We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Happy Pushkin Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22(St. Petersburg)
$455
$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Petro Palace Hotel(St. Petersburg)
$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Astoria Hotel(St. Petersburg)
$564
$425
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Helvetia Deluxe Hotel(St. Petersburg)
$220
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$177
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$473
$417
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Domina St.Petersburg(St. Petersburg)
$244
$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$546
$535
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$355
$267
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveler rating
124
74
28
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
74
28
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot watershort walkfront desk staffroom servicecorridorneva
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 239 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2012

After booking and paying up front (about a month in advance) for 8 nights in this hotel in a standard double room, we arrived to find that we had been assigned to a standard double room on the unfinished fourth floor. This meant that we had to take an elevator to the third floor and then walk up from the elevator (or down to the elevator) a creepy, crumbling flight of steps and down a long, dark corridor to finally reach our room. There is no question that this room should have been discounted. It was not what they promised us. But since we booked through an agency, they refused to refund the difference. There are no city views. The room was kind of "forgotten" - three times we had to remind them to clean it as we returned and it was just like we left it. It is as if it was not part of the main hotel.
On the Happy side, the room itself was very comfortable, breakfast was just fine (when there was room in the dining room), the staff was courteous for the most part.

Room Tip: Do not book through an agency. Try and book directly through the hotel. Otherwise you may be put on the forbidden fourth floor and pay regular price!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irina K, Manager at Happy Pushkin Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear Shelly,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback about your stay with us. I want to apologize for the inconvenience you went through at our hotel. It is good to hear that you have enjoyed your room , breakfast and staff. However, we appreciate both positive and negative comments, since they provide us the guidelines for improvements for our service. We have briefed the housekeeping department as we do take all your comments seriously and we will take the necessary steps immediately. And let me say about the fourth floor, we are very sorry that you saw our stairs without carpet. It has now been repaired and we again apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Hope you enjoyed both your trip and one of the most beautiful cities in the world.

Sincerely yours,
Irina Korotkova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

After I had had enough of the terrible Oktiabrskaya I booked one week at the Happy Pushkin at a really good rate through booking.com. It cost less than the Oktiabrskaya, so despite the good reviews on tripadvisor I did not have great expectations.
But I was wrong! I had a lovely room with a big bed and flat screen telly, a mini bar, and a nice breakfast included (see my photos). The staff were very friendly.
The only negative points I could find were that the location is somewhat off Nevsky, where I had classes every day. It took me 40 minutes to walk to school every morning. And there is no nearby metro station unfortunately. Also, there was the smell of cigarette smoke coming through the air ventilation in the bathroom, but that was only during the first night when, I assume, a smoker must have been in a nearby room.
Finally, although they have free Wifi it doesn't really work in the room. The connection is not strong enough.
Nevertheless, I can only recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isem_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Although it did not start of very well - they lost my reservation-, they overly compensated me for this; I booked a single room and I got an enormous suite (probably around 100m2) with big comfortable bathroom. The hotel is clean and colourfull with a lot of Dali inspired paintings in the rooms and hallways. Staff is alsovery helpfull.
One thing I should mention, internet did not work in the room itself

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bvdbilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

There are problems with this place, but I suspect a return visit in a year or two will be well rewarded. The location is excellent, midway between the Hermitage and the Mariinsky Theatre, both of which were locations I wanted to visit, but you should be aware of a few negatives that prevail for at least the time being.

The first is that it is, essentially, unfinished. There is building work going on during the week (and this is a concern if, like me, you do your sightseeing with an afternoon nap). The walls are too thin, and I found myself listening to people stomping up and down the corridor at all hours. This is a silly oversight that would have been easy to get right. Some service things will need to change, too. There isn't very much english spoken, there is no internet, even to pay for, maid service was not done despite being out virtually all day, and the young staff are still learning about what information they need to have to hand to support their guests.

What is finished is fairly good: some fabulously sumptuous furnishings, intriguing paintings of Pushkin; nice baroque room decor (though the space age bathrooms with empire style light fittings are a weird decision), and excellent large beds. The breakfast is super, and the surly devushka who is in charge smiles beautifically if you treat her well and tell her how good her omlettes are (she will make you one fresh, and it is worth it. She also does excellent coffee). They could do without the endless drone of a video playing all the highlights of obscure museums and churches in the city, but this is Russia and no public room is finished without a distracting television somewhere.

I really do think this can be worth the risk: the staff will get better and the building will be finished, and then a more serious critical appraisal can be made. But in the meantime, if you have a bit of Russian and like the location, go on, and let us know what you think.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank groggery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Если нужен вид на реку, бронируйте заранее, номеров всего два такиих
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews