We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night out”
Review of Cafe Pushkin

Cafe Pushkin
Ranked #12 of 13,611 Restaurants in Moscow
Price range: $61 - $70
Cuisines: European, Russian, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Tverskaya
London UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great night out”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a very nice though crowdy place to dine or have drinks. Supposedly very famous as well. Prices are pretty high but you get excellent service, a huge choice on the multilangual menu and the food is delicious, from the Borsch until the desert (fabulous creme brulee fraises). Recommended

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjp1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,358
    1,365
    442
    140
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
190 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Artistry in food”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went to this our first night in Moscow, It was a very traditional restaurant and the food came with many artistic touches. I ha d the salmon and it was fesh, well cooked and quite delicious.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ErinLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Pushkin would have liked it”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Pushkin Restaurant
This is a very up-market restaurant in central Moscow. It is housed in an historic 18th century building. Despite the name, the building is not linked to the famous poet, who, anyway, lived in St Petersburg and not Moscow. There are two floors. The upper one is done out like Pushkin’s library, all oak panels and book shelves. When I went there was classical music provided by a harpist and a flautist. Waiters are dress a la 18th century. The food is Russian. I was a guest at a formal dinner. When we arrived the table was already laden with zakuski (starters)….picked cucumbers, and mushrooms, red and black caviar and blini (small pancakes), herring with potatoes, various pirogi (small pies) of pork and veal and fish and the ubiquitous smetana (sour cream), with which Russian cannot live. It was wonderful. The waiter asked me ‘vodka ili vino, vodka or wine? I chose vodka. Russians being Russians insisted on me trying everything. “Try some ***” “ Do have some ***.” They would reach over and fill my plate with whatever took their fancy. The zakuzki were wonderful.
In Russia you cannot drink without a toast. Toasting does not come naturally to a Brit. We only ever do it at weddings. However, in Russia everyone is expected to make at least one toast at any dinner, whether formal or informal. It is an opportunity to say kind words about whoever takes your fancy, and with no attempt at ingratiation. Toasting comes from the heart, not the head. I learned that the third toast is traditionally reserved for ‘the ladies’. There are a lot of conventions in Russia. A single lady must not sit next to the end of the table, or she will remain single. A bottle, once opened, must be emptied etc. The surroundings in Pushkin felt just right. Before very long we were all in great spirits…there is definitely a correlation between the level of vodka in the bottle and the generosity of the toasts and the good humour. Russians are unbeatable hosts. Their generosity knows no bounds.
The zakuki were followed by okroshka, a soup made of kvass (a drink made of fermented rye bread) and meat. I was already full so eating the soup was a challenge. My heart sank when the waiter asked me about my main course. I went for the Pojarski veal rissoles, although the golova shschochya looked like the more authentic choice…but I decided to leave the pike’s head stuffed with fish for another day. I struggled with the main course, merely picking at it. A pity, as it was delicious.
I would give Pushkin 10/10 for ambiance. The food was also great. OK, it is a bit touristy, but who cares? It was great fun. Main courses are between 1000 to 1500 roubles (£22, €25, $33). Service was excellent. Pushkin is a must for the reasonably well-healed tourist and a great place for a business dinner, Russian style.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Don't miss this”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Fantastic service with extremely nice staff. Great food, beautiful interior and not even difficult to get a table without reservation. I recommend you don't miss this when you are in Moscow, a little bit pricey but well worth it experience wise. You can feel comfortable that you get good food here, genuine Russian cuisine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alskaresor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place was AMAZING. You should definitely go if you have the chance. It has great food and a extensive Russian menu. The service was excellent and our waiter even took us on a tour of the restaurant and showed us interesting artifacts from the early 1900's. Would definitely go back and highly recommend this place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdub1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Pushkin also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Cafe Pushkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing