We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great First Experience”
Review of Repa

Repa
Reserve a Table
Ranked #61 of 12,171 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Price range: $23 - $78
Description: The Repa, serving Russian cuisine, has opened on the site of legendary restaurant Backstage, once a favourite haunt of St. Petersburg's bohemian theatre community. The name is no accident: "repa" is Russian for turnip, a staple in the diet of ancient Slavs, and a distinct feature of Russian cuisine. The restaurant's interior was created by Russian designer Alena Akhmadullina. Historic autographs of brilliant figures from the arts world, such as Maya Plisetskaya, Placido Domingo, Diana Vishneva, and Mihail Chemiakin have been preserved on the walls. With a focus on produce and provenance, the restaurant's short menu features interesting ingredients from different regions of Russia and other Eurasian Customs Union countries. Head chef Igor Zorin takes his guests on a unique gastronomic journey, inviting them to rediscover long forgotten tastes and try something new. Every dish on the menu is made using authentic produce and seasonal ingredients, making them truly unique.
Restaurant details
Description: The Repa, serving Russian cuisine, has opened on the site of legendary restaurant Backstage, once a favourite haunt of St. Petersburg's bohemian theatre community. The name is no accident: "repa" is Russian for turnip, a staple in the diet of ancient Slavs, and a distinct feature of Russian cuisine. The restaurant's interior was created by Russian designer Alena Akhmadullina. Historic autographs of brilliant figures from the arts world, such as Maya Plisetskaya, Placido Domingo, Diana Vishneva, and Mihail Chemiakin have been preserved on the walls. With a focus on produce and provenance, the restaurant's short menu features interesting ingredients from different regions of Russia and other Eurasian Customs Union countries. Head chef Igor Zorin takes his guests on a unique gastronomic journey, inviting them to rediscover long forgotten tastes and try something new. Every dish on the menu is made using authentic produce and seasonal ingredients, making them truly unique.
Reviewed March 6, 2019 via mobile

My first visit here was amazing, the butter was incredibly good! The meal I got was really good, and I hope to visit again soon.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Tanner L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SashaYakovleva, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Repa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Hello!

Thank you so much for your feedback.
It is so important for us to hear such a pleasant word about our work.

Glad to see you next time in The Repa, hope very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 388 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2019 via mobile

I have visited Repa restaurant together with female friends after ballet at Mariinsky theatre. I love the interior of the restrairant a lot, the food is tasty, service and location are good. So I can recommend it as it's a great place to visit after theatre.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank oguselnikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Александра Я, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Repa, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2019

Hello Olga G,

Thank you very much for such positive comments, we are really happy to know that you and your friends really enjoyed our food and our service.

Hope to see you again soon in The Repa for another remarkable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2019 via mobile

On a Monday we visited because of birthday of girlfriend.
We chose the 4 course 'sea' menu. Which was very good price for what we got.

Restaurant has nice atmosphere too.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank ameland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Александра Я, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Repa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2019

Hello!

Thank You for the time taken to share such pleasant review: this means a lot for us.

We hope we will soon greet you once more at The Repa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2018 via mobile

My children and I came here after the Nutcracker next door. What a treat! The decor and service were lovely and the food was great. As an added bonus, there was a discount on most of our food with our Mariinsky ticket. Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank AmyDakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Александра Я, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Repa, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2018

Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us about your dinner in The Repa.

We hope you will have the chance to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2018 via mobile

From the caviar to the desserts, all dishes were immaculate, as was the service. We combined it with a visit to the Mariinsky: the Mariinsky was great, but Repa won.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank LidAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Александра Я, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Repa, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2018

Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about the dinner in The Repa.

We hope you will have the chance to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Repa also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Repa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing