We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peacocks and Chickens and Dumplings, oh my!”
Review of Shinok

Shinok
Reserve a Table
Ranked #45 of 16,669 Restaurants in Moscow
Price range: $32 - $40
Cuisines: Ukrainian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Presnensky
Description: "Shinok" is by far the most authentic Ukranian cuisine restaurant in Moscow. The restaurant was opened in 1997 by Alexander Dellos and remains one of the best fine dining places in the capital of Russia. Shinok is the only restaurant with a real wildlife atrium with peacocks, a cow, rabbits, a goat and other animals. Our guests may taste the highlights of Ukranian and Russian cuisine: borscht, Russian salad, blinis, pickings, a huge variety of lard.
Reviewed June 30, 2018

We came here because the wife loves peacocks, and you can eat right next to some inquisitive peacocks (and furry chickens, rabbits, and other assorted barnyard friends) separated by only a pane of glass. However, the rest of the restaurant was surprisingly elegant (yes, even with the animals) and the food was first rate. The stuffed pies and meat dumplings were awesome and service was on their game too, they even helped us get a ride back to central Moscow after a later dinner. The location is right across the street from the Crowne Plaza near the skyscraper cluster, but be mindful its a poorly marked second floor location, so you may need to ask around to actually locate the entrance. When you do though, its worth it, a fun and tasty experience!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank derobine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nvard S, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Shinok, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

Dear Derobine,

Thank you for your review. We're glad that you and your wife enjoyed your visit to our restaurant. By the way, the peacocks at Shinok are a real couple! :)
We hope to see you again during your next visit to Moscow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 712 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

It’s a really nice restaurant but little bit pricey. Meals are GBP 11-20, side dishes GBP 3-6, a glass of wine GBP 6-10.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank hprpic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nvard S, Public Relations Manager at Shinok, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you've enjoyed your visit to our restaurant. The average spend per guest per visit is around 2500-3500 RUB.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

We were delighted with the restaurant
Very good quality food the location very nice and TATSIANA the waitress very kind truly recommend

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank isabella z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nvard S, Public Relations Manager at Shinok, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Dear Isabella,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are glad you've enjoyed your visit at Shinok restaurant! We hope to see you and your friends again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2018

We speak very little russian, but the hostess and our waiter, Roman, took great care of us. Had a remarkably good sampling of eastern european and ukrainian specialities: the Shinok platter with cured meats, lard, homemade pickles, salmon, salads, then borscht, then wonderful desserts. All the while, there were traditional singers wandering the restaurant a capella. The restaurant itself is styled as trendy-rustic-homestyle (woody)--extremely clean and tidy with fresh plates every so often. I'd be happy to go back anytime and try another section of the menu.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tracy_MZissou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nvard S, Public Relations Manager at Shinok, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Dear Tracy,

Thank you so much for your review. We would love to see you again at Shinok! Next time you visit us, we highly recommend you to try the Ukranian dumplings - vareniki!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2018 via mobile

This is a Ukrainian restaurant not far from the business part of the city . The ambience is very traditional , with trees and pet animals behind glass.

The service was very good. Quick , with a smile .

The food was good. We ordered lots of starters and then duck and Kiev cutlet . All was fine.

Recommended

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank airwav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nvard S, Public Relations Manager at Shinok, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review. We're glad you've enjoyed the service and the food at Shinok restaurant. The best appreciation for us is your recommendation. Hope to see you again at our restaurant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shinok also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Shinok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing