We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
St Petersburg plus Palaces

Wow. What a well worthwhile day. First up my thoughts were on cost, approx $600 each AUD but... read more

Reviewed December 3, 2019
cambell2127
,
Sydney, Australia
via mobile
Private Small Group Family Tour

We, chose Red October Tour Group as a result of a Trip Advisor search for tours of St. Petersburg... read more

Reviewed August 28, 2019
Terry S
Read all 201 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around St. Petersburg
from $250.00
More Info
from $326.22
More Info
from $315.00
More Info
from $35.00
More Info
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveler rating
179
8
3
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
179
8
3
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mike finn cruise ship day tour passenger bus small group small tour major attractions gold room spoke very good english summer palace wonderful tour agonda itinerary peterhof driver st petersburg
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 201 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2015

Our family recently did a Baltic Cruise and we decided to book a tour in St. Petersburg through Red October based on the recommendation of our friends who used them years ago to tour the city. We are so glad we did as it was the highlight of our cruise experience. Alona, our tour guide, and Gena, our driver, were courteous, full of knowledge, and fun to travel around the city with in the car. We really appreciated how Alona adapted our tour for our two boys and actively engaged them. She was also great about showing us so much of the city without pushing us too hard when we needed more time at a particular location. Red October was very professional to deal with throughout the planning of the trip and in conducting the trip. We followed the plans as needed and Alona was great about meeting our individual exceptions (like going to the Pavel Bure hockey store :)).

Date of experience: September 2015
3  Thank biomclaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2015

We met Marina very early in the morning on our cruise with Celebrity on the first day in St. Petersburg. She was accompanied by our driver, Vladimir, and off we went. We visited several historic sites and viewed a great deal of the city as we transited to the Hermitage. She had arranged the tickets in advance and ushered us in ahead of a very long queue at the entrance. Her knowledge of the building, traffic patterns in the museum, and the collection were awesome. She maneuvered us carefully through the museum and I felt that we used our time to the best possible usage.
We then took the high speed ferry to Peterhof, as traffic is a nightmare in town. The driver followed us and was there when we left Peterhof. A truly stunning palace with truly impressive fountains and gardens. Well worth the visit.
We drove back to town with continuous narration from Marina as we looked at old, Soviet era, and new St. Petersburg.
A terrific day and at that point in the cruise a second day would have been too much for these weary travelers. Excellent and highly recommended.

Date of experience: August 2015
2  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2015

Our guide Katrina was wonderful. Very knowledgeable. Got us in before the crowds to most of the attractions. Explained things, answered questioned. Let us wander with her thru the parks and shops. A full two days but worth every minute. Such a memory!!!!
Buy the stacking dolls. The lacquer boxes are nothing to speak of. Amber is pretty but expensive. The linens are nice and reasonable. I would do this tour again!!!

Date of experience: August 2015
2  Thank Stoneboxers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2015 via mobile

Spent 2 days seeing St Petersburg. Our guide was knowledgable, pleasant and willing to answer countless questions for 1st time visitors. Only complaint is sights were so crowded and did not have time to enjoy experience.

Date of experience: August 2015
3  Thank Texanwholuvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2015

We were on a Regent Seven Seas Cruise of the Baltic & were spending 3 days in St Petersburg which was on my bucket list. The cruise info had indicated if you do not use their land excursions, you would need a visa. This is incorrect. If you are with a licensed Russian Tour Company, you do not need a visa. We learned about Red October & booked through the US web site. That was an interesting experience & I even called Mike to make sure I understood our options. The only mis information was I did not need to pay cash US to get the current exchange rate. The booking process & to understand the tour options was the only cumbersome part of the process.
We got our tour vouchers from the US agents & as we got off the ship we went through customs which was a little long of a process but once through it, we meet up with Dimitri our guide & his driver. They were with us for the next 3 days.
Our first day was a Sunday & we had to navigate around a large marathon running through downtown. We got into the Hermitage Museum. What a treat to have Dimitri navigate through the museum. He not only explained the significance of the art but had you stand at just the right spot to fully appreciate. We also saw the Savior of the Spilled Blood Cathedral & other sites in the city including the summer garden of Peter the Great.
Our second day was a trip to Catherine's Palace & Gardens again we just followed Dimitri as he guided through continuing to explain & show us where to stand. We went back to the city & visited the Peter and Paul Fortress & Cathedral. There Dimitri help me avoid being pick pocketed.
Our 3rd day was a trip to Peterhof - the grand palace & gardens. We did take the hydrofoil back to the city (well worth the little bit of costs). There we visited St Issac's Cathedral.
We would recommend Dimitri as a wonderful guide but he knows what he is doing & you must let him lead you. Be prepared for some delightful surprises.

Date of experience: July 2015
2  Thank ewhite1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews