We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delighting experiences”
Review of Palkin

Palkin
Ranked #18 of 10,303 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $56 - $225
Cuisines: European, Russian, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Imatra, Finland
Level Contributor
199 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Delighting experiences”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The restaurant was established in 1874, and then again in 2002 after the Soviet collapse. The inside has a lot of glamor and the basins with live seafood make you feel that there is class in the food as well. From the start until the finish the service was excellent and the staff spoke very good English. I ordered freshly squeezed apple juice that was plain fantastic, and the waiters made a show filling all our (five people) glasses simultaneously. The waiters were always there were you and e.g. when I returned from the bathroom, a waiter appeared from somewhere to help me with my chair without making a number of it.

We ordered traditional Russian, that meaning Mushroom Soup, Bortsch, Schii, Stroganoff, Pelmenis, and got a couple of chef's surprises as well. One big nice surprise was "the Russian Winter show" that they produced all of a sudden while serving strawberry parfaits. The portions were nice looking, and had a home-cooking feel to them and they tasted very good - I'm not saying that they were the best I've ever had, but they were good, and they were not small portions.

You will certainly get your lunch cheaper almost anywhere else, but this is a Russian Culture Program number one. Go for it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HarriHirvela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    151
    46
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Glamourous and chic! If you are coming ro St Petersburg, dont miss this place. Fantastic food and presentation, with service to match. Pricey, but what can i say, if you want quality you have to pay for it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning Impirial Splendor”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This really is a must if you like your fine dinning, its beautifully decorated, extremely glamorous inside with perfect appointed rooms and friendly disarming staff. They are extremely attentive without being overbearing.

The food was beautiful and well presented, it tasted divine.

There was a real drama about the service of the food we have never had any place else, the shchi (traditional russian soup) was served with a pie crust lid, a flourish and a shot of vodka, it was a real event.

Also look forward to the breath of Russian winter, i wont spill the beans as to what it is but it really is a brilliant touch by the restaurant to add even more je ne sais quoi to an already spectacular place.

The only thing id say is the wine is pricey but then it was in every other restaurant we went to in St Petersburg.

I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nickobravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nyet!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Palkin gets one star for its space, a gilt and silk baroque pair of rooms in an old Russian Palace on Nevsky Prospekt. But that is really about it. It is as expensive as hell, even by NYC standards. Do no, under any circumstances buy a glass of champagne as offered when seated, it will set you back 1600 rubles or about $35. There is no low end, or even reasonable end on the wine list. I first ordered Crozes Hermitage for 6100 rubles, $225 or so, about $30 retail back in the States, they were out, settled for a Chateauneuf de Pape or 6900 rubles. A simple Chateaubriand was 1760 rubles, and adequate Beef Stroganoff 890 rubles. Dinner for two was about $600, what you pay at a 4 star NYC eatery like Daniel or Jean George, and the food here was no where near that league.

St Petersburg is a conundrum. I will be writing more about it in the coming days. It is basically still a kleptocracy. Restaurants like Palkin exemplify this tendency to rob you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very upscale, first class restaurant”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

As others have expressed, it is not inexpensive, but we found it to be reasonable given the quality of the ambiance, service and especially the food. In fact, a comparable restaurant in Manhattan, London or Paris would likely cost more. We had no complaints, all the food was terrific, the wine list complete, and the service very attentive. It is well worth the money. That said, you could easily make the bill dramatically expensive by choosing caviar and some of the pricier wines.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palkin also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Palkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing