We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Russian city”

Novgorod Kremlin (Detinets)
Book In Advance
More Info
$136.60*
and up
Novgorod Small-Group Tour from St Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really Russian city”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Visiting Novgorod the GreatIt is nice way to get aquainted to ancient Russia. The visit to Novgorod would be nice addition to St. Petersburg visit. It is just about three hours drive (one way) from St. Petersburg. You will need the whole day but you will definitely like the trip. Provincial city seems to be a contrast to magnificent St. Petersburg, but that is exactly what makes your visit to Russia impressive and memorable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Olga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    757
    144
    16
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“It is truly worth the visit!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Been going to Novgorod for three years now and each time I go, I find another reason to come back.

I have never seen so many onion domed churches in my life than in Novgorod. It just a place that feels ancient and somewhat holy. It's a pretty cool feeling to be there, especially when you think about how few people have been.

It is a place somewhat untouched by tourists and somewhere to really see and feel ancient Russia. I personally love it here and the road to get here is lined with the most adorable wooden villages.

The market in town is one of my favorite in the world. The old grandmothers here sell the most beautiful birch items for the home!

The restaurant near the market also has delicious blinis and borscht.

The practical stuff - the city is about three hours - four hours from Saint Petersburg. You can get there by car rental, bus, train. I've always hired a driver for the day, so that I could make stops along the road to take pictures. Make sure that the day in which you want to go that the kremlin and St. Sophia is open.

I have also used Maria Rosa tours to take me to Novgorod. They are excellent and always provide a guide fluent in your language.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Simbelina14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Novgorod: The Best Part of our Trip to Russia!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Did you notice that a good number of Novgorod reviews come for Russians? That's because they know how wonderful this city is. Despite the fact that almost no one in Novgorod speaks English fluently (other than the amazing guy at the Visitor's Center) we LOVED our visit to this city. Here, you'll find ancient, simple churches and a collection of icons that is beyond belief. No palaces or showy cathedrals here, no tour groups. Instead, when we walked over to the Kremlin at 10:00 am after an extremely helpful stop at the Visitor's Center, we were met with the sounds of bells. We followed the sound to discover two men way up in the bell tower ringing a large collection of bells. The sound was truly gorgeous and the experience magical. After the bells stopped ringing, we walked over to the side door of St. Sophia's, following others. Once inside, we slipped along the side to watch the service from the back. The chanting was gorgeous and the devotion of the people truly moving. No tourists other than us.

Next, we went to the Historical Museum (more on that in another review). Across the footbridge we thoroughly enjoyed more ancient churches, as well as the best gift store we found in Russia (St. Petersburg and Moscow, included). It's a small shop mixed in with the churches in the area across the river from the Kremlin and the items are extremely well chosen and very inexpensive. Ask at the Visitor's Center for directions. As others have said, we gained a sense of Russian history and the Russian psyche from our visit to Novgorod.

We stayed 2 nights, which seemed perfect. Took the bus here from St. Petersburg and the train back. The bus ride is a bit long (3 3/4 hours), but I would take it at least one way because you get great views of the countryside -- all the old wooden houses and small villages -- stuff you won't see in the cities. Also, the bus was very comfy for catching up on sleep (not true of the train).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Celia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Novgorod "the great" ... well named!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

With a very knowledgable local Guide from the museum, we entered The Kremlin not from the city side but from the river side. This contrast between the modern-day beach-facilities on the river and the very well restored ancient buildings in The Kremlin are very stark. Although primarily churches, the military significance of The Kremlin is well highlighted. The feature-piece is the Milleneum monument. This is the history of the centuries past, all in one place. Outside the walls of The Kremlin is a flea-market with good bargains in local craftsmanship. Only a short walk from most hotel accommodation and affordable cafes and restaurants. Flat walking all the way!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GabBaz2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Visit the Kremlin in Veliki Novgorod to feel Russia”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

A visit to the Kremlin in Veliki Novgorod will let you touch the soul of the Russian history. This old and former capital in the North west of Russia will unveil the history of the Tsars and their families before the time of Peter the Great. You will enjoy the sites and this nice city and therefore recommend it to visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rfmunsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Novgorod Kremlin (Detinets) also viewed

Veliky Novgorod, Novgorod Oblast
 
Veliky Novgorod, Novgorod Oblast
Veliky Novgorod, Novgorod Oblast
 

Been to Novgorod Kremlin (Detinets)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing