We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, a bit odd”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Sonya Hotel
Ranked #58 of 355 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not bad, a bit odd”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed there once for 2 night and expected to see the usual standards of Radisson, while this property is quite "special". The hotel is decorated very colourful, all public areas and rooms. If you like this it must be great but I personally didn't like my little (16m2) very dark Standard room (with huge pics on the walls). The hotel is located in the city centre, in front of former KGB headquarters. It's like 20 minutes by foot to the major attractions and 15 min to the nearest subway station.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cestovatel_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    283
    117
    38
    14
See reviews for
80
202
50
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

good hotel, nice and clean room and bathroom, although i got one on the last floor, and i have to say you could here the noise from the street at night...
they messed with my reservation, and i had to resend the confirmation, but finally everything went fine.
you get complimentary water bottle and cofee / tea making in the room

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieRomana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonSonyaHotel, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Sonya Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear MarieRomana,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and your review! We hope next time you visit us we will do our best to choose more convenient room for you. We are also sorry for your reservation problems and will make it more carefully next time you visit us.

Thank you for staying with us!

Best regards,
Radisson Sonya Hotel, St. Petersburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Somehow the idea of a decorating scheme based on Dostoyevsky's novels is strange. You start off thinking "ax murderer". That aside, the rooms are nothing to write home about. Ceilings are bare concrete and add some Soviet realism, beds and furniture are dormitory quality. My colleague got flooded out of her room due to a shower overflow above. Bathrooms are cramped and poorly designed. Breakfast buffet is dorm quality, too. The location is OK for the Neva, Battle Aurora, and Finland Station. Would not go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonSonyaHotel, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Sonya Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Bill W,

Thank you for your review. We very appreciate your comments.

The design concept of hotel was created to share the genuine atmosphere of St.Petersburg associated with F. M. Dostoevsky and his novel. The interiors were designed by Swedish architectures who reflected their vision of Russian culture in a modern way.
We apologize that design of hotel didn’t justified your expectations.

All beds set in rooms are in accordance with the standards of Carlson Rezidor Hotel Group and we would be glad to make everything possible for your convenience if you would provid our reception with this comment. Hotel is opened in 2009 and all the furniture set in hotel was newly purchased. Our Buffet breakfast offers a wide choice of dishes for everyone’s taste as per worldwide Carlson Rezidor Group standards and we permanently verify the quality of food offered to our guests, however we respect your opinion.

We would thank you for your review that helps us to improve our service.


With best regards,
Radisson Sonya Hotel, St. Petersburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel is nicely located in a relatively quiet area, not far from the city's main attractions. It is a short walk to the Neva embankment, and from there it is easy to follow the main street to the main sights such as the Hermitage. It is a nice hotel, although a bit overprized for what you get. Staff is very helpful, special commentation for Olga at the reception and also the other Olga (yes, same name, different person) who is (i think) in charge of the front desk. Both very helpful and ready to assist with a smile. Some other staff at the front desk should be taught a bit more about smiling and being willing to "bend" some of the "rules/regulations" of the hotel so as to offer 100% satisfaction to the customers (as this is the hotel's motto). For example, they told me it was impossible to connect my laptop on their printer so as to print an important document, even though I explained that I could not sent it to their email due to a technical problem. (they said "this is the rule"!) All in all, a satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACKCYPRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonSonyaHotel, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Sonya Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Akcyprus,

We would like to thank you for your feedback and especially for compliments to our staff! We apologize for inconvenience caused by connection of your laptop with hotel`s printer due to security regulations. We are sorry for this misunderstanding and we are always happy to assist to guests` requests.

Hope to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Radisson Sonya Hotel, St. Petersburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed one night july 2012 with my spouse in Radisson Sonya. Location good if you come from Finlands train station. 15 minutes walk, cross the bridge and you are almost there. Nevski Prospekt the main shopping street is within walking distance but easier to take a trolley bus. One ticket costs 23 roubles/person and could be purchased from the ticket person inside the bus.
Check-in is at 3 p.m. not 2 p.m. although your travelagent says so. Reception personnel are young and speak more or less english.Reception area is small. You also have to prepare to idea that service mentality is not same in Russia than in other parts of Europe . Still a long way to go. I would call it "service by request" not volunteer. When this thought is adopted then you will not loose your temper for nothing.
Standard room was very clean, 2 bottles of water complimentary as well kettle+ tea/coffee which was nice. Beds were good, we slept like babies.Extra pillow available. If you need to buy e.g. extra water there is a minimarket opposite the hotel. Nearest metro station is less than 10 minutes walk and nowadays metrosigns are also in English so usage is quite simple, just buy coins from cashier at the metro station and you are ready to go.Hotel is quite far from e.g. Hermitage or Russian museum but if you like walking or using metro then it is doable.
We had breakfast included.Variety of breakfast is excellent. Saturday /sunday till 11 a.m. Negative things was related to lack food and slowness of service. Tables were not cleaned ,continuesly asked for tableware and many foods had to be asked to refill. Cups were finished all the time. Overall a lot of room for improvement in that sector.
Would I go back? Why not if travel by train...then location counts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erkki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonSonyaHotel, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Sonya Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Erkki2,

Thank you for detailed review and positive comments!

We are sorry that service at breakfast didn’t meet your expectations and would like to assure you that your remarks regarding that case will help to improve our service. Your feedback has a great importance in the process of increasing of service level which we are constantly improving by different personnel trainings.
We hope that next time you will have a pleasant stay and the main reason for staying with us won’t be only the location.

With warmest regards,
Radisson Sonya Hotel, St. Petersburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hotel location is good enough, in a 15 - 20 min. walking distance to Nevsky avenue, main street of the city as well as if you want to get in a shorter ways to the Winter palace. The room we have got overlooked the inner atrium with a restaurant located downstairs. The room was clean, quiet, but dark and small. We have spent both days of the weekend in a city and it was not a problem, however if you plan to spend some time in your room during daytime better avoid rooms overlooking atrium as they almost do not get direct sunlight especially on lower floors. Overall location and the quality of this hotel brand good be a good option for short holidays.

Room Tip: If you want to get some sun during daytime, better avoid rooms overlooking the inner atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LP_CHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonSonyaHotel, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Sonya Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear LPCHE,

Thank you for your positive comments and recommendations! We appreciate you liked our service!

And a few words about rooms. Our hotel offers rooms of different size from, 16 to 60 m2, and we would be glad to choose room more convenient for you during your next trip to St.Petersburg.

With warmest regards,

Radisson Sonya Hotel, St. Petersburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel was okay - the rooms are small, the shower leaked, and the chain lock was attached to a very weak piece of wood that came out when you opened the door! My door lock also stopped working when the batteries died, which took 30 minutes to fix.

Try to get a room on the street side, not courtyard. The courtyard rooms are depressing, and can be loud, as the hotel rents out the courtyard for parties which can run pretty late into the night.

The breakfasts were included and offered ample food and many choices. The staff was friendly enough, and the location was okay. But for the price we paid ($275/night), I'd expect a bit more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonSonyaHotel, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Sonya Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear JPut!

Thank you for your feedback and positive comments refer to our staff and location! We sincerely apologize for inconveniences with the shower and door lock. We can assure you these cases are unusual and not kind of everyday practice and our staff is always happy to assist for comfortable staying of our guests. We would kindly thank you for your review that will help to avoid that kind of cases in future.

Thank you for staying with us!

Kind regards,
Radisson Sonya Hotel, St. Petersburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 355 in St. Petersburg
741 reviews
Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersb...
#68 of 355 in St. Petersburg
51 reviews
Admiralteisky
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Renaissance St. Petersburg Balti...
#37 of 355 in St. Petersburg
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Inn by Radisson Nevsky St. ...
#65 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,031 reviews
Demetra Art Hotel
#55 of 355 in St. Petersburg
343 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#12 of 355 in St. Petersburg
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Sonya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Sonya Hotel

Property: Radisson Sonya Hotel
Address: Liteiny Ave., 5/19, St. Petersburg 191187, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Liteyny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 355 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Sonya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Rezidor, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Sonya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing