We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our time in Yaroslavl”
Review of Ioann Vasilyevich

Ioann Vasilyevich
Ranked #8 of 573 Restaurants in Yaroslavl
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The interior of the restaurant takes us back to the times of Tsar Ivan IV who ruled over Russia in the XVI century. The Moscow feasts of Ivan IV astonished contemporaries with their generosity, abundance and luxury. For you to go back to the epoch of Russian tsars and gastronomic adventures, there is the Time Machine invented by a common Soviet engineer, to whom one of the restaurant halls is dedicated. All of the halls interiors reproduce scenes from a famous Russian film about the time travel.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
370 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Highlight of our time in Yaroslavl”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Many thanks to the TripAdvisor reviewers who recommended this restaurant as it was truly the highlight of our time in a rather sleepy, Yaroslavl. This restaurant was quirky, welcoming, unique and most importantly, the food was excellent.

You can read the other reviews on how and why this restaurant is themed the way it is. It was nice to be able to ‘participate’ in this bit of Soviet nostalgia and enjoy a meal in this happily themed restaurant. The staff were brilliant – so helpful, eager and friendly. There is a menu entirely in English and it is hard to go wrong with the extensive selection.

We enjoyed dinner here on a Saturday night and reservations were definitely required – ask your hotel to call them. They also have a small non smoking section and best to get into it. We were seated in the room themed like a kitchen from the movie.

Food portions were generous, salads were excellent and fresh, unique and tasty. We had the plate of “home salting” which was a big plate of pickles. I expected this to be a plate of pickles we could enjoy with the vodka shots but it was instead a great plate of pickles that could be enjoyed entirely as a first course (I’m not normally into pickles, but these were great). We had the pumpkin salad which was excellent and also the homemade Siberian perogi were wonderful. We were stuffed with these starters but then the mains arrived. We had the veal and also the steamed sturgeon – both were perfect portions and delicious. Prices were extremely reasonable – much better than Moscow. Meal for two with 4 shots of vodka; two starters; big plate of pickles; two mains; one beer; one apple strudel with ice cream came to £60.

Yaroslavl is boring. This restaurant was a true highlight of the entire weekend trip. You must try it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BusyFlyingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    200
    93
    57
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Caviar from overseas, the aubergine one!"”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Slightly kitschy interior. Good food, especially the fish dishes and the buns. Good customer service. Remarkable toilet in the lift. Awful horseradish flavoured vodka, though.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OogleBov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“From the movie”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Great food, service a little slow. Nice atmosphere

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Russian Food”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I.V. is an interesting place, with lots of little rooms, each with a different look and feel. Cuisine is typical Russian fare, and it's above average for what it does. I would give this a 3 in the states, but it's better than most other places in Yaroslavl, so I'll give it a 4.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent service and very good food with a special decor”
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We went to this place for dinner following reviews on Russian sites during a weekend stay in Yaroslavl – and were not disappointed. It’s an interesting place with decoration from the scenes of a famous Russian comedy from Soviet time. In the first chamber they have TVs on the wall where they show the movie (still without the sound not to disturb your dinner, and this kind of movie you can just watch and think about those times). Most importantly food and service were excellent for a reasonable price. We read in a number of reviews of restaurants in Yaroslavl that service tends to be slow. Luckily, it was the opposite. The waiter was friendly, polite, we ordered as soon as we were ready. He remembered the order in which we asked to have our food and wine. Throughout the evening we got everything we needed just in time, like getting our wine glasses refilled, taking the used plates, getting the bill. This waiter was really into his job, taking it very seriously, up to the way to stand to serve wine, one of the best demonstration of attention to details to please the customer we have seen in Russia. The way he worked was excellent, where we were enjoying our privacy and feeling welcome and cared for at the same time. The food was very good, can definitely recommend fillet mignon – it came with a really good sauce with red wine, butter and garlic (I think), was tender and a good piece of meat. They have good choice of traditional Russian starters, bliny, traditional fish dishes (like osetrina) along with more European fair, like Ceaser salad and the like. We had three starters and all were good, as was lamb and the mentioned beef for main course. Prices are lower than in Moscow. Main course meat dishes were around 500 RUB (12 EUR), starters – 200 RUB (5 EUR). They have decent choice of wines and the bottle of Chianti was around 1000 RUB (25 EUR). The place was full on Saturday night, and I would definitely recommend to book a table before. Place in the hall that looks like Tsar chambers is more recommended as it looks cozier. The first hall at the entrance is more like a café, and tables at the windows are fun with half-circle armchairs hanging from the ceiling, but not comfortable enough to eat a full meal, and excellent for a drink and people watching.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bluecrush_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ioann Vasilyevich also viewed

Yaroslavl, Yaroslavl Oblast
Yaroslavl, Yaroslavl Oblast
 
Yaroslavl, Yaroslavl Oblast
Yaroslavl, Yaroslavl Oblast
 

Been to Ioann Vasilyevich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing