermitage--walk it traffic is terrible. try the metro-subway-its a 15 minute walk to the closest station but from there you can get anywhere including to a stop to the white shuttle buses taking you to the airport.

Room Tip: pick a room away from the street facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love2travel4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My friend and I spent a week at the Tradition in mid-July. This was our first time visiting Russia so we didn't know what to expect. We found the Tradition to be situated perfectly for visiting the sites we wanted to visit. The Hermitage (Winter Palace), the Peter and Paul Fortress, the Church on the Spilled Blood, St. Isaac's Cathedral, many parks and other destinations were within comfortable walking distance. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. The breakfasts were fantastic. A buffet with loads of selections to enjoy while planning our day made mornings bearable. On our first day there (literally within the hour) we strolled off to visit the Peter and Paul Fortress. It was interesting and historical and had some great views. Unfortunately, my wallet was lost or stolen there (not my passport, thank goodness). When we discovered this, we ran back to the Tradition! Natalia was a godsend! She assisted me with her laptop and helped translate when I called my credit card companies to get replacements sent. Even with this happening our stay in St. Petersburg was great.

Bob and Elaine Parker

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boboski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is a really good value hotel, centrally located in St Petersburg. It is only a few hundred metres over to the Peter & Paul Fortress, which has lovely views over to the Winter Palace and St Isaacs. It takes about 15-20 minutes to walk over to the Winter Palace but it's a very nice stroll across a couple of bridges, with lovely views.
The hotel service is very good (by Russian standards!!) and they answered every email query promptly and helped with visa support service without any trouble. The rooms are perfectly adequate, not overly spacious but a decent size and whilst some of the furniture is a little dated, everything is very clean. There is a flat screen TV too, so there are a few relatively modern touches. The staff at reception were extremely helpful and really did there best, though on occasion they could seem abrupt - this is very normal though and more cultural. The rest of the hotel is fine, but we didn't spend much time there. The breakfast room is quite small and breakfast is average. Overall I think the major plus is the excellent location, service and good clean rooms at a fair price. I couldn't find a better option at this price range despite fairly extensive research. I was also very happy with the stay and would highly recommend the place.
We also went over to the W Hotel and had drinks on the rooftop. You can almost reach out and touch the dome of St Isaacs - so it's a nice place to relax. Not ridiculously priced either as some hip and trendy Russian bars can be. Our favourite restaurant was Gosti which isn't far from St Isaac's. Lovely food, totally unpretentious and for the summer it has very nice seating by the street surrounded by plants. Highly recommended. We also tried Gogol but weren't that impressed. There are also a couple of nice bars with outside seating just around the corner from the Church of Spilled Blood (toward the Winter Palace) - good wine by the glass and nice food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElHutch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is such a well run hotel. From the initial welcome and throughout our stay everyone was so warm and friendly, yet always professional. Great position for sightseeing, exceptionally clean hotel, delicious breakfast..what more could you ask for? Even the beds are comfortable. Can highly recommend the Traditional Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Tracy B,

We all at Tradition hotel are so happy to read that you and your family had such a wonderful time in our city and to be a part of your festive event. Thank you for your positive review! We wish you and your family all the best.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#22 of 344 in St. Petersburg
675 reviews
Arkadia Hotel
#48 of 344 in St. Petersburg
305 reviews
Liteyny
DOM Boutique Hotel
DOM Boutique Hotel
#37 of 344 in St. Petersburg
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Demetra Art Hotel
#54 of 344 in St. Petersburg
330 reviews
Admiralteisky
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Renaissance St. Petersburg Balti...
#29 of 344 in St. Petersburg
609 reviews
Petrogradsky
Vedensky Hotel
Vedensky Hotel
#74 of 344 in St. Petersburg
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradition Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradition Hotel

Property: Tradition Hotel
Address: Dobrolubova Ave 2, St. Petersburg 197198, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Petrogradsky
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 344 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tradition Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition Hotel, located in the very heart of the city, offers you a great experience of accommodation with a unique location, traditional interiors and modern equipment. It is surrounded by some of the world's greatest tourist attractions, including the Peter and Paul Fortress, Palace Bridge, the State Hermitage. All our 16 rooms are delicately decorated and non-smoking, equipped with electronic key system, individual climate control, LCD TV, safe and free tea station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tradition Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing