We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very operative”
Review of Columb Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Columb Hotel
Ranked #287 of 345 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very operative”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I organized a trip for my parents. I chose this B&B based on trip advisor recommendations. And now as a thanks to this B&B and its staff (as well as to many of the trip advisor recommenders), I would like to post here my appraisal for the way this hotel staff coordinated everything (from pick-up to registration and other services). The admins were quite operative responding to all of my inquiries concerning the prices, the service, any detail you can imagine of (yeah I was quite scrupulous :) My parents were pleased with the big tidy room and clean bathroom, nice service, good food in the mornings. The location is also a great one. Once again I express my thanks for being so operative.

Room Tip: Because it is April, it is cold so once you keep windows closed, it is pretty calm and silent. As fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofia M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

A bit noisy due to location but walking distance from the sights. Had to relinquish passports temporarily which we didn't know but got them back within a half hour. A little diffict to find, have to go through A gate into the back to find the entrance but there is a sign in Russian on the street. Ladies at the desk were friendly and spoke fair English, which, turns out, is harder to find than you might think. Room was clean, they call you to bring you breakfast at whatever time you like. For the price, this was a good choice for us- a little noisy for sleeping.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Junketgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed five nights. Exceptionally clean, friendly staff, fair breakfasts. The location was excellent with several restaurants on the same side of the block. I thought the food in the Azerbaijan place a few doors to the left was excellent and the lamb kabobs were cooked on a charcoal grill. The Chinese place next door was a bit iffy but fun. We really thought the place was great and will return on our next visit. If you really want to experience Petersburg, this is a good location. The noise could be a problem on the street side but after the 2nd night we didn't hear it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigsky2313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

a modest hotel , clean and neat. rooms are large and clean. lobby actually doesn't exist and the dinning room is very small.
we were 3 people (adult +2 children) we got one room - was more then o.k. regarding space, cleaning and features like a/c, tv etc.
if you are looking for a room in a decent price and in a very good location it is very recommended, if you want to stay in the hotel and lay down in the lobby so this is not the one for you.
the service is very good , the girls in the reception were very nice and emphatic, English is no problem, the girls there know to speak English pretty good.
breakfast was good and very domestic - i liked that
as i said very good value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuval W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Location good, walking distance to major attractions, room was spacious, new bathroom. We were in rear (room facing courtyard) so was quiet, no street noise. Basic but nice breakfast, yes , you did have to name your time that you would be going to breakfast, but no issues to us. And the 1913 restaurant was worth a visit, such a surprise, great night had.Nice little bar across the road (something INN)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neale22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

When we started looking around for hotels in St.Petersburg, we realised the price you have to pay for comfort and location. I highly recommend this hotel entirely for location . 15 min stroll to the nearest tourist attraction. Hence you save on transport and have more time to enjoy this stunning city. This is a mini hotel with just 6 rooms and appears to be located amongst a residential area. The staff do speak English which is helpful in Russia. Be aware the breakfast is basic. Also, the recommended restaurants eg 1913 is just around the corner amongst many others and it's also surrounded by 24 hr convenience stores which can be very handy when you arrive late in the day. We took the metro to catch our train to Moscow which was just a 10 min stroll! Once again, perfect location for the price.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shamistra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

After reading most of the recommendations' we decided to book this hotel. The location was good for our purposes, but what a disappointment!
the hotel is located on the first floor of a building. terrible noise! if you have sleeping problem, it will ruin your stay!!(there are 0nly 2 rooms on the other side, but they were full)
the breakfast is really embarrasing! every night they ask you: what time do you want your meal? this is because there are 6 rooms in this hotel, and one receptionist also prepares your breakfast... its really insulting and embarrasing! I want to eat whenever I want! of course in the hours the hotel lets you eat, and not only this, they phone you about 10 minutes before to remind you!! Haloo!! we did not ask for wake up meal call! we are not children!
the breakfast itself is very poor. since we dont eat any meat or any milkware or cooked food they gave, practically we had almost nothig to eat , only bread and butter! and we had to ask every time to have some more bread. Lucky for us, there are many small supermarkets near, so we could buy vegetables. and of course, if they phone you 10 minutes before, when you are on time, the coffee is already cold, and its not very pleasant to ask again and again!
only 2 of 4 receptionists we met spoke english,and were very polite. one did not understand us at all. again, this is a hotel (or so they call themselves ), you must have people who speaks a foreign language!
well for the good things!: the location is very good, within 20-30 minutes walking you can get to: kazan cathedral. st. izak cathedral, the marinsky theatre, to nevsky prospect (the main street) and more.
the metro is not very close, and anyhow the metro here is not as comfortable as in moscow. you have many supermarkets nearby.
the room was big and clean.
no minibar, not any writing facilities.
free WIFI, but when we stayed, 3 out of 6 days it did not work, and we needed it.
I must mention, that I asked every night for hot and cold water and they gave it without any problem.
but again, I will nor recommend this hotel, there are many in this area and almost on the same budget.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liebe54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Liki Loft Hotel
#178 of 345 in St. Petersburg
11 reviews
Station Hotel Premier S10
#177 of 345 in St. Petersburg
11 reviews
Admiralteisky
Station Hotel A1
Station Hotel A1
#68 of 345 in St. Petersburg
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 1913
#80 of 345 in St. Petersburg
117 reviews
Asteria Hotel
#106 of 345 in St. Petersburg
212 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Bridge Inn
Bridge Inn
#236 of 345 in St. Petersburg
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columb Hotel

Property: Columb Hotel
Address: Kazanskaya St., 41, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #287 of 345 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Columb Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our comfortable and spacious (25 sq.m.; 270 sq.ft) guest rooms are elegantly furnished in modern style and well-maintained. All rooms are equipped with TV, telephone, air-conditioning, Internet (WI-FI) free of charge, full-bath and hair-dryer. They can accommodate up to 3 guests. There are smoke detectors, sprinklers and fire alarms in all rooms and in public areas. Rooms for non-smokers are available. English speaking reception service is available 24-hours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Columb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing