We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, great hotel!”
Review of Volkhov Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Volkhov Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Veliky Novgorod
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2010

I had a great experience at the Volkhov hotel. The rooms were clean and nice, the staff was extremely helpful, and you can't beat the location. The Kremlin and Yaroslav's court are less than five minutes away. Also, the hotel restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sashenka_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 422 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed at Volkhov Hotel for just one night. It´s very close to the Kremlin and Yaroslav´s Court, so it´s very convenient. Staff at front desk are very helpful and there´s a very nice breakfast buffet. The hotel restaurant is very nice too and prices are pretty fair. Room is clean, but there´s no air conditioning nt even fans. This way it was not easy to sleep since the room was very hot.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliviaBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

This hotel is an excellent choice to explore Novgorod. Great location with an amazing cafe (coffee world tea life) right around the corner. The breakfasts were good and the staff was friendly. They allowed us a late check out and spoke english enough to help us when needed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airyhillstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Novgorod was one of the most hospitable Rudssian destinations. This hotel was well located and friendly. Desk staff speaks some english. Breakfast was good. Room was OK. all the plumbing dripped and they did not seem able to get it fixed. I stayed two nights, They continue to try to get me to pay for another night, claiming that I stayed for three. If you book directly the cost is 20% less than if you go through a booking agency. If you stay here be sure to get very good documentation about the length of your stay and thaty you paid in full.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank revilorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

The hotel is average, I would say one grade worse than Beresta in the same city.
The rooms are clean, staff friendly, no problems with credit cards, what could be a nightmare at some Russian hotels. Breakfast - ok. It is located right behind the Townhall, some 300m from Kremlin, so you're not far from the heart of Russia :)

There is one thing that makes this hotel different and worth staying: a display of items left by hotel guests. All the items are stored on several glass display, in chronological order. The display starts in early 1960s, with things like shaving razors, communist party id's or "tshekist' handbook" and ends in XXI century, with mobile phones and stuff.

"Should go" from me :)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macieii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

I stayed at this Hotel in October 2008 for 3 nights. Went to Novgorod because it has connections with medieval Russia. Don’t miss the Millennium Monument inside the Kremlin.
Attractions were its location, which my guide book map told me was a stone’s throw from the Kremlin (Detinets) and the rate, which was very reasonable.
It is not a superior hotel but it is quite adequate. Clean and tidy and very functional. Comfortable and well furnished rooms. Helpful staff, a very good buffet breakfast included, restaurant provides a pretty good evening meal too. Convenience shops for snacks and fresh food also very close
On the last day, I was catching the overnight train to Moscow. I left my baggage at the hotel until mid- evening (no charge) and then walked to the station with baggage for my train at 2015 hrs. Train 042. This took maybe 15 minutes.
I had bought my ticket at Novgorod Station 2 days prior. US$40 approx to Moscow overnight. Great price. 3rd class (Plazkart). No cabins. Communal sleeping. No issues Very social.
Bolshoya St Petersburg Ulitsa is the main street. Worhty of a look. I bought a Russian keybord.
I had three full days and there was plenty to see and do. This is a wonderful destination. Hotel was great and location location....

DCtheKIwi

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Acedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

My daughter and I stayed one night here. Nice location on edge of old town. Quiet, clean, no-frills hotel with nice breakfast. It is just two blocks from our favorite restaurant in the entire town: Nice People. We ate there three times.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel4biz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Veliky Novgorod hotels
1.3 mi away
Park Inn Veliky Novgorod
Park Inn Veliky Novgorod
#2 of 10 in Veliky Novgorod
569 reviews
0.8 mi away
Intourist Novgorod
Intourist Novgorod
#3 of 10 in Veliky Novgorod
344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acron Hotel
Acron Hotel
#4 of 10 in Veliky Novgorod
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sofia
Hotel Sofia
#6 of 10 in Veliky Novgorod
19 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sadko Hotel
Sadko Hotel
#5 of 10 in Veliky Novgorod
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosa Vetrov
Rosa Vetrov
#8 of 10 in Veliky Novgorod
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volkhov Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volkhov Hotel

Address: Predtechenskaya St., 24, Veliky Novgorod 173007, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > Novgorod Oblast > Veliky Novgorod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Veliky Novgorod
Price Range: $44 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Volkhov Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Volkhov" is located in the centre of a historical part of Novgorod the Great, in immediate proximity from the ancient Kremlin and the Sofia embankment. The hotel includes all the components for residing at time of a business trip or travel: a modern technical equipment, service and the best conditions for having a rest. The closeness to the centre of a city business life and the convenient transport opportunities create comfortable conditions both for active work, and for a good rest which is needed after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Volkhov Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volkhov Hotel Novgorod Oblast/Veliky Novgorod, Russia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing