We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
St Petersburg plus Palaces

Wow. What a well worthwhile day. First up my thoughts were on cost, approx $600 each AUD but... read more

Reviewed December 3, 2019
cambell2127
,
Sydney, Australia
via mobile
Private Small Group Family Tour

We, chose Red October Tour Group as a result of a Trip Advisor search for tours of St. Petersburg... read more

Reviewed August 28, 2019
Terry S
Read all 201 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around St. Petersburg
from $250.00
More Info
from $326.22
More Info
from $315.00
More Info
from $35.00
More Info
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveler rating
179
8
3
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
179
8
3
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mike finn cruise ship day tour passenger bus small group small tour major attractions gold room spoke very good english summer palace wonderful tour agonda itinerary peterhof driver st petersburg
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 201 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2015

We met Marina very early in the morning on our cruise with Celebrity on the first day in St. Petersburg. She was accompanied by our driver, Vladimir, and off we went. We visited several historic sites and viewed a great deal of the city as we transited to the Hermitage. She had arranged the tickets in advance and ushered us in ahead of a very long queue at the entrance. Her knowledge of the building, traffic patterns in the museum, and the collection were awesome. She maneuvered us carefully through the museum and I felt that we used our time to the best possible usage.
We then took the high speed ferry to Peterhof, as traffic is a nightmare in town. The driver followed us and was there when we left Peterhof. A truly stunning palace with truly impressive fountains and gardens. Well worth the visit.
We drove back to town with continuous narration from Marina as we looked at old, Soviet era, and new St. Petersburg.
A terrific day and at that point in the cruise a second day would have been too much for these weary travelers. Excellent and highly recommended.

Date of experience: August 2015
2  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2015

Our guide Katrina was wonderful. Very knowledgeable. Got us in before the crowds to most of the attractions. Explained things, answered questioned. Let us wander with her thru the parks and shops. A full two days but worth every minute. Such a memory!!!!
Buy the stacking dolls. The lacquer boxes are nothing to speak of. Amber is pretty but expensive. The linens are nice and reasonable. I would do this tour again!!!

Date of experience: August 2015
2  Thank Stoneboxers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2015 via mobile

Spent 2 days seeing St Petersburg. Our guide was knowledgable, pleasant and willing to answer countless questions for 1st time visitors. Only complaint is sights were so crowded and did not have time to enjoy experience.

Date of experience: August 2015
3  Thank Texanwholuvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2015

We were on a Regent Seven Seas Cruise of the Baltic & were spending 3 days in St Petersburg which was on my bucket list. The cruise info had indicated if you do not use their land excursions, you would need a visa. This is incorrect. If you are with a licensed Russian Tour Company, you do not need a visa. We learned about Red October & booked through the US web site. That was an interesting experience & I even called Mike to make sure I understood our options. The only mis information was I did not need to pay cash US to get the current exchange rate. The booking process & to understand the tour options was the only cumbersome part of the process.
We got our tour vouchers from the US agents & as we got off the ship we went through customs which was a little long of a process but once through it, we meet up with Dimitri our guide & his driver. They were with us for the next 3 days.
Our first day was a Sunday & we had to navigate around a large marathon running through downtown. We got into the Hermitage Museum. What a treat to have Dimitri navigate through the museum. He not only explained the significance of the art but had you stand at just the right spot to fully appreciate. We also saw the Savior of the Spilled Blood Cathedral & other sites in the city including the summer garden of Peter the Great.
Our second day was a trip to Catherine's Palace & Gardens again we just followed Dimitri as he guided through continuing to explain & show us where to stand. We went back to the city & visited the Peter and Paul Fortress & Cathedral. There Dimitri help me avoid being pick pocketed.
Our 3rd day was a trip to Peterhof - the grand palace & gardens. We did take the hydrofoil back to the city (well worth the little bit of costs). There we visited St Issac's Cathedral.
We would recommend Dimitri as a wonderful guide but he knows what he is doing & you must let him lead you. Be prepared for some delightful surprises.

Date of experience: July 2015
2  Thank ewhite1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2015

We had a two day cruise ship visit to St Petersburg in July 2015 and we opted for a tour with Red October rather than the ship's tour. A great decision which we made based on reports read via the internet.
We dealt directly with Laura in Russia and I have to say the responses and efficiency were outstanding. Everything was made easy for us and all the procedures and necessary documentation was emailed to us with great clarity. We asked if we could go with a small group of about 4 others and Red October duly obliged and even gave us the cabin number of our companions so we could meet up before the start of the cruise and leave the ship together. This obviously made it more expensive than going with a larger group but it was still far cheaper than the ship's tour and worked really well. We were picked up at the port in St Petersburg and driven in a Mercedes people carrier by the pleasant and courteous Dmitri, so therefore very comfortable. We visited the main palaces and attractions and were dropped off just outside the different venues and picked up straight away after visiting, and moved on to the next. It was very full on and a lot of information to take in from the very knowledgeable guide Marina. The massive advantage of going with Red October is that included in their price is early admission to the palaces and museums etc. This meant that we did not have to queue anywhere and were taken straight to the front. Very advantageous as the queues were sometimes over 100m long. A word of advice - stick close to the guide as with so many people it is very easy to get lost!
The palaces are amazing and well worth the visit. The timings of Red October were spot on. We were collected on each of the two days on time and brought back to the ship right on schedule.
Payment for the tour is made during the first day in their office/souvenir shop and can be cash or credit card. There is also a perfunctory stop on the last day in another souvenir shop where you can have a complimentary coffee and sample a local liqueur. Obviously they hope you will buy something - but there is no overt pressure at all.
All in all a very rewarding experience with Red October and based on our trip I could unreservedly recommend them.

Date of experience: July 2015
4  Thank jim a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews