We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value overall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nevsky Contour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nevsky Contour Hotel
Ranked #22 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed for a week and found the experience very pleasant.
There are many advantages to staying in this hotel. Firstly, you can't think of a better location: just off Nevski, close to Mayakovskaya Metro Station, all the sites are within walking distance and there are lots of eating places in the area. At the same time it's very quiet, no windows look out onto any busy streets so you can get a good night's sleep.

(It was tricky to find it the first time, however: for some reason there's no sign for Nevsky Cotour" on the building so look out for "Anabel" sign. )

Secondly, the staff at reception are very friendly and helpful and the cleaning staff do their job really well - the rooms were impeccably clean.

Thirdly, there's free coffee and tea all day long, which you can take into your room (the rooms are on the same floor as reception so it feels like bringing a cup of coffee from your kitchen.)

The hotel is quite small - it's situated on 2nd floor of a house and feels quite homely. Our room wasn't very big and had pretty basic furniture - the bed was very comfortable and there were enough shelves but we could have done with another bedside table. The shower was the best part - spacious and very modern. There's a TV which we didn't watch and free Wi-Fi which we used a lot.

The only thing we didn't particularly care for was breakfast. We had chosen to have breakfast included as we prefer to have something to eat first thing in the morning and then get ready to go, but we found both the selection and the taste very poor: one type of cheese, one type of salami, one type of cornflakes, two types of cellophane-packed pastry... and all these either bland or too salty. Having tried the above, we mostly had toast with jam afterwards.

Thankfully, the coffee is very good quality. Overall, if you prefer a hearty breakfast, it's better to have it in one of the many cafes that are sprinkled all over Nevski and nearby streets. It's a pity about poor breakfast because the dining room is actually quite cosy.

The central heating makes the rooms quite hot and dry in the winter but this has nothing to do with the hotel, it's true of most building in Russia. We just left the window slightly ajar at night and were happy that it was a quiet courtyard.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and, apart from breakfast, would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tatiana_1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natacontour, General Manager at Nevsky Contour Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your pesponse and for all the nice things you said about our hotel! We always do our best to make our guests happy, and we are pleased to inform you that our 2012 breakfast menu is extended by hot pancackes and sausages with different dressings, to say nothing of the rest of the menu which is sufficiently more varied than what you tried. Come again and enjoy our buffet breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    194
    38
    10
    1
See reviews for
111
177
56
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

This hotel has pros and cons:
Pros: location, security, staff, cleanliness, free tasty coffee and tea all day, even for your guests, free secure albeit limited parking (they have 3 spots). Breakfast was included even though my reservation paper said it was $300 rubles extra. They also provide mandatory government registration.
Cons: wi-fi did not work (we tried two laptops), manager scolded the staff in front of guests (unacceptable in my book). I suggest taking lotion and extra shampoo and conditioner with you, but leaving a heavy laptop at home. There is a 24/7 internet-café around the corner, and 24/7 Elki-Palki café around another corner.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryanaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

This place is just off Nevsky Prospekt, the main drag, near Gostiny Dvorr Metro station. The Hermitage, the Russian museum and the Summer Gardens are all walkable from here (if you fancy a long walk) or a short metro ride.

Despite the address being on a main road, as the hotel is in a building accessed through a courtyard, it is very quiet. The hotel is on one floor (the third?), sharing the building with Hotel Anabel. There is a tiny lift, big enough for 1 person plus bags, or two people who like one another very much, or you can use the stairs. The staff were lovely. Breakfast was adequate - porridge, yoghurt, toast with a choice of spreads, a good selection of teas and fresh-ground coffee. There is no tea and coffee making facility in the room, but the 24 hour staff are always willing to make you one in the reception/ area. They also let us store our bags in their storeroom until 10pm the day after we checked out, as our train was not until 11pm.

I would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heliumion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights in August.
Very efficient and friendly staff, especially Nina.
Clean room and comfortable bed, very sufficient for a short stay.
Breakfast on a basic side but again, sufficient.
Great location, very close to metro station.

2 tips:
TRY "BLINY U NATASZY", great local restaurant with prices for the local not tourists; can't remember the address, we found in in a DK Guide under Restaurants section.

For PETERHOF - instead of getting a hydrofoil and getting ripped off twice - for the boat itself and then an entry ticket to the Peterhof gardens that you must buy when you get off, get a metro then a local mini bus. Much cheaper and about 45 - 60 min in total.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hester37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Finding this hotel was very difficult. There was no sign for it on Nevsky Prospect and once inside its courtyard, no sign on the correct door. If we had understood how the Russian house numbering system works, it would have been easier. Thankfully, friendly Russians assisted.
Once in the hotel, we found it a wonderful place to stay. The staff were helpful and spoke English, the room was a good size, clean and comfortable, breakfasts were generous and the unlimited amount of fresh teas and coffees from the bar was thankfully received.
Being based on Nevsky Prospect is really a fantastic place for a holiday in St Petersberg. As much fun as the underground, buses and trams were, being able to walk up the the Winter Palace in little time was amazing.
It is advised to not drink local water in St Petersberg. There were little supermarkets near the hotel where bottled water could be cheaply bought.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

My partner and I together with my brother were staying at this hotel from 23/7-26/7 for 3 nights. The accommodation in St Petersburg or Moscow are generally expensive.. This hotel is located in a small courtyard at Nevsky Prospect..Great location with affordable price in comparison with the 4 stars Nevsky Central Hotel at the opposite of the road. The room is cozy but clean and modern with all basic facilities. Even the toilet facilities are very well maintained .It's quite hot in summer and no air conditioned in the room but this happens in anywhere in St Petersburg in summer..As long as your bed is close to the window, you still get the cool breeze at night. Also, additional benefit is you get free wifi in the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pysilvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

This hotel is absolutely great! Great location, very central and still very quite. I absolutely loved it. The stuff was really wonderful. All the girls working there were very very willing to help and answer all sort of questions we had.

Free wi-fi, coffee and tea all day long! Very clean. It felt like home contrary to many "impersonal" hotels around. Good value as well. It offers all sot of facilities one wants at a great price.

The only disadvantage is that there is no air conditioning in the rooms, but we didn't mind. We opened the window and we had a great sleep.

We loved Saint Petersburg and we are planning to go back soon. We will definitely choose Nevsky Contour again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Konstantiniye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Akyan Saint Petersburg
Akyan Saint Petersburg
#12 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Admiralteisky
3MostA Boutique Hotel
3MostA Boutique Hotel
#13 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Nevskiy
M-Hotel
M-Hotel
#16 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#11 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#6 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Vladimir
Ligotel
Ligotel
#21 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nevsky Contour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nevsky Contour Hotel

Property: Nevsky Contour Hotel
Address: Nevskiy Ave., 88 - 72, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nevsky Contour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet courtyard on the elegant Nevsky Prospekt, this hotel offers affordable accommodations and friendly staff in the heart of town. Wi-Fi and guarded parking are free. Nevsky Contour Hotel offers Standard and Comfort Rooms for accommodation. Cozy Standard Rooms of Nevsky Contour Hotel provide guests with a flat screen TV and DVD player. Guests can benefit from the heated floor of the bathrooms. New designer Comfort Rooms are extra soundproof, all rooms have their own theme and equipped with 3D SMART TV (42 inch), ceiling fan and air-conditioner. The area around the property is bustling with a variety of cafes and restaurants, while free tea and coffee are available in-house throughout the day. There are also handy faxing, copying and scanning facilities. Nevsky Contour Hotel is a 3-minute walk from the Mayakovskaya metro station and 10 minutes from Moskovskiy train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Nevsky Contour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing