We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class with excellent spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Ranked #32 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here two nights. The hotel is top class, very clean and high quality. The room is comfortable with air-conditioning, flat-panel TV and all the other usual facilities. Our room (366) was on the backyard side, it is a long walk from the elevator but very quiet because there is no-one passing the door in the corridor.

The spa is free if you are staying in the hotel. It was very nice pool area, one pool has cold water (should be 10C degree but it was much warmer), jacuzzis etc. There are several sauna as well; hot steam, russian log, hammam, cave sauna and even a snow room, which has -15C degree! You can easily spend 3 hours trying the different saunas and pools or just relaxing.

The hotel has two restaurants. Sevilla which is a spanish style (brand restaurant for Sokos Hotels) and Dans le Noir, which is pitch dark with blind waiters. We would have liked to try the dark restaurant but the Sevilla is open later in the night so we picked that one. There was a buffet dinner available for 1000 roubles. It had almost everything you could wish for, not exquisite but good and plenty. The a la carte was available as well but it seemed that whatever you picked the price would be about the same as the buffet. Anyway, I wanted to have artichoke risotto and it turned out to be very good. Mellow with mild tastes flavoured with saffron (I suppose). And the portion was big, I could not finish it.

The breakfast buffet was plentiful with everything you normally have for breakfast and more. Excellent.

The location is also good. The Eremitage and Nevski Prospect are within walking distance (less than 30 mins). It is faster to walk in rush hour than use a car or taxi or bus.

We will definitely return to St Petersburg and this hotel would be our top choice.

Room Tip: The longer the way to the elevator, the quieter the rooms are. And then it is closer to the spa elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pepics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 374 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Room dull, unattractive and dark. No bath. No coffee making facilities (unless we paid £10.00 per day) Curtains thin and shoddy, did not keep out light (white nights) Air conditioning Spasmodic at best, worked 2 days of 4. Restaurant closed at 22.15 not 23.00. Staff with one exception unhelpful. Rooms not cleaned by 17.30. Breakfast - 70% tinned or frozen fruit (including ice), poor selection of bread and pastries, coffee machine broke down every morning. Designed for corporate groups not customers who want a comfortable and relaxing holiday. Very poor value for money. Poor location. Not a 5 star experience in any way, more a bottom of range 3 star.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judithmoorhouse25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Mixed emotions about this place. It is, as previous reviews have said, full of tour groups of dubious quality, which means the reception is always full of people asking stupid questions. There are not enough reception people to handle this so the reception is useless. We were in a suite which was very large, but a bit characterless and had air con which was always slightly too hot. The staff are good enough. Breakfast is a bun fight with the aforementioned 'groups' trying to hoover up as much inclusive food as possible. The spa is ok and the restaurant food is surprisingly good. It is a fair hike from the main tourist spots which didn't bother us as we were there on business. Think of it as a very good 3 star, and not a 5 star and you wont be disappointed. If you want 5 star go to the kempinski or the W

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dogontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Very nice decor, nice lobby and you can have a drink and relax in the calm environment. Rooms were nice and the shower was awesome. Quiet - very quiet despite the hotel being full. Well done.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGDcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were booked into this Hotel by St Peter Line Ferries www.stpeterline.com who do a GREAT overnight ferry trip from Helsinki to St Petersburg....where you can spend one or two nights on the 72 hour "no visa" travel deal. Trust St Peterline also for the city tours as we had a GREAT experience, got a feel for this amazing city and spent our second day on an extensive walk..
The Hotel is 5 star by any standard and most importantly had excellent FREE internet access that really worked...the Hotel is close to critical bridges that connect you to older parts of the city.
We really enjoyed our one night at this Hotel...Oh and it had by far the best included breakfast in Europe...and as "Foodies" thats saying a lot...!!

Room Tip: Im sure there are higher priced view rooms ours faced nearby properties and was fine..if you stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Located in a quieter part of town and a reasonable walk from the Hermitage and city centre, we found this a pretty good place to stay. When we found our room to be not quite what we expected we were upgraded with no fuss and an apology. Busy with large tourist groups, it still managed to provide a great breakfast and a good ambiance in the bar. Living in Moscow, we found the quiet surrounding neighbourhood a pleasant change!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ronan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were booked into this hotel as part of a tour package. The hotel itself is comfortable and the rooms well appointed. The selection at breakfast was more than adequate.
While it is within walking distance of The Hermitage, it is certainly longer than 10 minutes and during our stay we had to negotiate bridge repairs. There are no shops, cafes or banks within the vicinity and the money changing machine we were pointed to in a downstairs lobby did not work.
My main concern (and the reason for the low rating) is over safety issues. I was travelling with an elderly person. There is no porterage at the hotel and as you can see from the photographs on this site the entry into the hotel is via slippery marble stairs and extremely steep and slippery ramps with no handrails. For an elderly person negotiating the stairs was difficult enough but on leaving the hotel with her luggage, my companion lost her footing on the ramp and fell forward heavily, nearly putting her head through a glass door! Not one person from the hotel showed the slightest bit of concern over her plight (she had a very badly bruised and grazed knee from which she is still recovering).
My warning to other travelers is, if you are elderly or travelling with elderly people, be very, very careful and my advice to the hotel – install handrails!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panthea14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#22 of 359 in St. Petersburg
834 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 359 in St. Petersburg
799 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#31 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
#27 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,224 reviews
Grand Hotel Emerald
#96 of 359 in St. Petersburg
225 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#14 of 359 in St. Petersburg
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge

Address: Birzhevoi Lane, 2-4 | Valisyevsky Island, St. Petersburg 199004, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vasilyevsky Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#24 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#24 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#25 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#34 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $97 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge is a unique City Business Resort located in the historical center of St. Petersburg on the Vasilievsky Island. The hotel is named after the famous Palace Bridge located nearby, which leads directly to many of the main sights of St.Petersburg center - the Hermitage Museum, Palace Square, Admiralty, St.Isaac's Cathedral and Nevsky Prospect, all just a 15 minute walk away. Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge offers a perfect getaway for wellbeing and relaxation whilst travelling on business and pleasure. This unique concept includes a fabulous Wellness Club with SPA area including swimming pool and saunas, THANN Day Spa, a 4000 sq.meters fitness center where personal trainers help you to stay fit. Moreover, on the second floor you can find GORKI Golf Academy - the first indoor golf club in the city. Unwind and escape from your routines in your own terms. Dine at 'Dans Le Noir?' where you will have restaurant experience of a lifetime in complete darkness. Celebrate at Sevilla restaurant or a magnificent Ballroom, which make your event a day to remember. Organize your corporate meeting, teambuilding or presentation at our up-to-date conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 350 people. Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge is a magnificent combination of new and old. Guest rooms, some of which are apartments and perfect for a long stay, are located in the modern building, but the heart of the hotel is an old brick building dating back to the mid19th century. It used to serve as the wine cellars of a famous merchant dynasty - the Eliseev family. Today under these old brick arches and chandeliers, you will find a modern and multifaceted world of hospitality aimed to relax or get energized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing