We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mega: mostly yes, but with Russian service (no smiles available)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mega Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mega Palace
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Mega: mostly yes, but with Russian service (no smiles available)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

A business hotel, western style: 4 different restaurants, clean rooms, english speaking staff, nice location near a park, free wifi (not in the rooms though) and good parking.
However, also with regular powerfailures (at least 5 times a day on average), Russian style service (you can order what you like, they bring you what they presume you want, it may not match your order and absolutely no smile available), smoking in elevators and restaurants, and overstaffed by people who do not know what their job is, similar to old-style USSR.

Still an ok place to stay compared with other available hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Havedone7continents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    59
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
6
8
11
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

I'd never stayed in Russia before, let alone a Russian Hotel like the Mega Palace. Huge, bold and almost surreal given its position within Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk. It reminded me of hotels in China in places, with an ambience that was as cold and grey as the weather. I was part of a tour of the Russian Far East and stayed at this hotel for one night only. Check in was okay given that the two girls, who didn't speak English, dealt with a sudden influx of western tourists, non of who spoke Russian, with professional efficiency via an interpreter. Rooms were allocated and guests dispatched accordingly.The bedrooms were large with big beds, a clean and functioning bathroom and most importantly, a kettle and tea / coffee making facilities. With windows overlooking forest and hills, they were fine.

Lunch was in a big dining room with high ceilings and round tables. I was surprised at the prices. £7.00 for a bowl of spaghetti which took 45 minutes to arrive at the table. For some strange reason I had expected Russia to be cheap. Not so..... None of the staff spoke English and so most communication was either through our interpreter of with gesticulations and pointing. All good fun.

We spent the afternoon and next morning in Gregarin Park, immediately adjacent to the hotel, a two minute stroll, which, because it was a weekend, was full of people enjoying the amenities which included pedal-powered white swans on a boating lake and a train that seemed to do short journeys in a loop, blowing its whistle. Blaring Russian music echoed around the park. It is essentially an area of northern temperate forest which included many coniferous trees and some hardy deciduous. Grey skies and drizzle at times added to the atmosphere.

Back at the hotel in the evening for a hot shower and down to the restaurant for a tepid buffet. The service was very average with communication between the staff lacking at times, but hey, it was the far eastern bit of Russia and I'd had worse in Manchester, so nothing to get upset about. Breakfast next morning included streaky bacon and eggs and buckwheat porridge, very tasty and recommended. Check out was as efficient as the check in had been and the staff on the desk were smartly dressed and friendly.

A different kind of hotel to western hotels but perfectly acceptable if a little expensive.

Room Tip: My room overlooked forest and hills. Other rooms I saw were much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is certainly the best in the city when it comes to comfort and looks, this unfortunately is where the positive aspects of this review ends, the service is terrible the staff are all more interested in texting and browsing on their phones, those that do speak English will not put much effort in. The deal breaker for me though is the food, I have never encountered food of such a poor standard in anypart of the globe, the room service and lounge bar food leaves one needing to frequent the toilet and the breakfast Buffett needs to be avoided, shame as the food served on the island is generally Ok.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lowlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

This hotel used to be my favourite, but due to multiple occasions of some conflicts between new/old owners, I do not go there anymore. Apparently all is sorted now, but after sorting things out you have less towels in the bathroom, hardly any toiletries that you are used to, service has gone down and breakfast is the same as in other places, so not worth coming here, considering you will have to get a taxi to center each time. But, if you have free time, it is worth your while: great park nearby, ski slope right behind the hotel, lovely views :)

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieG75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

Rooms are comfortable, very good view on the city from the top restaurant, food is very tasty. Hotel has gym and sauna. In the lobby you will find the picture of Russian president that stayed in this hotel also. The only big minus of this hotel is conflict of the owners. During my staying there was a fighting in the lobby between 2 security agencies representing 2 owners. After fighting hotel during several days was invaded by police and strange looking security guys. This citation upset my perception about this hotel, but fortunately nobody from hotel guests was harmed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Push_king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Юлия Д, Маркетолог at Mega Palace, responded to this review, September 1, 2016
Google Translation
Здравствуйте Илья!

Спасибо, что уделили время, чтобы поделиться своими впечатлениями от визита в Mega Palace hotel! Позвольте принести свои сожаления за неудобства, с которыми Вам пришлось столкнуться в тяжелые времена для отеля. Прошло много лет и ситуация давно стабилизировалась, служба безопасности высокого уровня предоставляет каждому гостю спокойный и главное безопасный отдых у нас!

Мы разочарованы, что не смогли оправдать Ваши ожидания в те времена! Будем искренне рады, если бы Вы дали нам шанс приветствовать Вас еще раз в нашем отеле и изменить Ваше мнение о нас в лучшую сторону!

С наилучшими пожеланиями,
Демченко Юлия, маркетолог от лица Мега Палас Отеля
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Actual stay was in Feb 2010.
This is a large, luxury and new hotel built to the western standards and focused on the oil industry travelers. It is located in a very nice area in front of Gagarin Park and with a skying track just behyind it. A grocery store is located within 4 blocks.
Room was warm, quiet and smelling good with relatively new pillows, blankes and bed.
Shower was great with lots of pressure.
Breakfast was awesome, with eggs prepared to order and numerous types of food (some prepared to the eastern Russian taste though).
There is bar by the lobby that served great beer, including Baltika (local), Heineken, Sapporo and others. They make great pizza too.
The bad is this is open for locals and smoking is allowed throutgh the hotel. There is also a sauna (or banya as called by the locals) and a night club which are open for non-guests and heavily used by locals, so there is a lot of people moving around with little concern for the guest security.
One day during breakfast I recall of a drunk russian that just broke into the restaurant at 7 AM carrying a bottle of wine and providing speeches in russian at other tables. He tried to pour wine into a coffee cup from one of our colleagues! He wasn't bothered at all by the hotel staff or other guests.
There is a japanese restaurant on top of the building with panoramic view of the city, but the food was awful - fish seemed to be dry and old, likely was frozen as seems to be the case for any type of food in Sakhalin.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickcwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

I went to Yuzhno for business meetings and stayed at the Mega Palace Hotel. The location had easy access via car to the central part of Yuzhno. It is near a park and lake with a background of the mountains and ski slope.

Room - nice enough with pay internet access. Laundry service did a good job. Bed was comfortable.

Fitness center - great! clean lots of machnies and at 6am was empty.

Restaurants - Japanese restaurant upstairs was very good. Fresh food, great service. The downstairs restaurant was ok. Breakfast is buffet; they swipe your card key as you come in. Buffet was OK, they will make you an omelet if you ask. The staff is overly efficient; as soon as you look away from your plate they will remove it, fork and all. This became funny after a while. Lobby Bar: great service, good drinks and food.

Room service - I ordered breakfast and evening meal via room service. I would not recommend this. The food arrives as ordered, but not salt and pepper, no cup for coffee (just a pot of coffee, so sugar of cream for coffee, and so on. You get what you order, but none of the stuff you typically expect as part of the room service offering. Just go downstairs and eat.

Overall, I had a great stay, the staff was very good and service great.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OleMissTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Юлия Д, Marketing Manager at Mega Palace, responded to this review, September 6, 2016
Dear OleMissTraveler ,
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your satay in Mega Palace Hotel. Room Service was improved, and now, they always bring cutlery, salt, paper, sugar and tissues with orders. We are looking forward to welcoming you back and you can personally make sure of it!

Best regards,
On behalf of Mega Palace Hotel
Marketing Manager
Yulia Demchenko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk hotels
0.6 mi away
Santa Resort Hotel
Santa Resort Hotel
#1 of 15 in Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mira Hotel
Mira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gagarin Hotel
Gagarin Hotel
#2 of 15 in Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Strawberry Hills Hotel
Strawberry Hills Hotel
#7 of 15 in Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pacific Plaza Sakhalin
Pacific Plaza Sakhalin
#4 of 15 in Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belka Hotel
Belka Hotel
#6 of 15 in Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mega Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mega Palace

Property: Mega Palace
Address: Detskaya St., 4, Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Sakhalin 693001, Russia
Location: Russia > Far Eastern District > Sakhalin Oblast > Sakhalin > Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk
#2 Spa Hotel in Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mega Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mega Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mega Palace Sakhalin Oblast/Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing