We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay in st. Petersburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden
Ranked #49 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed at sokos olympia garden in june 9-15 with my husband in a junior suite booked from their official website (cheaper than booking.com and most of all available in the period i needed).
Very large room, european modern style furnished, very good cleaning and helpful staff at the reception (they hire for me a car and a driver to go to marininsky theatre for a ballet at a reasonable price).
We didn't have breakfast, in my opinion too expensive (about 25 euros). Nice and cheap cafè 'starbucks style' (with free wifi) just in front of the metro station.
Very good food at the pub in the hall, very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere.
10min walk to the metro station (two lines) and two stops to nevsky prospect. Maybe a little too far (at least 30min to get to the main attraction).
It was negative they didn't send us the invitation letter in time, so we had to pay an extra to the agency for the visa.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iaia206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Iaia206,
Thank you for your review and your positive feedback.

We are happy to hear that you had very comfortable stay in our hotel! It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed staying in our junior suite room and have found our staff to be helpful and friendly.
I am sorry we didn’t send you visa support letter in time, I will pass your feedback to our reservation department and we will improve our service.
We are looking forward to your next visit!
Kind regards,
Anna Chuklova
Front Office Manager
Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,002)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

My adventure with this Hotel started in last year in November.
Business trip were for 2 weeks and 2 weekend i had to spend in this Hotel. First weekend everything were great. Awesome room with really huge and nice bed, great bathroom with bath, not with the shower. and view to the yard (nothing special just other people windows) Good and nice service.
Next weekend i came again and had amount of troubles. My company made me a reservation by booking.com without a payment letter of guarantee. And as i had only euro cash with me and no company credit card. I tried to solve the problem and called to my office stuff but it was friday evening and was hard to reach them. After all they told me that will send me new booking with the letter of guarantee on next day. Okay. it's about 23:00. I am after 10 hours of train. Tired. In the middle of St. Petersburg. With euro cash money that Hotel does not accept. But they offered me to go to find money exchange and showed me even map:) I went. Walking there for 20 minutes finally - money exchange we closed. To say i was angry and tired...:) I went back to Hotel and told to reception that we have 2 possibilities. 1. they accept my euro cash. 2 they call me taxi and i will go to another Hotel. Room rate for this Hotel were 100 eur/night.
Thanks to kind reception stuff they give me room and took my documents. I asked smoking room by this time. Then i came to the room i saw great view in window! But the smell in the room were like last guests had there at least 2 packs of cigarettes and last 2 hours.
I opened the window.
In the morning i noticed that...i have huge hall in the ceiling of the corridor. Because of the open window wind flow moved it?:D Goosh scary movie:)
On this evening i came back to hotel and went by elevator to 6th floor but couldn do it because my card didn't work and twice i went to parking:D With huge bags i went to reception and the made me new one. I went to 6th floor went to my room and it was kind far from elevator especially if you are with bags. And my card couldn't open my room:D I went back to reception...and they made me new card.
Next morning, we my last morning in this Hotel. Check out is at 12 o'clock. After the shower i were sitting on the bed in towel. And my door were opened. Oh. Cleaning lady came to my room!:D Sow me in towel make her excuses and went out:D

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Elina B,

Thank you very much for your feedback!
We appreciate that you have chosen our hotel for you business trips to St. Petersburg. We are glad that you liked our rooms and our service.
I am sorry for the inconveniences you faces with a our payment system. Due to our hotel policy all reservations made from booking.com are not prepaid, credit card number used only to guarantee reservation in case of no show. Payment should be done directly in the hotel by cash or credit card. If reservation to be paid by third party we ask to fulfil card holder third party payment agreement thereby all security policies are followed. Due to the Russian legislation we are not allowed to accept any foreign currency exept Russian rubles. That is why we kindly ask our customers to exchange money in the banks or currancy exanche offices which are located near our hotel, some of them work 24/7. We also have currency exchange machine in our hotel, but due to security reasons it asks for credit card as ID.
We do not recommend our guests to open the windows because of the mosquitos and as sometimes it may cause draughts. I am sorry that it happened to your room. We do have air conditioning system which will refresh the room perfectly well.
Please accept our apologies for the demagnetized key and housekeeping lady entering your room before check-out time, we will do our best to prevent it in future.
I hope this situations will not spoil your impression about our hotel and you will come back again!

Kind regards,

Anna Chuklova
Front Office Manager
Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

If you are arriving from the airport this hotel is located well on the way to the centre. Apart from that you need to be prepared to either use the metro (just a 10 minute walk away) or other ways of transportation to get you to the sights and business locations.

The building is fairly new and located by the Olympia park and a quiet side street.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and modern but without any wow effect.
Beds are comfortable, tv has good reception and A/C works perfectly well.

The Fransmanni restaurant serves a sumptuous breakfast but it gets very busy during the tourist season. The bar is certainly ok for a hotel bar but the outdoor veranda lacks imagination.

Service is attentive and polite. Check-in and out is very smooth for a Russian hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrottingfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Dear Matkallataas,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback!
I am happy to hear that you find our hotel nearly flawless! I am glad that you like our hotel services and especially that you found our breakfast sumptuous. We will do our best to keep our service on the same level and try to bring wow effect to the hotel atmosphere.

We are looking forward to your next visit in our city!

Kind regards,

Anna Chuklova
Front Office Manager/ Deputy General Manager
Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Very lovely rooms, comfy beds, very clean. Close to metro station. Only issue is safety at the hotel. pick pockets are rampant in the hotel and lobby an issue that's needs addressing. Even while checking in people where pick pocketed in the line waiting and while waiting for a lift also. Very bad issue that needs addressing. restaurant and rooms very good staff friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussieworldtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dmitry S, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Dear Aussieworldtripper,

Further to our discussion of this very unpleasant case in person I would like to apologies once again on behalf of the hotel team and our security company. Unfortunately, pick pocketing has global nature these days and all large cities suffer from it and St. Petersburg is not an exception.

May I assume that missing wallet at late evening hour in hotel lobby within many months should not necessarily mean “massive pick pocketing” and real threat to the hotel guests. However, the case is approached very seriously and further actions have been undertaken by the hotel management in cooperation with security company and police force.
I would like to assure you that safely and security of our guests is by far the key priority for Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden and hope to welcome you next time in Northern Venice.
Best regards,

Dmitry Shubin

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of a package deal. The room was satisfactory. The food in the restaurant was good and we ate there a few times. Great sauna facilities in the basement. Only a short walk to the metro, which is very cheap and easy to use (signs in Cyrillic and English).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank divebunny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Divebunny1,

Thank you very much for your review!
I am glad to hear that you found our hotel convenient! I am happy that you enjoyed our sauna facilities, it is always relaxing after a long day.

We are looking forward to your next visit in our city!

Kind regards,

Anna Chuklova
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

As a frequent business traveller I know quite a few hotels in St. Petersburg. Usually I tend to stay in more central locations, but the crowded summer tourist season forces to make adjustments. Sokos hotels in St.Pete offer reasonable value-for-money balance, albeit not the best locations. Olympia Garden is OK if you are comfortable with the metro or have a skilled driver who can navigate past roadworks and other frequent causes of spectacular traffic jams.

This time I noticed the Tripadvisor "Trendiest Hotel 2012" -plaque and after suffering messy breakfasts among equally messy tourist groups from Southern Europe, it crossed my mind that the hotel could offer separate breakfast catering for individual guests and tourist groups. I bet business travelers would find the offer very attractive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaaremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Kaaremi,

Thank you for your review!
I am glad to hear that you found our hotel good value-for-money, that is what we want to be for our guests. I will pass your feedback about the breakfast to our Food & Beverage Director and I am sure you will like it next time!

We look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

Anna Chuklova
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I have very unhappy experience of staying in this hotel. During the breakfast in its restaurant I got the heavy burn by pouring the boiling hot water from the teapot (it has very improper form). Nobody even try to help me when I suffer from pain. Only when I managed to leave the hotel and get to nearest store, the shop-assistant called for ambulance and they brought me to the hospital.
So, this hotel can be really dangerous for your health.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
Thank Anastasia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear Anastasia

We would like to express our apology for this horrible incident which took place in our restaurant. The safety and security of our guests is the key priority in our hotel and, therefore, the whole case was carefully studied by our management team including deep investigation of video records. We are truly sorry that the action taken by our restaurant manager Tatiana Meleshko, namely providing you with ice, remedy for burns and offering you ambulance services was not satisfactory for you to feel being cared and assisted.

Please note that all our F&B equipment including beverage dispensers and tea pots are purchased from reputable global suppliers and correspond to international hospitality safety standards. The “hot water” and “Braised tea” signs are placed next to them to inform our guests about the content.

Once again we would like to apologies for this incidents and quarantine you that we have undertaken all necessary measures to prevent similar cases in future.

Best regards,

Anna Chuklova
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
#28 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,188 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#32 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,475 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Courtyard by Marriott St. Peters...
#46 of 359 in St. Petersburg
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
#39 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,260 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#12 of 359 in St. Petersburg
916 reviews
AZIMUT Hotel Saint Petersburg
#73 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden

Address: Bataiskiy Lane, 3A, St. Petersburg 190013, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $49 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden is the only hotel in St. Petersburg located in the historical center and yet having such an easy transport access to the airport, Expoforum and Moskovsky railway station. The hotel is a perfect destination for a 'Cosy living, Smart working' surrounded by a green park for energizing walks and morning runs. A 'Mezanine' floor with 14 multi-functional meeting rooms makes our hotel the business place to be. In contrast to modern and up-to-date conference floor, one can enjoy a cosy atmosphere in Fransmanni restaurant, where the warmth of the fireplace will make you go straight from working condition to the weekend mood. 348 rooms at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden are a great mix of coziness and functionality decorated with natural materials and textiles. Sports translations, high quality beer and tasty burgers will make an ideal end of the day with your friends or colleagues in 'Sports' Bar 84'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing