We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but no lift access”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nevskiy Central Hotel
Ranked #145 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This hotel is up five flights of stairs with no lift access and has just one door off the street shared with a supermarket, massage parlour, cafe etc. - this makes it hard to find. We had a room on the top floor and this was quiet and comfortable - with plenty of storage space. The breakfast buffet is limited but adequate and served from 8 - 11 o'clock each day. The location is good, being near to underground and railway stations, buses and trolley buses which are cheap and will get you to most locations efficiently. (28 rubles for the underground and 25 rubles for buses,trams and trolley buses). It is within easily walking distance of the Russian Museum, Our lady of Kazan and the Church of the Spilt Blood to name but a few.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank multi v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you were satisfied with your stay and will be delighted to welcome you again should you decide to return to St.Petersburg.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 193 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

We arrived by metro and had a difficult time finding the hotel. The hotel sign is one of many hanging on the 90-92 block of Nevsky Prospect. It is a very small sign that says Nevsky 90.The hotel lobby and entrance are not on street level. They are on the third floor, which is 3 flights up. There is no elevator. We were immediately concerned with what we encountered on the way up... a convenience store, a "massage parlor", an internet cafe, and a wooden structure with nails sticking out (apparently for painting). We packed too much luggage, and were exhausted with the walk up... honestly, first appearances were so bad that we were not even sure whether we should go up... and just get another hotel instead? It was late, so we went up.
Overall, we are glad that we did. Here are the basics:
The hotel is in a very central area, within walking distance to most sights and on the main bus lines. Overall the third floor location didn't bother us too much, except one evening when sitting on the steps between the 2nd and 3rd floors was a homeless man looking quite tattered and a bit crazy. He remained there for hours.
The rooms are spread out over three floors. Again, you must walk up. We elected to stay on the first floor in Rm 20, sharing a wall to the breakfast room. It was the only room available on that floor when we arrived. We were concerned about noise from passing guests and breakfast, but didn't find it to be a significant problem. The rooms are very simple, but spacious and OK for sleeping after busy days. I wouldn't recommend hanging out in your room. Free wifi is included.
The breakfast is sufficient, if your goal is to fill your stomach. If you want to enjoy a good breakfast, go down the street to Eliseyev Emporium Coffeeshop - a wonderful place.
The most positive part of our experience at the Nevsky Central Hotel was the staff - Lena, Irina, Maria, and Daria. The young women at the front desk were very polite, informative, and professional. We enjoyed them, and our conversations with them, and appreciated their insights and perspectives. They are what make this hotel worth a visit.... if not for them, specifically Lena's genuine concern and thoughtfulness during our checkin, we would likely have departed....and the price.
To summarize, our experience here was a mixed bag.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhitsEnd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for venturing up, for your wondeful review and for your kind words regarding our staff. It is always such a joy for our staff to see that our guests have taken notice of the extra special things we do. It would be a great pleasure to have you stay with us again should your travels bring you to St.Petersburg.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed at the Nevsky and was not disappointed. The location's excellent and easy walking distance to pretty much all the sights famous in the city. If you are not into walking then right across the street you'll find the Mayakovskaya Metro stop and also bus stops for cheap transport. There are literally thousands of places to eat around here. Your options are limitless. The first floor of the building the hotels in has a convenience store open 24/7. Here you can buy all sorts of snacks and alcohol to prep you for your evenings out. The entry way is being worked on so it seems a bit of a mess. You also have to consider climbing a few flights of stairs to get home since no elevators are available. I loved the staff. Pretty ladies that attend to your every need. The room itself was spacious enough and the beds cozy enough. The shower room was a bit cramp but it did the trick. You do have to run the water for a few minutes to get some hot water going. The wifi was fast and free. The breakfast was good and free.What more can you want? Stay here if you are looking for a good priced hotel in a location that is almost unbeatable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kentmoney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing. We are happy that your stay with us was enjoyable and will be delighted to welcome you again should you decide to return to St.Petersburg.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived in the morning (about 10am) and were pleasantly suprised to find that our room was ready and that we were allowed to have access to it so early. The hotel comes directly off Nevsky Prospekt (a main road which runs up towards the Hermitage) and is a climb up several flights of stairs. No lift. Ok for us as we are reasonably fit but Im sure it would be a struggle for alot of people. The walls leading up to the doorway of the hotel looked very crumbly and that was a bit concerning.

Most of the staff, in particular the younger man at reception, were friendly.

The room was disappointing and needs refurbishment. Tired double bed. I expect at least a queen sized bed in hotels these days. The bed covers ("quilt") didnt cover us, and we are not massive people. It was not sufficient, without having the heater on for a bit. Also one side of the bed was up against a wall, so one of us had to climb over the end of the bed to get out. Not comfortable. The bathroom was adequate, however the crumbling ceiling that is covered by a metal grate, kept dropping bits into the bathtub and one time I hit it accidently with my towel, I was showered with dirt. There was no kettle or tea/coffee making facilities.

During our stay, the building experienced a cut in electricity which didnt effect the rooms, but affected the stairs and entrance. It was very dark, couldnt see the stairs. Quite dangerous. They put out a couple of tea light candles within the hotel, but if we didnt have the light of our mobile phones to negotiate the stairs, it would have been considerably more difficult. The hotel should have ensured that more lighting was provided to ensure safety of their guests.

The breakfast room appears relatively fresh. A satisfactory breakfast, sufficient but nothing flash.

The hotel is within walking distance to many attractions. A bus stop is also nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c0balt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Your feedback is very important to us as it assists us in improving our services and facilities we offer to our guests. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope you can give us a chance to show what we have done.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is not Four Seasons, but the location is great (it is convenient) and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located on the third floor and other businesses downstairs are a bit dodgy (Erotic Massage and Internet Café), but we felt safe. If on budget, I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stradchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words about our staff and the hotel overall. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again should your travels bring you to St.Petersburg.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here five nights, July 2013, family of four with grown-up children. Good and basic hotel. Rooms have a good size, everything seemed clean and nice, and the staf is very, very helpful and forthcoming! The hotel is on the 3rd (plus 4th and 5th) floor, and there's NO elevator, so there's a bit of suitcase lifting upon arrival and departure. The building also houses a little supermarket (basement), a massage parlour (don't worry, never saw anyone enter or leave the place) and an internet café. The breakfast was ok, nothing special but enough for us to get started every morning. Location is great - right on the Nevsky Prospect, about two minutes from the nearest metro stop, and lots of cafes and restaurants right outside the front door. If you're looking for a basic, centrally located, friendly and nice place to stay, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: If you're not a big fan of stairs, ask for a room on the 4th floor. The stairs to the next two f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share. It is wonderful to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at the Nevsky Central. We will ensure to share your comments with the entire team and will look forward to welcoming you back to the property in the future.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I Was there with a friend in july 2013, is a very central hotel and i think for a little period is a good choiche. Employers that work inside are all young, very kind and always ready to help.....but don't is an hotel for all, infact Is on 3' floor of a building without elevator and absolutely is not an hotel to impress a woman. Internet access is very good and free...... During with night don't forget mask for sleep ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio_Orodinapoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review. Your comments are very important to us and we thank you for sharing. We wish you all the best and will be looking forward to welcoming you again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Nevskiy Hotel Aster
Nevskiy Hotel Aster
#139 of 359 in St. Petersburg
312 reviews
Nevskiy
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
#50 of 359 in St. Petersburg
356 reviews
Nevskiy
Nevsky Contour Hotel
Nevsky Contour Hotel
#20 of 359 in St. Petersburg
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Galerea Hotel
Galerea Hotel
#146 of 359 in St. Petersburg
80 reviews
Admiralteisky
Nevsky Breeze Hotel
Nevsky Breeze Hotel
#118 of 359 in St. Petersburg
204 reviews
Nevskiy
Nevsky Hotel Grand
Nevsky Hotel Grand
#75 of 359 in St. Petersburg
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nevskiy Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nevskiy Central Hotel

Address: Nevskiy Ave., 90, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $30 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nevskiy Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Squarely in the middle of the Central District, the Hotel Nevsky Central has its main entrance right on Nevsky Prospect. The hotel is less than five minutes from the Moscow Railway Station, and just crossing the street brings you to the Mayakovsky Metro station. The hotel offers 34 standard rooms, most of which have air conditioning. Five of them are singles with small bathroom, phone, TV, room safe and hairdryer; the other 29 are doubles and twins with all the same room conveniences, as well as a choice of double bed or twins and choice of bath or shower. Though the entrance is right on busy Nevsky Prospect, the guestroom windows look onto a quiet, scenic courtyard. The rooms are well designed with comfort and a homelike atmosphere in mind. Wireless Internet is complimentary. Guests can select from among the hotel's many standard services, such as visa support, registration for only 190 roubles and a car and driver to and from the airport. There's laundry and dry cleaning service, a choice of cars with drivers, experienced interpreters in any language and tickets for airplane flights or journeys by rail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nevskiy Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing