We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quite unique experience”

B-413 Submarine Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$4.18*
and up
The Museum Vessel VITYAZ in Kaliningrad
Ranked #2 of 202 things to do in Kaliningrad
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The submarine is one of the most popular objects of the Museum of the World Ocean. The B-413 was built in Leningrad and was launched in September, 1968. During 30 years it had been serving in the North and Baltic Fleets. The submarine was moored at the museum quay in June, 2000. It is the only one in the country and a few in the world belonging to pre-atomic period of undersea fleet. Moreover, it is preserved in its original state. Firm and light hulls, superstructure, all the major and auxiliary mechanisms, equipment and weapons are the same as they were after the submarine was excluded from the Navy. What strikes you most as you walk along the narrow corridors and squeeze through the seemingly miniscule portholes that protect each section, is the incredible mechanical complexity. This 1960s technology required pipes, cumbersome and hard wearing switches and large well worn wheels to keep the submarine either afloat or submerged, as needs dictated.
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A quite unique experience”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I enjoyed being in the submarine. There were no other tourists in it so it was quite an eerie experience though when you imagine all the people who used to inhabit it.

One of the staff gave me a short explanation of the submarine's role and history. It was in German, which is fine, but I think it is another example where speaking German helps you out visiting this city (perhaps for obvious reasons given its past).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank b037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    108
    17
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A piece of history”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The sub museum is part of a larger museum of vessels moored alongside each other by the river, but I would have to say it is probably one of the most interesting.

Our guides were a couple of old sea dogs who had experience of working on subs and were able to explain to us the history of the submarine and how it's crews operated it. Our group were even able to split up into different sections of the submarine and 'simulate' a dive and attack and onboard emergency- with each of us being given a script to read off and various instructions on how to operate our positions- including the torpedo gunner (me!) who got to 'load' a tube and fire off a torpedo!

It is a fantastic opportunity to get hands on with a piece of history and take plenty of cool photos that will be a great talking point for you upon your return. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank oh-noes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Калиниград
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“***”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The weather may be nice
You can meet everyday sunrise.
The weather everyday is not bad,
And it's the best for my eyes...

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yanitary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa de Calamuchita, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not for the claustrophobic!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is an excellent museum and if you have never been on a Russian submarine before then I suggest you pay it a visit. I first visited this museum in 2008 and went back in June 2012. A lot of gadgets and things to explore. You also have the option to visit a war ship and the aquarium. If you like photography and want to take good photos don`t go over a weekend. Too many people and too busy! Great value for money.

Tip: Make sure you wear comfortable shoes. For the ladies - shoes with heels are not allowed.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“scarey”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

very interesting.. intrigued as to how people can live in a sub as i hated being in it and we were moored up. it is part of a wider museum- you can see an aquarium and more ships alongside

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B-413 Submarine Museum also viewed

Kaliningrad, Kaliningrad Oblast
Kaliningrad, Kaliningrad Oblast
 
Kaliningrad, Kaliningrad Oblast
Kaliningrad, Kaliningrad Oblast
 

Been to B-413 Submarine Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing