We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very bad, overpriced and criminal” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meridian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Meridian
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Murmansk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very bad, overpriced and criminal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The rooms are tiny and with bad ventilation. They bring hookers right into the hotel and the bouncers let them in for a bribe. It is certainly not a place i will recommend. The reception was not helpful and did not react to my requests. The noise from the night club on the second floor was loud even on the 9th floor up until 6 am

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex30031975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    61
    46
    6
    6
See reviews for
4
8
12
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is absolutely in the centre of Murmansk, so very conveniently located. It is very clean and functional (not exactly luxurious but is comfortable). Fast WiFi is free (unusual in Russian hotels) and all the usual amenities are present. The staff are welcoming and helpful. They also arranged my airport car transfers which all went very smoothly.
I had a standard single en suite room - this came with shower & wc (no bath - not a problem for me) and the bed was quite large for a single and comfortable.
My only real complaint is that the room was very hot and the only way to cool it down was to have the window open - which allowed the city noises in (especially one really annoying car alarm which persistently went off all night). It would have been nice if coffee had been provided to go with the kettle in the room. There are only 2 lifts (elevators in American) which means that the journey between room and lobby can take 5 minutes at busy times.
I had a meal in the bar - reasonably priced, surprisingly good menu, but they do have large screen TVs with the volume up high. Service was polite but rather slow.
Overall, a good business hotel for 1 or 2 nights and I will stay there again since it is very convenient.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meatcruncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel is located just in the centre. It is comfortable, safe, silent, reasonably priced. You can park your car in the guarded parking lot. The breakfast was reosonable. The restaurant (the name I dont remember) to which you go from the lobby very good. Remember the Russian way is to have starter, main dish and propably a dessert as well.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maari100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

This is modern, comfortable and convenient hotel for business trip especially. Very good location right in the city center. Rooms are nice, clean and comfortable, with all the facilities. Wi-fi is free of charge. Breakfast is nothing special but quite good. Restaurant of the hotel provide some tasty dishes. Most of all I recommend lenten cherry strudel. Unfortunately, it is cooked only in lenten period.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoloto70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vradal, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Stayed here for two nights in July. I had a twin room with shared bathroom with another guest in the other room. Worked out fine as we were never "home" at the same time. When I walked into my room I got a "dorm feeling". It was like I was back in college again, but the room was nice and clean. Very central location and friendly staff. I would probably stay here again if I were to go to Murmansk again.

Room Tip: If you don't want to share a bathroom, go for double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla7818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

The Meridian is a comfortable, modern hotel where it was worth splashing out on staying for a few nights. The staff were friendly and unfailingly helpful, willing to accommodate our unscheduled extra night's stay - even moving us to a superior suite at no extra cost when they feared that maintenance work might disturb our peace. There is a reasonable bar/restaurant, which suits those seeking a quiet, relaxed meal and drink. I particularly loved the views from the large rooms of a city that is my favourite in Russia - highly recommended.

  • Liked — The service was excellent
  • Disliked — The internet access was occasionally temperamental
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dawnage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2007

For the money, I think the Meridian is better than Poliarnye Zori having stayed at both in both cheap rooms and business class rooms. It is in the very center of town, whereas Poliarnye Zori is about a Km South of the center. The rooms are cleaner, the bathrooms are nicer, the lighting is better. The prices are exactly the same as Poliarnye Zori, (between 1100 rubles and 4500 rubles, any travel site charging more is ripping you off) so they are clearly in competition with one another, but the Meridian has done more renovations and has more pleasant amenities and manages to transcend the Soviet feel that most big downtown hotels have in Russia. The desk staff is more pleasant at Meridian (they weren't terrible at Poliarnye Zori, but they weren't always friendly).

Cons? The elevators are tiny. The cheapest rooms have bathrooms that you share with your neighbor (although the cleanliness of the bathrooms and the rooms more than made up for this inconvenience in my mind). While the walls between rooms were thicker, the doors are hollow, so any hallway noise gets picked up. No kettle.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank hentrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murmansk hotels
0.1 mi away
Azimut Hotel Murmansk
Azimut Hotel Murmansk
#1 of 9 in Murmansk
4.5 of 5 stars 667 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Poliarnie Zori Hotel
3.1 mi away
Ogni Murmanska
Ogni Murmanska
#3 of 9 in Murmansk
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Black Belt
Black Belt
#5 of 9 in Murmansk
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
1.9 mi away
69 Parallel Hotel
69 Parallel Hotel
#7 of 9 in Murmansk
3.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rooms & Breakfast Mini Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meridian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meridian

Property: Hotel Meridian
Address: Vorovskogo st., 5/23, Murmansk 183038, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > Murmansk Oblast > Murmansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Murmansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Meridian 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Meridian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing