We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice alternative to the tourist hotels around the Hermitage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Austrian Yard -Hotel
Ranked #167 of 358 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Well-equipped, clean and spacious rooms in a pleasant residential area. The rooms are laid out like a small studio apartment. Comfortable furniture and bed and free WiFi. The location is perfect for those who don't want to be in the central tourist area near the Hermitage. Two blocks from Metro, which is easy to use, several nice cafes with English menus, some attractions and shopping in walking distance. Hotel staff doesn't have much English, but very helpful. I arrived with a bad cold and was stayed in the room for much of the day; the receptionist, Svetlana, was kindness itself. She gave me cold medicine and made sure I wasn't disturbed. I felt the service was as caring and gracious as a four star hotel. Highly recommend to those who want a different experience than a typical tourist hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parsley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 99 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

Extremely clean and quiet hotel, very friendly and supporting staff, everybody willing to provide useful info or solve any kind of problem.
+ near the metro station and walking distance from most of the sights

- no elevator, breakfast low on choices

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kostas_Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and it was lovely. It's really close to the metro station and in 15 minutes you will be at the Hermitage. There is several places nearby when you can eat your dinner.

Regarding the room, we booked a triple room and it was basically two rooms with two of everything but they are connected by a door. This was very convenient.

The breakfast was a lunch box that included meats, bread, cereal, cheese and fruit. They have a coffee machine in the lobby so you can drink great coffee every time you want.

Elena who attended the reception while we were there was great. She was very nice, she helped us with the visa invitation and answer all our questions with great attitude.

The only downside is that they lack AC, for us it was no problem because it was cold but I immagine it could be a problem during the summer

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rua17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed for four nights and had a great time. The bedrooms are modern, quite spacious and spotlessly clean and same applies to the shower rooms. The staff were amazingly helpful. Helena & Olga run reception with plenty of smiles and useful advice and the owner, Igor, went out of his way to help us when we had a minor problem. In fact, he even loaded us into his car to brave the St Petersburg traffic to get things sorted - way above the call of duty and much appreciated.
Breakfast is provided to eat in your room - quite handy actually because they provide enough for a light breakfast and a lunch snack. Plenty of ethnic retaurants are nearby
Two minor downsides. Lack of aircon may be tricky in the height of summer and they claim they are just a 20 minute stroll from The Hermitage - maybe possible if you're an Olympic athelete. 35 minutes is more realistic.
Overall a good place to stay and thanks again to the lovely people for helping to make our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank Internationalnosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Austrian Yard 2 offers peace and quiet in a secluded courtyard. The location is in an attractive residential area midway between Palace Square and the Smolny convent. The hotel offers spacious, attractive rooms with comfortable beds and well-designed bathrooms. The hotel's small size allows good access to a helpful, well-trained staff. On-site manager Elena Panicheva's subtle sense of humor is a bonus.

The Chernyshevskaya metro station is a few minutes walk away. The Saint Petersburg metro system is now well marked with Latin alphabet transliterations and is easy to navigate.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texastourist_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We chose this hotel for our St. Petersburg stay because of the many favorable reviews on Trip Advisor. For the most part, we were not disappointed. The hotel is situated in a quiet street outside the city center. Actually it's inside a residential courtyard, which gives the additional feeling of safety. The metro is only a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. It's a bit difficult for a non-Russian speaker to maneuver the metro system but it was feasible. We also took taxis to the city center, which cost about $10 each way.
Through our hotel we arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the airport. We later found out that we paid twice what we would have paid had we just hailed a taxi by ourselves. This seems unnecessarily pricey and the hotel should really reconsider its policy.
The staff was very polite and helpful throughout our 7 day stay. We especially felt that Ludmilla went out of her way to assist us and we'd like to publicly thank her.
Our room was small, but cozy and clean. We were given a good, modern bathroom with an excellent shower. The room was cleaned and we were given fresh towels and sheets daily.
We have two complaints. The first is that breakfast is served in the room. This would have been acceptable had the furnishings allowed for us to eat together. However, there was only one chair in the room and a small desk, which could not comfortably be used for our breakfast. The food itself was not to our taste and we ate breakfast in a local café most mornings. Second, we visited in the heat of the summer and this July was particularly hot in St. Petersburg. There was no air conditioning, and we had to especially request a fan.
All in all, our hotel stay was good and we recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoritandDimitri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We recently stayed at the Austrian Yard 2 during a weekend trip to St. Petersburg. While the location was excellent (with two outstanding restaurants just down the street) the hotel was anything but excellent.

While the check-in process was good as was our initial impression of the room the overall experience only declined. This particular weekend in St. Petersburg was quite hot and the rooms (or at least ours, number 12) are not air conditioned, which is not normally a problem for us. Typically we would just open the windows and let the air circulate; however, one of the windows did not have a screen and thus opening this window would have allowed in even more mosquitoes than were already in the room. Accordingly, our first night was VERY hot and we still ended up with a few bug bites.

On the second night things cooled down but the room got only slightly cooler despite us opening both windows (even knowing what that would bring) but we felt we had no choice. That was a huge mistake as we ended up with even more bug bites some of which no longer seemed like mosquito bites but rather bed bug bites (smal little red bumps). This was less than ideal.

The third night was no better as the heat returned and we did not dare open the second window. However, this did not prevent more bug bites (both mosquito and bed bug).

All in all three bad nights.

Normally an experience like this would result in a "terrible"; however, the location was excellent and the service was good partially offsetting the other problems.

At the end of the day I cannot say I would recommend this place as a result of our poor experience. I would have this up with the hotel at the time of check out but the girl working the desk did not have a good enough knowledge of English to understand out problem.

Happy to answer any further questions.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scalba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Galakt Hotel
#148 of 358 in St. Petersburg
84 reviews
Hotel Nouvelle Europe
#158 of 358 in St. Petersburg
64 reviews
Nevskiy
Roses Hotel
Roses Hotel
#71 of 358 in St. Petersburg
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ReMarka Hotel on Stolyarny
#115 of 358 in St. Petersburg
137 reviews
Nevskiy
Club Hotel Agni
Club Hotel Agni
#94 of 358 in St. Petersburg
213 reviews
Austrian Yard - Apartments
#104 of 973 in St. Petersburg
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austrian Yard -Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austrian Yard -Hotel

Address: Furshtatskaya St., 16, St. Petersburg 191028, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 358 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $24 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Austrian Yard -Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The «Austrian Yard -Hotel» offers you comfortable accomodation in the historical center of St.Petersburg.The hotel’s interior was completely rebuilt in 2009. This is a new hotel, offering spacious rooms in a relaxing, contemporary style. The hotel comprises a three story building, situated in light, airy courtyard, comfortably protected from routine street noise. All the windows face the courtyard.The hotel has a beautiful inner-yard(patio) with flowers all around, furnished with wooden benches and tables. A special glazed roof shelters the tables and protects guests from the weather. There is also a barbecue pit in the inner yard, where guests can cook or entertain friends or clients. We have a coffee machine in the reception hall, and coffee is free of charge. A stroll around the neighborhood will take you past the beautiful facades of this historic street and to important architectural monuments from the 18th and 19th centuries. Tavrichesky Palace, Smolny Cathedral, and the Peter and Paul Fortress, Nevsky avenue are all minutes away.The Austrian Yard- Hotel is situated in the heart of St. Petersburg’s prestigious "diplomatic quarter,” surrounded by consulates of the USA, Spain, Germany, and Finland.Regardless of which room you choose, you'll have a TV, a fridge, a phone, an electric kettle, crockery, and tea and coffee. A microwave can be provided at your request. In the bathrooms there are shower cabins, heated floors, slippers and bathrobes. There is free internet access in each room. In addition, the hotel offers non-smoking rooms and a room equipped for those who are left-handed. Our guests may use the parking area directly outside the hotel, located inside the courtyard.Be certain that if you decide to stay with us, you will find a hospitable and friendly staff, beautiful interior design, comfort, and safety. Our staff is on duty around the clock. We are looking forward to seeing you at the "Austrian Yard - Hotel." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Austrian Yard -Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing