We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, attendants and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pilau Economy Hotel
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice place, attendants and service”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The building is old and very Russian, but inside it's very clean and well organized. They have maps and help you to find a good trip in Piter. The attendants are very nice and always glad to help you. It's not so far from the center and there are a good sort of restaurants and cafes surrounding it. I strongly recommend this place if you want to take a walk in this wonderful city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexandre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
3
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
189 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I chose this hostel because of the location. It is near from Nevsky Prospekt, but not as near as it should be to be safe. During the day, ok, it's perfect. There is a metro station not so far and a minimarket just few meters away. Late at night, however, I didn't feel safe, and I was right about it. In my first evening in Saint Petersburg I came back at 11:30 PM, and the girl who worked at the hostel warned me not to walk by myself in the Rubinshteyna Street at that time. Nothing happened to me, but the next days I asked for a taxi at the restaurant or the bar to go back to the hostel.
The room was clean, but there were no lockers. There were 8 beds and an ensuite bathroom with good shower. The only problem in my room was the curtain. It was too light and in the morning I wake up with the sun on my head.
The kitchen was also ok. The guests can cook there and they have enough place to keep their food in the refrigerator. Coffee and tea are free.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nizinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We arrived at 6am after getting a 2 day sleeper train from Berlin and walked to the hostel in sub-zero temperatures absolutely desperate for a hot shower and a very long sleep. However on arrival the unhelpful receptionist announced to us that we were unable to check in until 2pm (we had booked and secified our arrival time). The room was apparently available but she was unwilling to move on this. I begged her to let us go in the room and make the bed if necersarry and pay an extra charge however she was having none of it. So, we dropped our bags and were turfed out onto the street at 6:30am and ended up waiting outside a pancake cafe until it opened at 7am so we could get some warmth. After trapsing round St Petersberg in a daze all day we went back at 2pm to check in and it was a lovely room with newly fitted en-suite and tv.

The common area is a few tables and chairs in the kitchen (no sofa) and the other receptionists offered no help during our stay so we moved to a different hostel. Not a bad choice as it's a decent location and very clean however not recommended either.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Electr0nica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
155 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

The day I arrived was hot and muggy by St. Petersburg standards, as the hostel is not air conditions, many parts were hot and uncomfortable. Not much air flow in the bed rooms didn't help.
,
Some street noise with the windows open, a bar across the street, garbage collection, etc.

Decent kitchen facilities, 2 burner stove, filtered water, refrigerator (which was very full with guests' food). Only 4 small eating tables so at times it was full.

Staff was very helpful with ordering cabs and local information. Free internet, both with 2 computers and WiFi. There is a washing machine but no dryer so plan on allowing time for clothing to air dry. Many restaurants in the immediate area, also numerous small grocery stores.

Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrell_msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triveneto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Nice hostel to stay, even with children. I booked an entire 4 bed room for my family and it was ok. Plenty of toilets and showers, nice kitchen, nice furniture. No smoking and no alchol inside the hotel (great!!). Staff nice and all speak english. Not noisy at night, even in the bedrooms on the street side ( it is on the first floor, but windows are new with thick glasses). The only small minus: rooms could be checked better by the attendants, and sheets covering the matresses could be cleaned from time to time... but once again not really bad. I reccomend this hostel, and do not be scared by the building entrance and stairs: they are awful, but the apartment iside is well renovated and nice. Good position for public trasportation (10 minutes to metro, 10 minutes to bus).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amarok64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

The hostel is very clean and the installations are new. The building and the corridors are quite old and scary, but inside the hostel everything is perfect! There's a nice kitchen with everything a traveler needs, the bathrooms are very good, with nice shower and the bedroom is comfortable, even when sharing with other 7 people!

The location is great, 1 block away from Vladimirskaya/Dostoevskaya metro station, 3 blocks away from Nevsky Prospekt, 30 minutes walking from Hermitage!

And all for a good price, which is amazing!

P.S.: the only problem, that wasn't really a problem, is that they have no lockers... :(

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

Thank you so much, for so pleasure stay in Russia, was so much amazing about location of hostel. Really in hystorical center of the city, and i could work around all the night and after come back to hostel where always everybody was happy to see me !!!
Really nice place!
I recommend to everybody stay at Pilau Hostel!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Galakt Hotel
#154 of 344 in St. Petersburg
76 reviews
Hotel Nouvelle Europe
#144 of 344 in St. Petersburg
62 reviews
Pilau Hotel
#40 of 904 in St. Petersburg
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Graffiti L Hostel
Graffiti L Hostel
#23 of 1,613 in St. Petersburg
161 reviews
Kino Hostel on Moskovskiy
#175 of 1,613 in St. Petersburg
18 reviews
Hotel 365 Spb
#49 of 1,613 in St. Petersburg
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilau Economy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilau Economy Hotel

Property: Pilau Economy Hotel
Address: Rubinshteyna St., 38/12, St. Petersburg 191002, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vladimir
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 1,613 Specialty Lodging in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pilau Economy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Pilau Economy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing