We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Ranked #46 of 358 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Staff was excellent. It was not in the center of town, and it was no more than a 20 minute walk to the Hermitage. 2 nearby Metro stations. Metro is clean, cheap, and safe. I walked a lot further in other big cities.
Another hotel plus is all the bottled water you want is free, St. Petersburg tap water is undrinkable.
Alissa the concierge was great and became our friend during that week. Great local restaurant advice. ATM and money exchange in the lobby. Nice restaurant and bar. We ate a great breakfast at $24 each, lots of fresh fruit, great breads, meats, cheeses, and smoked fish. Excellent oatmeal or porridge. Breakfast is free if you pay for your room.
The Renaissance is closer to the main sights but was three times the points. Not worth it to me. I am a big Courtyard fan and this is above and beyond a typical US Courtyard. I am a gold member and used points to stay, we were upgraded to a Jr. Suite very nice, river view of Sports Stadium. Loved the neighborhood, quiet, lots of trees, businesses, and students.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank FooDE4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your warm comments.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 607 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel personnel has a good command of the English language, which is convenient for non-Russian speaking visitors.
The rooms are clean and well furnished. The bathroom is big and comfortable. The location of the hotel is not as great as it may seem on a map, because of the enormous walking distances of the city of St. Petersburg. It is about 40 to 50 minutes by foot to the Hermitage museum.

Although everything looks posh about this hotel, I was not really impressed by it. The telephone in the room did not work for national and international calls, whatever i tried (even with help from the reception). The wifi connection is quite expensive, as is the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far as possible away from the elevator. It produces an irritating noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikiNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the phone connectivity issue, which has since been fixed. I am delighted however to inform you that as of 3rd September 2013 wifi is complimentary throughout the hotel, including guestrooms. Our restaurant offers hot buffet, continental and a la carte options for breakfast, a business lunch menu on weekdays, plus an evening choice of Alsace and Baltic starters, soups, main dishes and desserts.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed at the Courtyard St Petersburg Vasilievsky for 3 nights in Aug . It is a new hotel with the typical Courtyard style.

The hotel is actually across the river from historic city center but with 10-15 minutes’ walk, you can reach to the nearest metro that will take you to the city center.
There are lots of restaurants near the subway station (even a Mac Donald’s with English menu), And also shops, exchange, pharmacy, even a 24 hour supermarket which you can buy everything you want.
Additionally there is a very small supermarket 2 min walk from hotel which you can buy some necessary things.
My room was very large, clean, light with nice view of the Neva riverside and Zenith football stadium.
The room is spacious and well-equipped (including a kettle and some tea)
The breakfast buffet in the dining room is quite wide-range in with good quality.
No Wi-Fi in the room but there were also several PCs in the lobby where people can use Internet for limited period of time freely.
Staff speaks some English and the concierge was helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahboobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your comments. In addition to the computers in the Lobby we have wifi throughout the hotel, including guest rooms. Please accept my apologies if there was a connectivity issue during your stay.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I chose the Marriott for safety reasons, being a single woman traveling alone. Also, since this was my first trip to Russia and St. Petersburg, I was also interested in a hotel with a good concierge service and amenities, of which this hotel has neither. While the guest room was lovely and spacious, the lobby was chaotic and somewhat unpleasant. The registration desk staff were also somewhat unpleasant.

A nice perk for this hotel is that it has an arrangement with the Hermitage wherein you can use your room key to access a VIP entrance to the museum. You have to ask about this and not expect the hotel staff to make any mention of it whatsoever. I knew about it from a tourist guidebook.

Beware of the location! This location is not near anything, plus it is in a rundown area. There is heavy construction all around the property, and the nearest Metro is exactly 1 mile / 1.6 km away; you will need to navigate construction, cross a bridge, and figure out how to cross the busy street to get to the Metro. The other option is to go back into the dubious neighborhood, and walk 1.1 mile / 1.8 km to get to the next closest stop. The Hermitage, for example, is around 2.5 miles / 4 km away, also by way of heavy construction.

No security either! I was assaulted right on the corner in front of the hotel. To make a long story short, I screamed and screamed; there was no security to be found. I think this hotel has a door man, though I never saw him. It was a terrifying experience, and I cut my trip short because of this. Of course this could have happened anywhere; however, it did not. To the credit of the hotel, someone contacted me a few days after the incident to express concern; I never heard from him again.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. If you must stay here for some reason, ask for a River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lvb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your comments.

We take the security of our guests very seriously! I corresponded with you separately concerning an incident that you reported whilst traveling in the city. I will be in contact again as soon as we have an update from the police. In the meantime please contact me directly at Patrick.naughter@marriott.com if I can be of further assistance.

There are two metro stations within a 10 to 20 minute walk of the hotel. The closest is 10 minutes away and involves crossing three streets which have traffic lights and pedestrian crossings. The commercial centre of the city (Nevsky Prospect) can be reached within one stop of this station.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice ! if you like traditional hotel at heart of city , that's very good . clean room with average service and normal bed. lobby is very small and bad decorate . lobby bar is good . breakfast is good .enjoy ...

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We made a trip to St.Pete in June with my husband and daughter from Moscow and we all were very excited about it - it was 1st visit there with my little one and there were "white nights" that period. When we came there was a young man at the reception and I found him rude and not friendly. Booking the hotel I mentioned about 3 people and was very surprised not having found gowns and slippers. Emty minibar was another surprise, but I was told that it was a rule for all Cortyards (strange) and to fill the fridge I should buy everything myself in the hotel shop (also strange). About location: I live in Moscow and know St.Pete quite well and I knew this location but in website it ABSOLUTELY misleads people from overseas moreover I didn't expect that it would be so far from metro station. Breakfasts are OK but everytime they put little stakes the way you couldn't get the table you liked - I don't know if it is a usual practice (may be they were planning some event afternoon there and wanted to bar the main space to get it ready, don't know). I was a bit dissapointed but in general even Cortyard by MARRIOTT couldn't spoil our holiday :-)

Room Tip: ask the river view - it is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iriant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. The hotel is located on Vasilievsky Island, one of the foundation areas of the old city, which is regarded as part of the historic centre.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I caveat this review with the following....I am a platinum Marriott member, I've stayed in Marriott's across the globe sometimes hundreds of nights a year and I am a very fair reviewer, writing the goods with the bads. The descriptions posted of this Courtyard property are misleading and unless you are prepared you will likely be unhappily surprised as my wife and I were during a recent trip.

The description states "The Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky hotel has a perfect location in the historic city centre of charming Saint Petersburg city, Russia". It is actually at least a 15 minute walk to the nearest metro that will take you to the city center. The entire journey is at least 30 minutes each way.

The hotel website also states "in room delivery of food". This is also incorrect, if you want to order from the restaurant they will charge a 20% surcharge on the already overly priced food.

The rooms are large and clean and breakfast is decent, but these other items are unacceptable when describing the hotel and made our stay a bit unpleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jtgoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. The hotel is located on Vasilievsky Island, one of the foundation areas of the old city, which is regarded as part of the historic centre.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Kolomna
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center West/Pushkin Hotel
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center ...
#40 of 358 in St. Petersburg
647 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#12 of 358 in St. Petersburg
915 reviews
Admiralteisky
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Renaissance St. Petersburg Balti...
#35 of 358 in St. Petersburg
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
#28 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,188 reviews
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#15 of 358 in St. Petersburg
754 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#24 of 358 in St. Petersburg
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky

Address: 2 line of Vasilievsky Island 61/30, St. Petersburg 199178, Russia (Formerly Marriott Courtyard Vasilyevskiy)
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vasilyevsky Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#35 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#37 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#46 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $66 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky has a perfect location near the historic city centre of charming Saint Petersburg. Whether you accommodate for business or choose our hotel in St. Petersburg, Russia, we will contribute to making your visit more memorable and comfortable. You will surely appreciate the location near the city center, its modern design, the view to the River Neva and free WiFi Internet access in the hotel rooms. The Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky hotel offers 214 spacious accommodations and suites with comfortable bedding, large work desk and WiFi Internet. Choose from our 8 upscale conference venues with broadband, state-of-the-art technology and professional services. After a hard day enjoy an aperitif in our Lobby Bar or taste dishes from Eastern France and Russia in Pierrot Restaurant. Choose from the St. Petersburg hotels the Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, it is a new stay in St. Petersburg, Russia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard St Petersburg Vasilievsky Hotel St. Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing