We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must go!”
Review of The Towne Tavern

The Towne Tavern
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Averill Park
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cairo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Must go!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Positively one of my favorite places to go! The atmosphere is awesome, great beer, great food, great staff! If you haven't been, you should def. try it out! :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsLewis621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    27
    10
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best wings ever!!!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

I I am a great lover of chicken wings and this place has the best the only other place I can compare is Old Forge in Lanesboro. The hosine sesame are a must try

Helpful?
1 Thank Travis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hit or miss”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

I really do enjoy the tavern but I find that it lacks in consistency. On our last visit those who had the prime rib loved it! Best nachos in the area. However, Those who had sandwiches were disappointed. Fries were cold/old. One sandwich was the open face turkey that was supposed to have stuffing and did not and the ruben was cold. Of course I'll return but maybe not as soon.

Helpful?
Thank Sarab2884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Much Improved Service!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Hey,. you must have listened to my old review! Last few times I came through, the service was great! No complaints at all! Also the food is consistently great. They seriously have about the best chicken wings around. My 5 year old will eat almost an entire serving for dinner and then ask fir wings for the next 3 days! Another favorite is the barbecue chicken nachos. They have always been good, but now the chunks of chicken are soft, juicy and tender with great flavor. I also really enjoy the pulled pork - great selection of bbq sauces! I am glad we went back to find better service - we have been going pretty regularly now!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Illan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernley, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“owned by member of my family”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

So I am somewhat biased. It is a great place for a casual lunch or dinner. It serves all the usual pub foods. No as much for children as it has a bar atmosphere. Sadly my cousin and one of the founders of this establishment has passed away.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Towne Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Towne Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing