We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to HR "standards"”
Review of Hard Rock Cafe

Hard Rock Cafe
Ranked #813 of 13,633 Restaurants in Moscow
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Arbat
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not up to HR "standards"”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Ok admittedly Hard Rock restaurants around the world are just of average quality where you can enjoy the music, have a drink and a somewhat decent meal. This particular location I felt was below average in most categories...food, service, cleanliness, noise level, English language ability, etc. The only non-smoking area is the downstairs bar, which is small. Upstairs the first floor has a dance floor and above that is a mezzanine level (open to the dance floor below). The upper floors become a disco/club after 9pm or so, making it impossible to eat or converse up there in peace. It really gets smoky up there, too. On the night I was there, they stopped the music/video feed and put on a local football match. I found this curious, since most of the customers seemed to be tourists or expats. I would recommend this location only for a drinks or two, or to pick up some souvenirs.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnTinEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRC M, Public Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback regarding your visit to the Hard Rock Cafe in Moscow .

We try to ensure that 100% of our guests receive a great experience 100% of the time, although on occasions mishaps may happen.I Will highlight your comments to the team and in particular the comments with regards to the cleanliness being in a condition that is not the standard for the Hard Rock Café or this Unit.

We have a various activities on different days of the week : live music, disco nights. latino dance lessons and sports broadcastings as well and sometimes it is hard to make every guest satisfied with the programm. As regards the smoking zone, it is true that in Russia it is allowed to smoke in the restaurants and most of the people do smoke.Because of this reason our smoking area is bigger than non-smoking one.I am sincerely sorry that this fact made your experience at HRC Moscow worse than expected.

One more time I´d like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to review your comments, it is only from honest feedback from our guests that we can strive to improve.

Best regards,
Daria Shilova
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    181
    133
    63
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Arbat Street Americana”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Large typical Hard Rock style with numerous memorabilia collection displayed on all walls. Food was good. Russian beer available. Service friendly with English spoken throughout. This wasn't my choice of restaurant, but went as part of a tour group.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRC M, Public Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback regarding your visit to the Hard Rock Cafe! We really appreciate it and are happy that you had a great time at our Cafe!
Hope to see you back soon!
Best regards,
Daria Shilova
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
206 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“English speaking waiters, food was inconsistent in taste/quality”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We ate here as part of a large group. Arbat Street is a little touristy - there's a McDonalds nearby, but if you would like the comfort of a familiar environment and English speaking waiters, this is the placr. Our onion soup was very good but the beef in the beef stroganoff was very tough and stringy. Maybe Russians like it this way but we had a hard time chewing it. The dessert was a heavenly brownie (cut in a large wedge like a piece of cake) - it was really yummy!!
I took a great picture of a friend behind the drum set at the entry (they keep drumsticks behind the counter but will let you use them for photos). All in all it was a satisfactory lunch with a lot of interesting looking and shopping nearby and close to the metro.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PassportTherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRC M, Public Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback regarding your visit to the Hard Rock Cafe Moscow on Trip Advisor!
I will highlight your comments regarding the food to the Kitchen Manager and the team so we would solve this problem and avoid this happening to the other guests.Thank you one more time for the comment, because only through sincere feedbacks we can get better and improve our food and service quality that we are passionate about!
We are very glad that your overal experience at hard Rock Cafe Moscow was great and hope to see you back soon!

Best regards,
Darya Shilova
Sales&Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
88 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“As Always”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We decided to take a break from all the traditional russian food and go for a classic like Hard Rock!
The place is a little smaller than others likes las vegas or barcelona but it still has a lot of rock staff !! its in the center of moscow in one of the most popular streets called arbat !!
We enjoyed the Cheeseburger with monterrey jack cheese that tasted as delicious as always wherever you visit them .. the personal in the shop where very friendly and spoke good english.
However the only remark is that some of the waiters where a little serious ..coming from europe it was a little weird to not see them smiling at all time ..as were talking about hospitality ....but we didn't take it too bad as we understood that we where in a totally different culture and its hard to judge this things ...after all they where effective and the service was smooth. I strongly recommend you to go if your a Hard Rock or burger lover.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sergio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRC M, Public Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your comment !We really appreciate it and are really happy that you had a great experience at Hard Rock Cafe Moscow!
We are trying to provide an outstanding service to every guest and usually with a smile!)
I hope, next time you will be visiting us your experience will be even better!
Thank you again for your comment!
Keep rockin'!!!
Best regards,
Daria Shilova
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Not the best Hardrock, but still fun.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Good location on the Arbat pedestrian mall. The very idea of a Hardrock Cafe in Moscow still strikes me as somewhat revolutionary. This one is not quite as cruisey and fun as most Hard Rocks, but the Russians are more intense than most people, so you have to remember its in Moscow. The food was great (if you like Hard Rock food - ribs , burgers etc) which I do. The drinks were good, the service was good (after we gave them an initial rev up) and the music was great (although annoyingly it kept stopping mid song and starting another song). The memorabilia is not the greatest, but still interesting. Got the obligatory t-shirt. Worth a go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanmerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRC M, Public Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your time and responce! We really appreciate it!!
We are very glad that HRC Moscow has provided a good Hard Rock experience for you and a good service!We would be really happy to see you here again;)
Keep rockin'!
All the best,
HRC Moscow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Rock Cafe also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Hard Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing