We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden
Ranked #60 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
peterborough
2 reviews
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Good hotel. Convenient location.Very friendly and responsive staff.Rooms are nice with comfy beds.Two things I didn't like 1, breakfast + dinner time my room smelt of BBQ, 2, walls are very thin and you can hear your neighbours upstairs ,downstairs and on the sides. if neighbours bang the door your mirror on the wall shakes.But I still think is a good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bossygirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evgenia C, Администратор at Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear bossygirl3,

Thank you very much for finding time to write your feedback about our hotel. It’s a great pleasure for us to know that you liked staying in Original Olympia Garden. The location of the hotel is indeed very convenient as it is situated just two metro stations away from the very city centre but at the same time thanks to the green surroundings of the park you feel protected from the outside noise of the city.
I am very pleased to know that you found our staff to be friendly and responsive. We always try to provide our guests with the best service and I am very happy to know that you appreciate it.
I feel very sorry that you were disappointed with the soundproofing of the walls I your room. Of course, we will pass this information to the management and I hope that in the future we will be able to solve this problem. Anyway, I hope that it didn’t spoil your overall good impression of the hotel, and when you are back to Saint Petersburg, you will visit our hotel again. We will be waiting for you.
Thank you very much again and have a good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    341
    129
    29
    20
See reviews for
94
240
53
280
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

7 nights in this Hotel. The lighting system in the rooms is just amazing. you go to bed and get up to use the toilet... can you get the lights back on! Struggle, press this way and that. So wet feet happens! Not such a worry in the light nights. The reception knew of it but shrug shoulders.
The breafkast and dining room is really nice and with open lit fire. Pity the food is not so great. It looks great, but the quality is poor. Run out of yugurt at 7am!
The staff do not know how to smile, nor the word "sorry". Do they have that word in russian?
Desks staff command of English is variable and requests for information on using the local trains to get out to Peterhof, and then Tsarskoe Selo were met with mild amazement. "our guests go by taxi"! We did use the trains... way more fun than tour buses.
The location of the hotel is good with trolley bus and tram route very close. Metro too, but over ground is more fun again, unless going far to Victory Monument etc.

Room Tip: half of the rooms face inward to a modern day blank prison yard... facing all the rest of your expen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evgenia C, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Donald M,

We really appreciate that you have spent your time on leaving the review about your stay in Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden.
I would like to bring you my sincere apologies for incorrect behaviour from our staff. I understand that in your case it was the main dissapointment, and it is really pity to hear. We had some problems with the light connection, but now it is solved already. But if the staff will react differently I don't think that you would have bad feelings afterwards. I promise you that we make small trainings for the staff on the daily basis - attentive attitude and sincere smiles are on the first place. Of course, we will have a discusstion with them again. I really hope that someday you will have a chance to come back and you can see the difference!

I would like to say sorry one more time!

With best regards,

Evgenia Chirkova.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and found it very convenient for exploring St.Petersburg. It's in a quiet residential area with a nice park and is close to a supermarket and a souvenir shop on a corner on the way to the metro station, which is about a 7 minute walk. There is a good Chinese restaurant on a corner towards the other end of the same street.
Our room (no. 538) was very clean and had almost everything we want, including a superbly comfortable bed, TV with the BBC and CNN, a bar fridge, safe and a street view. One omission was that there was no kettle for making tea. The room was rather small, but not claustrophobic. The internal walls are quite thin, and we could feel the door of the next room being slammed.
The breakfast selection was very good, and the dining area had a fireplace and a lot of character.
We booked a taxi transfer to the Finland Station and were quoted R900; when we said that was too expensive, they came down to R600, which made us think they should have quoted R600 in the first place. The taxi didn't look like a taxi and had no meter, but it was clean and there was no problem. It appeared to be a hotel 'taxi'.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stickman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evgenia C, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Mr.Stickman,

We are so grateful to you that you have spent your time on leaving a constructive review about your stay at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden. It is so nice to hear that you liked our location, wonderful beds, our good food and nice interior in the restaurant - everything we do is just for your comfort! Our concierge gave you different price for the transportation just because we have two options - hotel car and city taxi, which is less expensive. Of course, we should give you two options, we will definately take it into consideration.

Hopefully, you will get a chance to come back to our lovely city again - remember, that you always have a place where you are more than welcomed!

With kindest regards,

Evgenia Chirkova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour of Russia with Titan tours.Our room on arrival was a standard room.Very small for 4 nights.We upgraded to a junior suite which was much better with a lovely view.On showing me the room the receptionist, who was very polite asked if there was a reason we were upgrading i told her it was our 20th Wedding Anniversary.At that point she carried on showing me the room and never mentioned our Anniversary again.Most good hotels train their staff to at least put a bowl of fruit or some small token if a guest has a special occassion.
We were also booked in for a buffet meal.Please dont bother.the food was awful,dried up,and very little choice.
As a group we were seated at the back of the restaurant in what i can only describe as a dark dungeon.Very little light and they had the cheek to call it the terrace.
It appeared for some reason they wanted to keep us seperate from other guests who were sat in a very nicely appointed restaurant.
If i was going to St Petersburg again i would not stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1834jules_philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evgenia C, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear 1834jules_philip,

I would like to thank you for your feedback. Please, accept my sencere apologies for ignoring your wedding anniversary. I totally understand your feelings - it is a special occasion in your life, but we didn't pay attention to this. May I assure you that it is not a common practice for us, we always congatulate our guests with birthdays, weddings and other special dates if we have information about it. But that misunderstanding happened and I am really sorry for that.

With warmest regards,

Evgenia Chirkova.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
202 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Excellent accommodation in St. Petersburg.

The room is nicely furnished with good quality furniture.

The food is good here. The breakfast area is very comfortable with a large fireplace.

They have another restaurant Russian pub sort of style which is enhanced with brightly coloured seating.

We ate dinner here 2 evenings and found the service very slow at times. If you are in a hurry to go somewhere later you may wish to let the restaurant staff know that you are in a hurry. In Russia things can move at a snail's pace.

Our stay here was enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Ken J,
We would like to thank you for having stayed at the Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden on the occasion of your recent trip to Saint Petersburg. We always appreciate the feedback we get from our guests and it is very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We have taken your comments about your experience at the Restaurant Fransmanni, at dinner. It gives us the chance to improve our services and standards.
Thank you again for sharing your comments, and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely,
Diana Shpilevskaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

What a great weather in St Petersburg last weekend. The city was perfect to start summer season.
The hotel - Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden was perfect choice too. Its location allowed us transfer easily every where in the city - by walk, metro and taxi).
Friendly and young staff served us with smile - whatever was our request. The hotel room was clean and air condition worked well. Room service was quick. Thanks, we ll return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evgenia C, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear MLJ66,

Thank you so much for your sunny feedback about your stay in Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden! It is so important for us, espacially now when it's raining again in our lovely city! We are always at your disposal and we'll be so glad to see you again and share our smiles with you!

With warmest regards,

Evgenia Chirkova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Visited this clean and comfortable hotel in February for business. Rooms are adequite sized and sleep quality was excellent (loved the pillows). Breakfast was average, nothing special to rave about. Bar/restaurant downstairs offers burgers etc, can be recommended in a need of quick bite. Hotel provides toiletries from the reception against a small fee.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tebessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evgenia C, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Tebessa,

Thank you very much for spending your time to leave review about Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden. It is important for us to understand what makes your stay comfortable and analyze weak sides where we need improvement. Of course, the highest rating for us is when our guests come back! I really hope that you will have a chance to visit Saint-Petersburg and will choose our hotel for your stay!

With warmest regards,

Evgenia Chirkova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevsky
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevsky
#26 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#42 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Kolomna
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center West/Pushkin Hotel
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center ...
#41 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#47 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Liteyny
Radisson Sonya Hotel
Radisson Sonya Hotel
#56 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#17 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden

Property: Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden
Address: Bataiskiy Lane, 3A, St. Petersburg 190013, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden is the only hotel in St. Petersburg located in the historical center and yet having such an easy transport access to the airport, Expoforum and Moskovsky railway station. The hotel is a perfect destination for a 'Cosy living, Smart working' surrounded by a green park for energizing walks and morning runs. A 'Mezanine' floor with 14 multi-functional meeting rooms makes our hotel the business place to be. In contrast to modern and up-to-date conference floor, one can enjoy a cosy atmosphere in Fransmanni restaurant, where the warmth of the fireplace will make you go straight from working condition to the weekend mood. 348 rooms at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden are a great mix of coziness and functionality decorated with natural materials and textiles. Sports translations, high quality beer and tasty burgers will make an ideal end of the day with your friends or colleagues in 'Sports' Bar 84'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing