We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of Cafe Pushkin

Cafe Pushkin
Ranked #14 of 13,882 Restaurants in Moscow
Price range: $59 - $67
Cuisines: European, Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tverskaya
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We really enjoyed this place. Our table wasn't ready when we arrived- we had booked- so ordered cocktails at the bar. Very busy full of people enjoying their meal. Staff attentive and polite. Food delicious

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,601
    1,453
    471
    151
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very nice high end restaurant in Moscow”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We joined another couple for dinner at Cafe Pushkin on our last night in Moscow and thoroughly enjoyed the meal. It is a very elegant restaurant with attentive service and very good food. Since we were flying out early the next morning, we did not fully take advantage of the champagne offered to start off dinner or multiple courses of appetizers but food was excellent and the Russian made red wine we tried was surprisingly good and very reasonably priced. The restaurant allows smoking and I am not sure there is a non smoking area. Reservations are essential.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jdocBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

It's really a unique place both for foreigners and those who live in Moscow! You can impress someone who visit you in Moscow, have a great family or romantic experience or just have a business lunch there! But of course only special occasions as prices are quite high. Highly recommend if you would like to experience unique Russia!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A meal in a russian-ancient atmosphere - a must!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had dinner in the Pushkin Cafe on our visit to Moscow. The place is just amazing - we had dinner in the Pharmacy (apteka) and we visited the Library (biblioteka) as well. The service is excellent and the place just an experience to live!
We had to reserve so I recommend travellers to do so in advance.

We started with a variety of russian specialties and the main course was truly excellent and delicious - a real delight! We enjoyed also our dessert, frankly one of the best I have ever had!

We enjoyed as well a glass of beluga vodka at the bar to conclude the evening in a russian fashion :)

100% recommend to visitors! It's a great experience (but be prepared to spend...)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetotravel155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Days Gone Bye... Nostalgic Eatery”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a classic restaurant which offers traditional fare and "old world" ambiance. Many foreign tourists flock here and I can understand why - service and atmosphere. It's a "must" for anyone looking for a classic menu. I enjoyed the "Russian Sampler" in particular; a variety of tastes and textures - all presented well and served with style.
This place has great professional servers who speak English and help their audience relax and enjoy the experience. You will probably need a reservation and a large wallet but "splurge once" in Moscow here. Ask for the second floor seating and relax as if it were years ago; in a country that was; in a city that has dramatically changed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAR103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Pushkin also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Cafe Pushkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing