We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art center Norway”
Review of Hotel Karelia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Karelia
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Petrozavodsk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

The location is OK, but that is the only positive to say about the hotel. The rroms are small, hot and the minibsr is making so much noise thst you csnt sleep. The receptionists never smiles, and the spa center is always full. The breakfast has low standard with hot juice and no choises, not even a boiled egg. The worst about the place is the people working there, they are rude and not willing to help in any way. You get a breakfast card and have to give it to one of the workers, then another worker is asking for the same and since you gave the card to the first one and dont have any youll be kicked out!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank hjordisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 200 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Located on the shore of the lake, stunning views from the room. The room is huge, everything is new in very good style. Breakfast - a huge selection of hot and cold dishes, champagne, fruit. There SPA, sauna and swimming pool for guests free of charge.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slava_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

view was good, location not so good - close to amusement park and with view on commercial harbour
the rooms are rather small and have no airco, however have balconies and you can open windows - balconies have no real separation between rooms so there is a privacy problem
My mattres was showing signs of tiredness... and a couple of hairs inthe bathroom did not belong to me....
Had one dinner and several breakfasts - food was OK, but service was appaling - real Soviet like - they didn't give a s*** about the customer, no interaction, no service attitude and off course no smile

Room Tip: ask for rooms with view on the lake - others not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deflumine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Karelia for 5 days in March/April 2013 while working with colleagues at the Russian Academy of Sciences. This is not tourist season in Petrozavodsk, so occupancy rates seemed a bit on the low side.

The hotel arranged our visa invitations. The process was efficient and without charge.

We arrived on the late night train from Saint-Petersburg where we were met by a colleague and transported to the hotel. Check-in was efficient and we were given rooms on the 4th floor with a view over (frozen) Lake Onega.

Rooms were well maintained and comfortable. It appears that each room has a small balcony. Complimentary WiFi included in the rate as was breakfast which was extraordinary. Very large selection of Russian, Karelian and western foods, both hot and cold. The "chef's special salted trout" was a highlight.

We visited the hotel restaurant only once, although sat in the bar area and had soup and drinks. A little expensive but nice.

Unfortunately, we were unable to experience the fitness center/spa. We inquired early in the week but found out it was complimentary only between 7-9 AM. Not a problem - on our return to SpB, one of our Russian colleagues accompanied us to a "real" banya - a real "no holds barred" place and definitely not a spa - perhaps the subject of a separate review.

In all, I was very satisfied with Hotel Karelia and will certainly stay again when next in Petrozavodsk.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Didn't expect much of a hotel in a remote place like Petrozavodsk - even if capital of Karelia Republic - but was positively surprised. The highlight of the hotel is the cuisine. A sophisticated dietary menu similar to wellness hotels in the Bretagne, for example. Not cheap, as nothing is cheap in Russia, but better than in Moscow and definitely worth the money. Room prices start at ca. € 120 for a double. The receptionist lady was friendly and spoke English.The location at the Onega lake and the views are excellent too. Only the interior design could do with a nice upgrading.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I initially booked the Kalevala hotel out of town, which is similarly priced, but utterly dreadful and to be avoided at all costs. So after a very uncomfortable night I moved to the Karelia, which is in town, but actually far quieter and with infinitely better views over Lake Onega. It's ideally located a short walk from the dock with boats to Kizhi (a must-see) and a short walk from the town centre. The rooms are small but clean and modern. My bed was a bit on the small side. The restaurant serves good food, but over-priced. Beer is ludicrously over-priced by Russian standards (about 10 euros a pint, when you can get the same thing for 2 euros down the road). Waiting staff are polite and efficient. Breakfast is ample, easily worthy of a four-star. There's a tour office downstairs where you can book all your trips. Wi-fi is not free, but the charge is modest if you pay for a week of unlimited, and the connection is good and reliable. The view over the lake, especially at sunrise and sunset, is breathtaking. All in all I very much enjoyed my stay, but I felt 100 euros/night for a single (as of August 2011) was excessive. Hotels of this standard would tend to cost about 30% less in most provincial Russian cities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the lake - it's the hotel's biggest selling-point. And the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarryOwen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We went to visit Karelia in the Northern part of Russia two weeks ago. We wanted to visit Kizhi island and the beautiful ancient wooden churches. So we took a train to Petrozavodsk where we had booked our weekend stay at Karelia hotel. It is a great hotel with rooms with a view on the lake. The also offer a free massage at their spa center. Other convenience is that they have their own travel agency where you can book guides and tours. We booked a tour to Kizhi by Hydrofoil and decided not take the guide. The hydrofoil is only 5-10 minutes by foot from the hotel and easy to find. With it you are on Kizhi in 1:20 hrs.

Room Tip: Use the hotel travel agency to book a boat to Kizhi. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhand_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petrozavodsk hotels
1.5 mi away
Piter Inn Petrozavodsk
Piter Inn Petrozavodsk
#1 of 10 in Petrozavodsk
281 reviews
0.9 mi away
Onego Palace Hotel
Onego Palace Hotel
#3 of 10 in Petrozavodsk
220 reviews
1.2 mi away
Prionezhskiy Club Hotel
Prionezhskiy Club Hotel
#6 of 10 in Petrozavodsk
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Severnaya Hotel
Severnaya Hotel
#7 of 10 in Petrozavodsk
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Masks Hotel
The Masks Hotel
#10 of 10 in Petrozavodsk
35 reviews
1.0 mi away
13 Chairs Boutique Hotel
13 Chairs Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Petrozavodsk
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karelia

Address: Emb. Gyullinga, 2 | near Onego Lake, Petrozavodsk 185005, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > Republic of Karelia > Petrozavodsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Petrozavodsk
Price Range: $51 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Karelia 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Karelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing