We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget choice”
Review of Intourist Novgorod

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Intourist Novgorod
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Veliky Novgorod
Reviewed May 16, 2008

I staid at Intourist in Novgorod for one night with my boyfriend in May 2008. We booked it the day before by calling the hotel directly, and the lady at the reception spoke at least better English then what I speak Russian. We booked a standard double room. The price was 1800 rubles, or 48 euros for the room.

The hotel is located right next to the river and a 15 min walk from the Kreml. It took us roughly 30 min to walk to the busstation. If you want to pick up supplies, I think it´s wisest to do so in the center; not many stores in the area.

I requested a room with one bed, but the receptionist told me it might be difficult since everything was booked, and we called the day before. We got two beds placed next to each other. They were fairly comfortable The system for the sheets is that the blanket is not inside a sheet, but there is a sheet only covering the underside. Might be difficult if you are a restless sleeper. If you stay for longer then one night you might want to bring your own towel (especially girls with long hair...), since the towels provided was of the size 30cmx50cm. However, everything was clean and worked.

We also ate soup at the lobby bar, which was not maybe the best soljanka I've had in Russia, but it did the job late at night while being hungry and tired. We did not try the breakfast, it was roughly 200 rubles/person.

I would recommend this hotel to everybody who is looking for a priceworthy hotel with a touch of old Soviet atmosphere! However, I would not choose this one for a long stay or if I plan to spend a lot of time at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank N_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 347 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2007

I have stayed at the Intourist on two separate trips - August 2005 and September 2006. I have paid between $39 and $50 for a room. I actually quite fond of it as it is something of a 'Soviet retro' experience. On both occaisions the hotel was rather empty considering the season. The staff is the best feature, helpful and friendly. One of the best dinners in town can be had at the restaurant - which seems to never have a crowd. The cuisine is euro-russian, tasty, and it seems you can get almost anything on the menu even late in the day (- I dont know how they do it.) The rooms are austere but adequate. Typical of Soviet period - beds are mostly single. They have doubles but you had to pay much more. There is a dezhurnaya on the floor that will keep your refrigerated food, do laundry, other little tasks for a price. The bathrooms are adequate, although the shower is often open. floor level, and sometimes without a curtain. It is unbelievably quiet at night as it is a little off the main roads. You can easily walk to the Kremlin and downtwon from here - about 10 minutes. They have a business center and a tour office inside - they can set you up with walking tours, or a van and a guide if you wish. For the price I would definitely stay there again. By comparison, the Volkhov is more downtown, a little more up-do-date, and a little more expensive. I would stay at either again. From my experience, it would be easy to drop into town without a reservation and get setup with a room at the Intourist.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Missing_inSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2005

People is friendly and speak english.

Hostel was completely renewed, everything is clean. There is a restaurant in the hostel wich is excellent.

Rooms are OK but not as comfortable for the price.

To resume : a good choice since there is few hostels in Novgrod but a bit expensive.

5  Thank pthellier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Дмитрий Б
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Андрей Я
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank Marcela09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Zina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Veliky Novgorod hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn Veliky Novgorod
Park Inn Veliky Novgorod
#2 of 10 in Veliky Novgorod
577 reviews
0.8 mi away
Volkhov Hotel
Volkhov Hotel
#1 of 10 in Veliky Novgorod
429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sofia
Hotel Sofia
#4 of 10 in Veliky Novgorod
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sadko Hotel
Sadko Hotel
#6 of 10 in Veliky Novgorod
211 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosa Vetrov
Rosa Vetrov
#8 of 10 in Veliky Novgorod
63 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amaks Hotel Russia
Amaks Hotel Russia
#9 of 10 in Veliky Novgorod
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intourist Novgorod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intourist Novgorod

Address: Velikaya St., 16, Veliky Novgorod 173001, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > Novgorod Oblast > Veliky Novgorod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Veliky Novgorod
Price Range: $34 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Intourist Novgorod 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intourist Hotel is located in the historical, business and cultural center of Veliky Novgorod on the bank of the river Volkhov among numerous historic sites, near the Novgorod Kremlin, St.Sophia Cathedral, Monument to the Millennium of Russia, State Administration for the Novgorod Area and Drama Theatre. 180 Km to the nearest airport (Pulkovo, Saint-Petersburg). 3 Km to the railway and bus stations. Reasonable prices and flexible system of payments (cash, bank transfers, credit cards), wonderful location, high standards of service make Hotel "Intourist" attractive both for tourists and businessmen. Hotel Rooms Description We offer 118 rooms of different types and price levels, including standard singles, doubles, triples, comfort doubles, studios, suites and an apartment. The rooms are comfortably furnished, have a TV set, free Wi-Fi zone, a telephone communication service for long-distance calls, satellite TV, a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Intourist Novgorod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intourist Novgorod Novgorod Oblast/Veliky Novgorod, Russia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing