We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Ranked #27 of 351 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Great breakfast, quiet place in 15 min walk from the palace.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babanakov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Babanakov
Thank you very much for your kind feedback! We are happy to hear you have found our hospitality, services and location excellent! Hope to see you again with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    396
    111
    21
    6
See reviews for
161
361
74
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. Their breakfast and lunch buffet is better than the other hotels we stayed in Moscow and St. Petersburg. And this was the only hotel we stayed with free wi fi everywhere in the hotel. Their shower cover covers only about half so bathroom floor is always wet after shower. Walking to your room is a bit spooky with all the portrait paintings of ancient people displayed all over the hallway. Everyone seemed to have a problem with their elevator coz its door closes very slowly. Hotel location is at Vasilievsky Island facing the main land/city center of St. Petersburg.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not too far from their elevator coz some rooms are a bit far and you have to go throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyrone64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Tyrone,

thank you for your constructive feedback! We are happy to hear you have found our restaurant services better than average and our food to be tasty!

Furthermore we would like to apologize for any inconvenience you have had during your stay with us. Your feedback is highly appreciated and we will pay some extra attention on the downsides you have mentioned.

About the paintings on the corridors you mentioned, they are actually copies of the originals that can be found in the State Museum of Russian Art.

We hope you have had a nice trip to St. Petersburg in total and wish to see you with us in the future again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We have recently returned from a trip to St Petersburg and stayed in the Sokos Vasilievsky Hotel. We had a fabulous time and hope you find my review constructive. Upon arrival we were a little surprised at the exterior of the Hotel as a little drab in an unexciting street, however, we were pleasantly surprised once inside and in the reception area. The check in process was very slow and not very well organised amongst the three or four members of staff and the queue moved very slowly. The main problem being that it would seem that a couple of the check in assistants were new and were receiving advice from the other two on how to process guests. Once checked in we were given our room keys [plastic credit card type] and proceeded to the lifts, we amongst other guests were baffled as to why the lifts would not work, when it dawned on me that you needed to swipe the card on the lifts control panel to activate the lift. This I now know, is a security precaution to stop non guests gaining access to accommodation and a very good one it is too, just that it would have been nice to have been told at reception that you had to do this! Now this is where the negativity ends!
We found the Sokos to be a fabulous Hotel, the standard room that we had was really nice and spotlessly clean. The bed was fantastically comfortable with a memory foam mattress and a huge bed with two separate duvet’s making for a fight free night’s sleep! The bathroom was large and once again spotlessly clean. There was everything that you could need, hairdryer, iron and security safe.I can see no reason why you would need to upgrade from a standard room, save your money! We found the staff to be very helpful, from the Concierge to the waiting staff. The Hotel is about a twenty to thirty minute walk to the City Centre. That being said that, it is a very nice walk along the river, admiring all the fabulous buildings on the way. Should you decide to go by taxi it will cost you around 600 Roubles [about £15] a bit cheaper if you can haggle! There is a metro station quite near but not sure how near to the city centre that will take you. Having done a lot of walking during the day it was great to come back to a very friendly bar [English style pub] inside the Sokos Hotel, where all kinds of beers and wines were on offer and a very good range of bar type meals. As we were very tired and did not feel up to a restaurant type meal this suited us well, just a place to have a nice drink and something simple to eat was great! The restaurant breakfast was fantastic; everything that you could want was there including sparkling white wine which was included in the bed and breakfast rate. It could get a little busy but there were plenty of tables and once again the staff were wonderful in attending your needs.
There is so much to see in St Petersburg and we thought it was a fabulous city, I personally think it is nicer than Venice and will be going back and would have no hesitation in staying in this Hotel again!
We travelled from Helsinki on the night ferry on St Peter’s line which allows you to enter Russia for 72 hours without having a visa! You can buy a shuttle bus ticket that picks you up at the port and delivers and collects you from the Hotel, a very good service. We found the ferry to be an excellent service with good facilities and excellent food at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: We had a standard room and thought it was really good. My wife is very fussy and it is not unusual f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisyGills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMelnikov, Food & Beverage Director at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Daisy,

Thank you for sharing your experience of Sokos Hotel Vaslievsky with TripAdvisor community. We really appreciate your honest feedback and your kind words.

You are absolutely right that we have a new team at the reception; still, we are doing our best to train them. We are sure that when you come next time your check in will be swift and pleasant :)

We also really take security issues seriously here and do everything to ensure our guests safety and comfort, so, the special elevator keys system, video surveillance and our security staff are in place.

I am happy to hear you liked your room. Well, it is meant for our guests comfor and we are proud of it!

The best part for me, as being responsible for food and beverage was the fact that you've liked our Pub and the breakfast. We pay extra special attention to the breakfast to ensure our guests have a great start of the day.

As being born in St. Petersburg I also would like to thank you for your kind words about our city.

We will be more than happy to see you once again in Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky,
DM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

A very nice hotel in the Vasilievsky island. The location is a little far from the city centre, but you can get there easily by subway or bus. Very nice, helpful and english speaking staff. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna88P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMelnikov, Food & Beverage Director at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the review, your kind words and for being willing to come back :)

We are really happy here that you have enjoyed Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky and I am very proud of our team.

Have a great summer,
DM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as well as Crowne Plaza Ligovsky for 6 nights. We loved the location of Crowne and the hotel was great but this hotel was half the price and was really of a very high standard and quality. We paid for the superior rather than standard room, and the room was great, very clean and modern. Everything worked well - the hot water, heating/air con etc. Free wifi was also included as was breakfast which was pretty good quality for a large hotel. There is nothing one can really fault the hotel on considering the price we got it at when we booked compared to others in St Petersburg. it is definately value for money. The only downside is the location, but for us the location was great as we already spent 6 days in the other part and this gave us a different perspective. Also the location is not too bad if you have a while in St Petersburg as there are buses/trams just around the corner from the hotel that go directly up and down the main drag - Nevsky Prospekt and we found these to be much handier than the metros.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifeisbeaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMelnikov, Food & Beverage Director at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you review. It was nice to know that you liked our hotel, especially the room and our breakfast. We know how important it is to start a day nicely, so we pay special attention here :)

Although our location is not the most central, our guests usually find it a nice, quiet and relaxed area of the city. The walk by the river to all the sightseeing spots is especially pleasurable in the summer (it is also very nice to go and see how the bridges are coming up on the Neva river).

Thank you once again for your kind words and welcome back,
DM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We travelled with two teenagers to St.Petersburg for museums, shopping and leisure. We liked the Finnish hotel very much. It created a safe base for our trips into the city.

Location of Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky is good, almost downtown. We found out price level of the city in taxis is crazy. You really should able to negotiate in (native) Russian to get the best rate. Only thing we were dissapointed with the hotel was taxi service. The concierge asked 800rubles for taxi from hotel to downtown. Night before we took a longer trip with taxi (6 000 000 red taxi) with 390 rubles. This Red Taxi was the most reliable because they give fair price without negotiation. The concierge said she could not call other taxi firms but their own. I understand this must be Russian way of doiing business, but as a customer I can choose. We knew there are two buslines (7 and 10) very close to the hotel. They drive through Nevsky Prospekt. It costs only 21 rubles a person to get to the downtown. As a Finn I have to pay more expensive taxis in Finland than in Russia. At the same I am not ready to pay double prices for the same trips. Be careful with taxis - they will take your money. Consider taking a bus. It is cheap and more comfortable you might think. Try to get Red Taxi 6 000. 000 if you need taxi.

Russians are very helpful. A lady on the street organized a taxi for us when my wife approached her. She hardly spoke English, but she saw our family was in trouble and negotiated a taxi for us.

Hotel is very clean and rooms are at the right level to four star hotel. Breakfast is very good, something you find in any good four star hotel. I guess a Finnish hotel gave us a lot of trust in food - we ate everything with no worry. Eating is like in Helsinki. Our favourite was tuna foccacia at the restaurant.

Staff is helpful and they can speak English. So everything inside hotel goes smoothly and it is comfortable to stay and ask for help.

We had two double rooms. Our teenagers were satisfied to have their own time for interenet in their own room facing the main street. Parent's room was on the wrong side facing a back street. We woke up every morning around six when they started banging something on the street. I belive it was a waste truck or something.

We had a busy weekend in St.Petersburg: Hermitage, Russian Museum, Peterhof and St. Isaac's Cathedral. Great places to visit. Shopping is very nice and familiar for a Finn if you go to Stockmann. If you want more than that, there is very close to Stockmann a huge mall Galeria. Our ladies spent a lot of time in Galeria altough prices are quite high.

Room Tip: Wake up call in the rooms on the backstreet may be earlier than you wish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loslapillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMelnikov, Food & Beverage Director at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Loslapillos!

Thank you for your review and you kind words. It is very importnat for us to get real feedback from the guests and I will surely will go through your feedback with all our staff.

As for the taxi and the concierge: it is not a part of our company but an outsourced serive; however, I will also discuss this issue with them and will try to find some solution there, so the guests will be able to order more affordable taxis. There are several fairly priced taxi services in SPb (as you mentioned 6 000 000 is one those, and the one I usually use is 600 5 006, unfortunately language skill of the operators and the drivers are often more than modest).

For me, being mainly responsible for our restaurant services it was a special pleasure to read that you were satisfied with the food quality and the service. I will give your compliments to Denis Klimontov, our executive chef for the tuna focaccia especially :)

It was a pity to know you had experienced some noise problem in the room, still I am sure, if any other room, next to your children's would be avaliable, we could change it without any hesitation.

Good to hear you liked St. Petersburg and hope you will come back one day!

My regards to the whole family and have a nice summer,
DM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Our daughter was on a trip to St Petersburg and stayed at this wonderful hotel. Since she is a vegan, we were worried about her eating while there. Dimitri and his staff went above and beyond their duties to make sure she was well taken care of. The breakfast buffet was amazing with all the choices available for her. The rooms were luxurious and very clean, with service everyday.
Her stay was a highlight of her trip. We will being staying At Sokos Hotel Vasiievsky when we go to St. Petersburg in the future. With her glowing report of her service there, we would not think of staying elsewhere.

Thanks again to Dimitri and the staff for their wonderful concern for their guests happiness.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hornman1usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMelnikov, Food & Beverage Director at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Mr. Horner,

Thank you very much for your review and you kind words.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests had a pleasant stay as enjoyed our services. I will share your feedback with the whole team of Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky and especially our F&B team. Guest satisfaction is one of the most important things for us and also a clear indicator of our work.

We will be more than happy to see you in our hotel and I hope you will like St. Petersburg, as it is truly a nice city.

Have a great summer,
DM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#37 of 351 in St. Petersburg
1,361 reviews
Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Gar...
#56 of 351 in St. Petersburg
946 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#9 of 351 in St. Petersburg
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Courtyard by Marriott St. Peters...
#49 of 351 in St. Petersburg
584 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan St.Petersburg
Akyan St.Petersburg
#11 of 351 in St. Petersburg
514 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#24 of 351 in St. Petersburg
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky

Property: Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Address: 8 line of Vasilyevskiy Island, 11-13, St. Petersburg 199034, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vasilyevsky Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#21 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#21 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#30 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky can be named as the first gallery hotel in St. Petersburg, which is situated on the Vasilievsky Island, close to the Neva river embankment and Blagoveshchensky bridge. You will reach the Hermitage and Nevsky Prospect in 5 minutes by bus. Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky is not just about high designed rooms, soft beds and convenient location, but permanently up-to-date exhibitions as well, which are taking place in the hotel interiors. Mikhailovsky theatre, the biggest contemporary art museum in Russia Erarta - the best art representatives in St. Petersburg are the hotel partners. The key concept of Solo Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky is "The House of Arts & Culture". By staying in Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, you will begin your own art journey, where each guest will get his or her own individual route. Ballet or opera in the best city theatres, the most interesting exhibitions, shows and parties - every Soloist is your concierge and we know everything about rich and saturated life of St. Petersburg. After the big day have a pleasant calm evening in stylish Repin Lounge Restaurant & Bar, where you can always find the best of Russian cuisine as well as outstanding specials from all over the world. Do not miss your favorite sport events - in the 8th Line Pub you can watch all the broadcasts on the big svreen in Full HD quality. The best draft beer and whisky collection will complete the triumph of beloved team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing