We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Arbat House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arbat House Hotel
Ranked #77 of 326 Hotels in Moscow
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great location close to Red Square, Arbat area and US Embassy. Good breakfast as long as you arrive early. Yes, the double bed is 2 twin beds slid together - and the room is a little larger than the bed and furniture, but for the price, still worth it. It appears that most, if not all, of the rooms have been renovated. Anything cheaper is much farther away, and everything else nearby seems to be much more expensive. I would return to the Melody. There is a minifridge in the room, and small grocery stores in the area, so one is able to maintain a good budget and still go out for dinner. Be prepared at the cost of the hotel restaurant. That seemed to be more than unusually expensive for what is served. We used about 4 taxis and all were able to find the hotel easily. There is a taxi service from the hotel for a small upcharge. Keep your eyes open and you will get local taxi numbers from billboards and other taxis on the road. Highly recommend News and More for a great meal.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gastling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 542 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2012

The location is good, a little walk to the Kremlin and Red Square. Staff is polite, street it quiet and looks safe enough. Beds were not comfortable .. and what's with the twin beds anyway ... ?

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leigh-Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

My partner, 1 yo baby and I stayed here in August 2011 for a couple of nights. I booked at the last minute and found this the most reasonably priced that was still available. Think I made a good choice as the location was unbeatable. In a slightly quiet area with a nice walk to Red Square. Needed somwhere close to the centre as we were only there a short time and with a baby (or even without), the metro in the big cities can be chaotic (and I didn't want to have to use it in Moscow - although we did to get from the main train station from St Petersburg). The area surrounding is very interesting with small cafes, sausage kiosk (vienna style), flower shops, book stores, small retail stores, Gogol's apartment, embassies etc. Felt quite safe even walking late at night (midnight-ish), except for the Babushka who told us off in Russian for walking with a baby so late at night (LOL). Go down Bol. Nikitskaya Ulitsa or Nikitskiy Bul'var for some nice cafes. I like one called Biscotti Cafe on Nikitskaya in particular (quite reasonably priced, nice ambience and good service). Of course it is also not that far from the Arbat.
Hotel itself was quite nice. My partner is Russian so communication was easy but I did speak english to the receptionists too. They can be a bit slow when everybody comes in at once or there is a communication problem (quite honestly, some of the tourists are to blame here from what I saw). They aplogoised to me for the wait and told me it was ok to pay later. They also let us into our room earlier as we came on the overnight train from St Petersburg. Had no complaints about the room at all. Plenty of space as we had a cot too and still no problems. Nice having a fridge and air-con. Heated towel rails also were great (to dry baby's clothes), and so was having an actual bath tub! Restaurant downstairs was ok. Nice to sit outside on the verandah (street noise fairly low, but Ghana embassy across the road on Sunday morning not so quiet hahaha).
Breakfast needs to be attended early, because when we arrived at 9.30-10am, alot of things were finished and they didn't refill. When it was there it was fine. Coffee at breakfast not so good so we paid for a real coffees from the barista. Unfortunately the only baby seat they had was broken so out of luck there. We had lunch there and was quite good with traditional russian dishes offered too and not too pricey.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

The hotel has a very convenient location, just a short stroll from Arbatskaya metro station and 20 minutes walk from the Kremlin. The rooms are small but OK for a night or two. The staff are, by russian standards, nice and helpful. The Breakfast, also by russian standard, is OK. All together Melody is a perfect choice if you first priority is good location at a reasonable price. Also worth mention is that its located on a very qiute street and the surrounding feels safe.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CikadaKivik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Usually then you check hotel's website you see beautiful photos which are hardly close to reality. In this case situation is totally different, because the reality is nicer... I've spent only one night there, but it was really good. Rooms are medium sized, wireless is working, bathrooms are clean and comfortable, breakfast is just great. Location is very convenient (some 1.5 km to Kremlin).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Valdemar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in September 2011. Good location, 10 minute walk to the old Arbat and 15 minutes to Red Square and across the street for the Embassy of Ghana. Breakfast was in the attached café where they were slow to refill the dishes, especially the pancakes. Heavy armed security when we arrived although the area seemed safe.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytravler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I recently stayed 3 nights at Melody hotel. The location was great. 10 minutes walk to Arbatskaya metro station which serves a few metro lines. It was tricky to find the hotel the first time.

When you exit the metro, cross by underground walkway to the northside of Novy Arbat Avenue. Head west along Novy Arbat, pass the post-office (blue signed) and turn right into Merzlyakovskiy pereulok. Merzlyakovkiy street is actually through a building (between Introtourist shop and Nokia shop). Go straight. You will see a restaurant and a car park on the right handside. Keep walking and the second street on your left is Skatertny pereulok. A bit further up this street on the left side you'll find the Melody Hotel.

From the hotel, it was 30 mins walk to the Red Square and 10 minutes to Arbat street where many restaurants are. Felt safe in the area even at night.

Check in was slow but it seems normal in Russia . The receptionist gave me the ‘in your pocket’ Moscow guide which was very useful. I received the paper for registration next day. Make sure you take the breakfast card you receive upon check in to breakfast each morning.

Breakfast included in the rate was simple but good. Pancake and porriage were very good. Dining room was cosy with outdoor area. Wifi in the restaurant.

Room was small but clean. The room was quiet and bed was comfortable. Shower didn’t drain well but again it seems like a common theme in many hotels in Russia.

Overall, the hotel provided a good value with great location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank krnworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 326 in Moscow
1,567 reviews
Tverskaya
Key Element Hotel
Key Element Hotel
#75 of 326 in Moscow
134 reviews
Zamoskvorechye
Ibis Moscow Centre Bakhrushina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Moscow Centre
#50 of 326 in Moscow
1,212 reviews
Presnensky
Novotel Moscow City
Novotel Moscow City
#20 of 326 in Moscow
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbat House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbat House Hotel

Address: Skatertny Lane, 13, Moscow 121069, Russia (Formerly Melody Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Arbat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Moscow
#61 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#72 Business Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: $52 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbat House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arbat House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melody Hotel Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing