We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remember it from the 60's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kay's Pizza

Kay's Pizza
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Averill Park
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bloomingdale, New York
1 review
“Remember it from the 60's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

It sounds like the pizza is still great. I used to go there a lot in the 60's and remember when "Kay" was in the kitchen. I can remember tons of stringy cheese on the pizza - so much you could almost choke on it - but really good. I knew it had changed hands, but the sauce recipe was passed along. I think the last time I was there was around 1995 (I checked June 2012 because it doesn't go back that far), and it was as I had remembered. I'm happy to hear it's still open. I'm not close by, but maybe I'll get there again. Great memories at Kay's.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sophiapetrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    23
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Best Pizza around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Old style enclosed porch type restaurant; video games and boat ride inside for the kids. Red checkered tableclothes and windows all around...very homey! Pizza is the bomb...steamed clams and a couple of beers cost less than preparing or ordering out; an old favorite establishment.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank marTroy_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capital District, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Kay's - where you feel like you are on vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Kay's is a seasonal restaurant located on Burden Lake in Averill Park. We live locally but every trip to Kay's makes us think we are away. Maybe it's the lake outside with ducks mooching for pizza crust and boats motoring about. Anyway, back to inside. No fancy overheads. You walk in, wait for a table and grab it as soon as it's clean. No hostess - you know when your next. Yes, it can be crowded and noisy, but that's the fun part for us. The pizza is a very thick crust with lots of cheese. Think gooey. Plenty of toppings from which to choose. The antipasto is a large bed of lettuce, with meats and cheese (anchovies and mushrooms, if you'd like), tomatoes, cucumbers and a great creamy italian dressing on the side. And the wings - man, are they good. Clearly our favorite in the area. If you want NYC-style pizza or fancy plates, this is not your place. However, if you want tasty food and dine with people of all types, by all means have a draft, grab a table and enjoy. And save some crust for the ducks.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrnugget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephentown, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Take out pizza...oh the sauce!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We've been trying pizza around the area to find our favorite and Kay's is in the top two. The sauce on Kay's pizza is by bar the BEST! We've never actually eaten IN Kay's but for take out, we give it an A! The crust is on the thicker side, so if you are looking for thin crust pizza, this is not for you... We've picked our pizza up as early as 4:30 on a Friday night and the place was already filling up...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“The BEST pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you're up for the best pizza the capitol district has to offer, this is it. It is not a place to go to for a gourmet meal---it's strictly a place for pizza, salad, beer, etc. It is always crowded, you seat yourself, it's noisy, filled with families, and lots of pizza!!! I've gotten so spoiled---I rarely go elsewhere for pizza. It is a seasonal operation, and is right on the lake, so the views are very lovely. Parking can be a challenge, but it's all about the pizza!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marigail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kay's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Kay's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing