We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food with terrible service”
Review of Vanilla Sky

Vanilla Sky
Ranked #19 of 682 Restaurants in Yaroslavl
Price range: $8 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed December 30, 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is fancy while someone playing the piano. But our family had to wait for the food 55 mins. The food was average. The kids playroom is small but there are nice toys for them to play with.
The reason I am giving only 3 stars is the terrible service. 55 mins waiting for our order to arrive is by any standard, just terrible.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank noelmenassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 493 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2018

Well, the servers were concerned that it would be a bit too cold to sit out on the open patio, but they have a partially glassed in area where we sat that was also nice, and provided good views of the Volga. We sampled a few things from their menu, although my first choice (The pelmeni made from wild game meats) was not available. The Cheburek is flaky and good, and is quite a large portion (be careful, I thought it would be a small side-dish, it is much bigger than this) and the Khatchapouri that my wife ordered was also quite good. The star of the meal was the Schnitzel however. It was fantastic, although a bit smaller than I expected, it was more than enough with the other dishes we also had.
The service was mediocre at best. I think our server had a cold, and she sometimes disappeared for long times, but she did an adequate job. The restaurant itself was quite clean, and yes they do have english menus (even if some items don't completely correspond with their russian equivalents, it was close enough).
I'd say overall, its a good experience, if you like riverside dining, and dont mind a little extra expense for it, this place would do nicely.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2018

The food here is so so so good, especially anything from the local menu. The desserts too are incredible. On the expensive side however compared to literally anywhere in Europe it's great. A must visit. The view is pretty spectacular as well. Also good to take someone on a date.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ruskyandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2018 via mobile

Excellent blend of Tradition, Quality and Modern Taste.

Things to be Surprised with.

Russian Hospitality and Open Soul.

A Must in Yaroslavl!

P.S. Shout out to Zhanna, the most attentive, polite and pleasant waitress ever!!!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank nastyaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile

The staff was very patient with our screaming kids trying to help and make it easier ( not so usual in Russia)
But some food was very questionable, would say you pay for the view rather than food!
Really long waiting time, but for some it can be be the reason to stay longer

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Aerona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vanilla Sky also viewed

Yaroslavl, Yaroslavl Oblast
Yaroslavl, Yaroslavl Oblast
 
Yaroslavl, Yaroslavl Oblast
Yaroslavl, Yaroslavl Oblast
 
Yaroslavl, Yaroslavl Oblast
Yaroslavl, Yaroslavl Oblast
 

Been to Vanilla Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing