We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a completely delightful place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Teplo

Teplo
Ranked #22 of 10,187 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Russian, Soups, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Admiralteisky
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a completely delightful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

It's hard to describe Teplo in a way that does justice to how unusual and really lovely it is. I guess it starts with the fact the entrance is an outdoor play area for children. Once inside, you have a labyrinth of different rooms (don't worry, you'll be guided to a table by your waitress) each of which seems to be furnished and laid out like someone's living room. You can eat at a sofa/coffee table or at a regular dining table, whichever takes your fancy. The waitresses (I didn't see any males) are all so incredibly friendly and down to earth (in a completely unforced way); they just seem really happy to be working there. The food is simple and delicious. By simple, I mean unfussy, not unsophisticated. As a starter, I had potato pancakes with red caviar and sour cream that was just perfect. Then I had roast veal with wild mushrooms and brandy sauce (with an extra jug of sauce, as it's so delicious they know you'll want to dip). Then a home made cream cake to finish. All absolutely perfect and served lighting fast, despite the fact that the place was full (which I assume it always is). My favourite restaurant in St Petersburg - and indeed anywhere for a very long time!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_c_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,736
    618
    159
    58
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
563 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Lovely unpretentious restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a hidden gem in the center of St. Petersburg, tucked away in one of the busy streets of the northwestern district. I ended up there by chance, looking for a decent place to have dinner.
The place was busy and I had to wait some minutes before getting a free table, on their nice terrace.
Unfortunately, the potatoe blinis were sold out, which I found out later are their signature dish. I had a very fresh turbot with seasonal vegetables. The wine list was very decent.
Very attentive and cordial staff. I was impressed by their knowledge about the menu (ingredients and their source).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hazinheira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“heart warming experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The environment is lovely, when you enter, you can immediately feel the loveliness of the cafe.
After looking around the cafe, you will be greeted by very lovely decorated and wrapped menu, some even with furry covers. The menu consists of different food from different countries, not just russian, but thai, japanese, italian etc.
We ordered two homemade drinks which was in a huge cup (we eventually didnt manage to finish one, and the waiter offered us to take away), two salad starters (nice with the sauce), two main (love the fried potatoes; though chicken teriyaki was disappointing) and one dessert (regret for not ordering the tiramisu which looks so yummy but I was so full).
The bill wasnt as high as other similar standard restaurants, instead, it was quite low I would say.
Overall, great experience and would recommend anyone to try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Teplo Warms your heart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The best place we ate during our 5 days stay in SPB. Great menu, excellently prepared, very good atmosphere, excellent service (both Stasya and Nastya were great!) and excellent value for your money.
We came back 2 more times to eat there and were very happy each time.
It should be No.1 restaurant in SPB!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FigaroAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wish it was nearer.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Quirky is a much over used word and can have sinister overtones. This place is quirky in the best sense! Off a courtyard and down some steps you enter a warm welcoming room with a giant wardrobe which swallows the essential coats and hats. The tables are very well spaced through a series of linked rooms. Some have sofas and arm chairs beside fireplaces and one has a football table ready for use. The menus are in photograph albums with information interspersed with whacky black and white photos.
Staff were friendly and informative and most spoke good English. But the main attraction was the food. Sublime! Fresh, flavoursome and clever. Clean tastes and lots of it. Definite home cooked flavours and wonderful combinations. WIne was good value, but there is an enormous choice of drinks, alcoholic and non, made freshly on site. Some very unusual refreshing tastes, the home made lemonade was very tempting. The desserts were magical, light and sweet and leaving you feeling delighted not stuffed.
Suffice to say we went more than once!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindseybythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teplo also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Teplo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing