We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and relaxed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Ranked #24 of 362 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The most notable aspect of this hotel was the staff, who were generally friendly and helpful. Many spoke English which was useful. The room cleaning staff did a good job, but we're slightly random. For example, removing the towelling dressing gown for no obvious reason, and not replacing it. However, a call to reception can sort this type of issue quickly.
My room was a good size, but lacked working space, so more suitable for a tourist than a business traveller. The hotel was quiet, which was great. After 5 nights, I never quite mastered the heating/air-conditioning, but knew I could have called for assistance if necessary.
Restaurant staff were also friendly, but not quite keeping up some of the time. Food was good and staff keen to recommend favourites, though some dishes are a little expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Julie

thank you for your candid review. It is good to hear you have found our staff friendly and helpful. After all this is our number one job - make your stay as easy and comfortable as possible.

Thank also for the constructive side of the feedback. There is always space for improvement and by sharing your experience we may yet improve our standards and ways of working.

Hope to see you again with us any time soon!

Yours

Tomi Meriläinen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for six nights, as part of a pictures and palaces tour.
We were pleasantly surprised by everything being just spot on. The team in the hotel were all doing their best from reception to the eager to please bar staff, and the restaurant team that replenished the extensive buffet breakfasts and evening meals with smiles.
It was easy to choose only fresh fruit and fresh vegetables, and the occasional boiled egg, so that we could maintain our healthy diet. There was plenty of goodies for those not so fussy as us. Even Russian fizzy wine for breakfast ! Yes i tried it every day however every bottle I tasted was corked, I hoped I would hit a good one, but to no avail. Yes someone was getting rid of a bad batch on morning boozers, and serves them right n'est pas? Sinners comme moi!!
The cleaner was excellent and the room on the 5th floor comfortable and quiet. The hotel felt safe, friendly, and comfortable.
One can walk easily from here to the Hermitage , about 25 mins, and also the main Mariensky Theatre ....about 20 mins. Yes it is not in the heart of the city, but if you are adventurous pas de problem.
If you are lazy or lardy then the hotel will arrange taxis to take and return.
There is a market, on Bolshoy prospekt, where one can buy fruit and veg for a room feast that is not concocted by chefs. ( we try to create a healthy meal at least once during a holiday,).
And there is a shop selling groceries and beer,etc next door....yes it looks non-descript but they are very nice, (sign ..produkty).
The Hermitage needs time, it is unique; try to avoid the weekend; do take at least 2 days minimum especially if you know your art and history. Sometimes it pays to wait while a crowd troops past 20 Picasso or Rembrandt works in 5 minutes, and then you have them all to yourself for a while. The palaces and other museums are wonderful, as are the people and the city.
And we are planning a return , so I hope to get that decent fizz for breakfast eventually.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMelnikov, Food & Beverage Director at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Jack,

First of all let me thank you for your candid comments and for sharing your experience with the TA community: your opinion is important for us and helps to improve our services and make our guests happier and more content.

I am especially pleased to hear that your have notices helpfulness and smiley attitude of out team. Yes, we are here for you!

Regarding you comment about corked sparkling: in no way we are trying to get rid of the the spoiled beverages! My understanding is that the taste of Russian sparkling is pretty different from what you are familiar with :) Anyhow, thank you for appreciating the fact that we serve it at the breakfast and yes, you are more than welcome to enjoy it next time you visit us.

Once again, thank you for your lovely review and hope to see you back at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky!

Have a nice summer,
DM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is an excellent hotel with high standard facilities. Rooms are a good size and comfortable. Staff are very friendly and most speak good English. Restaurant and bar are especially attractive and the food is good and provides excellent value. Location is close to the main sites and the metro is just 8 minutes walk away. Finally the hotel is spotlessly clean. We liked the hotel.

Room Tip: Top flor best to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Brian

We are very happy to receive your positive review. It is great to hear you have enjoyed all our services and have found our product as well as our service to be on the right level. It is also nice to hear you have found your way to the public transportation to make your city exploration easy and fast. Metro is especially helpful to avoid busy traffic hours during the bigger events taking place in the city.

Hope to have you visiting us again soon in St. Petersburg!

Yours Sincerely

Tomi Meriläinen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Rooms are clean and quiet (air-conditioning system was a bit noisy though).
Girls at reception speak fluent English and are very helpful.
Convenient location: 5-10 mins walk to metro station Vasileostrovskaya through pedastrian street where a few bars, restaurants and coffee shops are located; 30 mins walk to city center (Nevsky prospekt) or 1 stop by metro; not far from Lenexpo exhibition center.
I was pleasantly surprised to find an iron-board and iron hidden inside the wardrobe along with slippers and a robe. Also free wi-fi with good connection speed was a big plus.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanjaShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy to hear you have had a good time in St. Petersburg and have enjoyed our hospitality. It is exactly as you described, out hotel is well located both from touristic and business point of view. You have all the services and transportation connections within a short walking distance.

Hope to see you again with us in St. Petersburg soon!

Yours

Tomi Meriläinen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Vasilievsky is an upper-class, modern hotel on Vasilievsky island, 200 metres from Neva river. We had a spacious and quiet double, the bed, the pillows and the towels were comfortable, and the cleaner brought us new mineral water bottles every day. The easiest way to get to the city center to Nevsky Prospect and back to the hotel is to take bus number 7, which has a stop 100 metres from the hotel. We can recommend the restaurant of the hotel too: its menu includes American-style (burgers), Mediterranean-style and Russian dishes, its staff understand and speak English very good, and the food and service are excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piispa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Guest

we are delighted to receive your warm and positive feedback on our hotel! It is truly a pleasure to hear you have found our staff, service and food to be of an excellent quality and standard. It also seems that you have found your way easily around St. Petersburg. This is exactly the most interesting, cost efficient and easy way to explore our lovely city. I am sure the other travellers will find your tips and experience quite handy when planning their upcoming trips to the Venice of the North.

Hope to have you with us in St. Petersburg again soon!

Yours

Tomi Meriläinen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and efficient.
The rooms quiet and kept clean. The air-con was a little noisy.The food was good in the hotel.
The only drawback to this hotel is the location.The hotel is 20 to 30 minutes walk from the main sites and main restaurants. As there are no passing taxis in this area , the hotel needs to call taxis which start at RU500.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel and rooms very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victorGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Guest

thank you for your nice review! It is great to hear you have found our hotel and services to be of a very good level.

It is true that it take about 20 minutes to walk to the main sites of the city. However we have to keep in mind that St. Petersburg is a rather big city with more than five million inhabitants. Therefore also the distances even within the central city are rather long. Due to the reality of a metropolitan city I would recommend to use the well working public transportation. From our hotel the bus routes, cable car and metro as all within just a few steps away and easy to access. For more information you may contact our friend concierge.

Hope to have you with us again in St. Petersburg!

Yours

Tomi Meriläinen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Really good value hotel. we stayed for 3 nights in May 2013 as part of a Moscow St Petersburg sight seeing trip. Buffett breakfast was really good and there is a decent sports bar attached to the Hotel if that is your thing. The front desk staff too were really helpful. The Hotels not on the main Island but the Metro is close, or you can walk along the river and over the bridge to all the main sites in about 20 minutes. I would definitely use Sokos again again after this experience

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your positively candid review! The whole Vasilievsky team is delighted to hear you have truly enjoyed your stay with us. It is also a pleasure to hear you have found our location splendid for exploring this beautiful city. I could not agree more on each point you have mentioned above.

Looking forward to seeing you again in St. Petersburg!

Yours Sincerely

Tomi Meriläinen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#28 of 362 in St. Petersburg
1,581 reviews
Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Gar...
#38 of 362 in St. Petersburg
1,077 reviews
Nevskiy
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
#35 of 362 in St. Petersburg
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Courtyard by Marriott St. Peters...
#42 of 362 in St. Petersburg
629 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#11 of 362 in St. Petersburg
685 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#13 of 362 in St. Petersburg
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky

Address: 8 line of Vasilyevskiy Island, 11-13, St. Petersburg 199034, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vasilyevsky Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#14 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#30 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $53 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky can be named as the first gallery hotel in St. Petersburg, which is situated on the Vasilievsky Island, close to the Neva river embankment and Blagoveshchensky bridge. You will reach the Hermitage and Nevsky Prospect in 5 minutes by bus. Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky is not just about high designed rooms, soft beds and convenient location, but permanently up-to-date exhibitions as well, which are taking place in the hotel interiors. Mikhailovsky theatre, the biggest contemporary art museum in Russia Erarta - the best art representatives in St. Petersburg are the hotel partners. The key concept of Solo Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky is "The House of Arts & Culture". By staying in Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, you will begin your own art journey, where each guest will get his or her own individual route. Ballet or opera in the best city theatres, the most interesting exhibitions, shows and parties - every Soloist is your concierge and we know everything about rich and saturated life of St. Petersburg. After the big day have a pleasant calm evening in stylish Repin Lounge Restaurant & Bar, where you can always find the best of Russian cuisine as well as outstanding specials from all over the world. Do not miss your favorite sport events - in the 8th Line Pub you can watch all the broadcasts on the big svreen in Full HD quality. The best draft beer and whisky collection will complete the triumph of beloved team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing