We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Soup and Fresh Spring Rolls”
Review of Vietnamese Cafe Bo

Vietnamese Cafe Bo
Ranked #11 of 39 Quick Bites in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $100 - $350
Neighborhood: Danilovskiy
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Danilovskiy
Reviewed July 3, 2018

As far as I know, Bo now has three locations here in Moscow: Danilovsky Market (this one) and two at Gorky Park near the river. I have eaten at all three locations, and I have found the food consistent and delicious. I recommend the beef pho, fresh spring rolls, and mango smoothie with water. I really appreciate the spice in the soup because it is hard for me to find food that is adequately spicy here in Moscow. The prices are very reasonable, and the service is fast. At the market, take your tray up the stairs and eat at a table overlooking all the vendors. It's lovely.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank leslie_anne_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 192 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2018

It's been a struggle to find any decent Vietnamese food (at least for a reasoable price) in Moscow. Everything is normally bland and suited to a Russian palate - with little resemblance of Asian cuisine. The Gorky Park cafe was very pleasant, fairly cheap for the location, and filling. The flavours were all very good (grilled pork, meat dumplings, with noodles and salad). The most expensive dishes on the menu were 350rub. Lovely outdoor terrace in the park with a view of the Moscow River. The choice of dishes is fairly small, but there are approx 2-3 soups, 4 grilled/fried dishes and some side/starter dishes. Portions of Pho looked huge. The mango shake also looked tempting but cost as much as the mains.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnastasiaK2271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2018

I ate at Bo two times this week (both Gorky Park locations) after visiting with them a few times last year. The pho no longer is anything to crave for. It seems as if the operators are starting to cut corners. The Pho Ga (chicken in beef broth) now contains far more dark meat than white. It has tons of grizzle and far too much cilantro and onion for any taste. To be honest, it almost tasted like cilantro and liver soup. The provided sauces could not even mask the taste. The soup is not served very hot and cools in a matter of moments. The key indicator something is amiss is the decreased in local patronage. Each visit last year had at least 15 people in line, now there is not much of a wait. The cashiers at both Gorky Park locations could very well use a course or two in customer service as well. They are really your only true source of interaction with anyone on staff. They are not pleasant to deal with and are incapable of smiling and thanking you for your business. It's like visiting an old Soviet Stolovaya. I would recommend staying away until they drastically improve.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Runner T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2018

Tried their banh mi that tasted soooo Vietnamese (Hanoi style). I wouldn't say that it's the best banh mi pate in my life, but you should really give it a try. The place looks very colorful and is always crowded! Everything is chaotic like in Vietnam :) Pho portions are really large!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phoenix_Linh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

What an amazing place just renovated. Here you find food and products from all around Russia till the extreme oriental areas

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Federicoangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnamese Cafe Bo also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Vietnamese Cafe Bo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing