We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service”
Review of Tandoor

Tandoor
Ranked #22 of 10,500 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Admiralteisky
Description: The oldest Indian restaurant in Saint Petersburg. True Indian cooking and hospitality since 1994. Enjoy the ultimate experience in fine Indian dining in the very heart of Saint Petersburg by St. Isaac’s square. From perfectly spiced curries, succulent Tandoor kebabs and straight-from -the-oven naans, to wide variety of vegetarian dishes and homemade desserts. Here, everyone will find something to satisfy one’s taste buds. We speak English! Wi-Fi, Kids welcome, take-away, indian music
cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Welcome was great at Tandoor, our coats hung up in cloakroom. For a few minutes we were the only customers but then some other couples arrived. Service was great, there when you needed to order etc but not hanging around aimlessly. The food was very good, a chicken kadai, Bengal fish curry, jeera rice and a butter naan. We were asked how spicy we would like the dishes and they were served at just the right level of spiciness. Not cheap eats but comparable with other restaurants we visited in St Petersburg. All in all a very positive experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alaquiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    182
    47
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

It was really good food. Our indian was a bit rusty -food wise- and they helped us out. Close to our hotel, that was a major plus. The one down side would be the price of wine and maybe food. But then again, quality wise it was worth it

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_2304_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Indian dining in Russia”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I've eaten in a few Indian restaurants during my time in Russia (mostly Moscow) and this tops the lot. Lovely varied business lunch at a great price with great service. I'll definitely come back next time I'm in St. Pete's.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Indian cuisine in Saint Petersburg”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I was in Tandoor twice with my family. The first time we went there I was a bit skeptical. I just didn't believe that there could be a good Indian restaurant in Russia. Tandoor proved that I was wrong. Just disregard the portrait of President Putin on the wall next to the entrance and enjoy the food. It is delicious, portions are big, prices are good too. I liked the decor and appreciated the service. Waiters spoke English and were knowledgable. Try naan and any curry, or any vegetarian option. The combination of spices and the presentation were great. The only thing I would change would be a time for our dinner. We were always hungry and went to the restaurant at about 6pm when they weren't so many people, next time we will come a bit later.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food was customized according to our taste and served spicy food. We enjoyed the food, ambience and great location.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sankarbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoor also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Tandoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing